We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay at Hawksmoor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at Hawksmoor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited Hawksmoor Guest House for two nights on 22nd and 23rd June with a friend. We very both very impressed with the service and attention to detail here and we are fussy with high expectations! We had booked a room each - double for single occupancy - and both rooms were exceptionally clean and modern. Facilities in the room were great too with ipod docs, under-floor heating in the bathrooms (not that we needed it in June) and extremely comfy beds. My room had a shower room only but the shower was the best I had used for a long time and just so powerful.

We discovered a great bonus too in that guests can use a local swimming pool and gym free of charge. Discounts are also available at the

Breakfast the next morning was reallyn really good! The usual cereal, yogurts, pastries etc were left out for everyone to help themselves. The main event ie the cooked element was very high quality and all cooked to order. A special cooked breakfast dish is offered every day too.

Thanks to Phillipa, Trevor and the team (esp Helen) for looking after us so well. Any complaints? Only that two nights just was not enough in this wonderful part of the country. We're already planning another visit in early 2014 if not before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you both had a great stay here and look forward to seeing you next year.
Thanks again.
Philippa, Trevor and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    31
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
490
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best guesthouse we have stayed in yet. On arrival we received a very friendly welcome with tea and biscuits offered. Room was clean and spacious with a comfortable king size bed. Decoration up to date and very nice. Full fellwalkers breakfast set us up for the day and each day there was also a speciality breakfast which was very substantial too. The girls serving were very friendly and efficient and asked if we wanted more tea, coffee and toast. This is a very good base to explore the area and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you had a great
stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came to the lakes to do the Great North Swim with our two small children and my parents. This is the third time that we have stayed here. Once again, it was fantastic. The rooms are beautiful and the service from Phillipa and Helen so friendly and helpful. When I phoned up to book the room a few months ago, Phillipa even remembered who I was straight away and my name which was pretty impressive! We stayed in the family room which was great. It it essentially two rooms with a thick curtain in the middle which worked really well as we were all in the same room but allowed us to have our own space and keep the lights on after the children had gone to bed. The bathroom was also great and the shower fantastic. We would always come back to this hotel. My children also loved the fish tank in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelemcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor again,
we are all very pleased you had a great stay with us and congratulations on the Swim.
Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Thanks from us all .
Philippa and Trevor and gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Back from our second stay at the hawksmoor Phillipa Trevor and Helen made us feel more than welcome once again nothing to much trouble, we arrived early and the room was ready and waiting for us we also had tea and home made biscuits while un packing.
The breakfasts are wonderful all freshly prepared and lots of lovely choices, we hope to return in the non to distant future you are made to feel more like the family than a paying guest.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues there are ground floor rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsaway950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you had a great time with us again and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We received a really warm welcome here (from the lovely, bubbly Helen) with tea and shortbread which, if not homemade did a good impression of it. We stayed in one of their mid-price rooms and it was spacious with a comfortable king size bed, seating area in the bay window and a fridge containing a bottle of mineral water. The luxury rooms must indeed be very luxurious! The bedroom, bathroom and all other areas were spotlessly clean. There were nice local toiletries provided.
Breakfast was of a good standard and plenty of it.
It is nicely situated between the towns of Bowness and Windermere so that both are within walking distance.
It is obvious that the owners Philipa and Trevor take great pride in their business and justifiably so. We would definitely recommend Hawksmoor to anyone visiting this part of the Lake District.

Room Tip: Being on a main road there is quite a lot of traffic noise at the front. If your budget will stretch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you had a great stay with us and hopefully will see you again in the future,.
Thanks again .
Philippa, Trevor and the lovely bubbly Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Returned to Hawksmoor this week to continue our Walking exploits following poor weather in January. Greeted by Phillipa and Trevor on arrival and although we were very early for our check in they made our room a priority. Whilst having our tea and biscuits which were very welcome our room was prepared for us (Room 1). Room was at the front of the hotel but just as room 12 was on our last visit was immaculate with everything you would need plus a bath you could probably swim in.
Breakfast was plentiful with loads of choices plus a daily special...all served piping hot and delicious. We knew exactly what we were doing each day and Phillipa and Helen would always be interested to hear plans for the day plus stories from the previous day. Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for the hosts and daily we could hear Phillipa talking to guests and organising trips and suggesting things to do.
The B&B is on Lake Rd and very easy to find it is half way between Bowness and Windermere.
All in all another great stay and we will be returning again in September to climb Sca Fell and finally make use of the complimentary Spa!!!! (another great perk of staying here) Thanks again guys Gary & Sherrie,,,

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are away from the Rd...Room 12 has a balcony and looks into the woods between
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you had a great stay with us again and hopefully will see you later in the Year
Love the Blog.xx
Thanks again .
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights whilst we were in town for the Great North Swim. Everything from the moment we arrived (and were offered tea and shortbread) until we left was great. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms but even this was lovely and had one of the nicest showers i've ever used and the breakfasts were amazing too. We're already thinking of booking again for next year - the location was perfect for access to the lake and the many restraunts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bexila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and congratulations again on the Swim!
Hopefully we will see you both again next year.
Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing