We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wish we had stayed longer. We arrived early as we wanted to spend time at Lake Windermere so arrived at Hawksmoor at around 11, we were greeted by the owners who offered us tea and coffee while they check to see if our room was ready - what service! We didn't expect to even be able to check til 3pm but we were told our room would be ready in 15 mins!! This was great, we were shown the room which all I can say was perfect. Room 11 had a four poster bed, sofa and all the mod cons, the bathroom was amazing with underfloor heating, built in radio system and top notch rainfall shower. I cannot fault anything about this guest house and can only compare it to 5* quality. The walk to lake winderemere took 15 mins and the owners gave lots of information as to the best places to eat etc. What a wonderful stayed, this is by far the best guest house I have ever stayed in and have already recommended to others and will be coming back. Thank you for among our stay so special :-)

Room Tip: Room 11 was fantastic, memory foam mattress 4 poster, bathroom was divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach161982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are delighted you were very pleased with your choice and that your stay with us was special.
Thank you also for your recommendations, we look forward to seeing you both again in the future

Trevor and Philippa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
505
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Hawksmoor whilst celebrating my birthday with a short break in the Lakes. This was our first visit to Hawksmoor and I hope it will not be the last as we found the place first class. We were in Room 7 and it was very roomy, modern and clean with the added bonus of a balcony. The breakfasts,service,hospitality and location were superb, definately worth a visit if you are in the area and you are lucky enough to find a room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Room 7 and that you enjoyed your birthday in the Lakes.
(I certainly hope we will be as busy as you predict but hopefully there will always be room!)
Many thanks, we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked a 2 night stay at the Hawksmoor for a birthday treat for myself and my fiance. Having stayed here previously we knew what to expect and definately wasn't disappointed. We were in room 2, room 4 last visit. Room was modern, furnished to a high standard and spotless. Breakfast was great and service quick and friendly. Cant wait to return here as its a great base for exploring the lakes. No problems with parking which is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for your continued support of the Hawksmoor Guest House.
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Thanks again
Philippa, Trevor , Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for our anniversary this week, and found the guest house to be more than we could have ever wished for!
Our first impressions of the house were how nice it looked. It was very easy to find on the main road right in the middle of the two villages of Windermere and Bowness, with ample parking outside. There are plenty of places to sit in the grounds and conservatory if you like to mingle with other guests or just enjoy the sunshine.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Trevor who was extremely welcoming and very informative about our stay. Being quite shy people, we found it really helpful to be told to come and ring the buzzer if we needed anything at all (which we did to get ice every night we stayed, and Trevor and Phillipa were more than happy to oblige!)
Next to the room. We booked room 14, which on first sight is beautiful (just check the photos out for that) but its the little touches which make this room fantastic. The usual tea and coffee tray was filled with everything you could need, even a few biscuits! The balcony was huge with a table and chairs provided. Trevor was more than happy to supply us with an ash tray for my smoking out on the balcony. The view from the balcony was great as well, with a small stream running down below.
The room itself has fantastic storage space, and a top of the range tv, which has built in internet capabilities for watching iplayer and youtube.
The bathroom was really nice with underfloor heating, a heated towel rack, a huge bath, and tv built into the wall! Also the shower cubicle was massive, and the shower was great, the sort of bathroom you would expect in a room that costs 3 times the price of this one.
One small note, the fridge takes a while to cool things down, so don't worry like we did that it isn't working!
In the morning the breakfast was lovely, well cooked and plenty of it! And don't be afraid to ask for what you want, Phillipa and Trevor are more than happy to help.
Overall our stay was perfect, our best stay in Windermere yet! Now we just can't wait to return!

Room Tip: room 14 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Hawksmoor, Trevor and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that it made your Wedding Anniversary stay perfect.
We're glad you loved Room 14 and It really is no trouble for the Ice etc but thank you guys for your appreciation.

We will try to switch the weather on again next time you stay!

Phlippa, Trevor and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Hawksmoor has great "curb appeal", we drove past and noticed it looked good, we dropped in without a booking and found the best room and service we could have ever wanted, we will return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank racer2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of Hawksmoor Guest House (and for the photos too, i particulary liked your other half chilling in the window!) we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and that you enjoyed the spa and of course the 'Breakfast.
Cheers to you both

Philippa, Trevor, Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

lovely guest house in an excellent location - on main road linking Windermere & Bowness.
We booked room 11, a deluxe room on the ground floor - beautifullly decorated room, with high quality furniture and a lovely modern bathroom. The room had everything we needed - lovely comfy bed, settee, large flat screen tv, fridge (perfect for keeping the wine chilled!), kettle and plenty of storage space. There was even a dvd player (selection of dvd's available at reception), IPod docking station and bath robes also. All the staff were very attentive and helpful, without being intrusive. We were met with a cup of tea and some lovely home-made biscuits, which I thought was a nice touch. We were able to use the jacuzzi/steam room/pool at The Old England Hotel, approx, 10-15 min walk away, which was exceptionally relaxing. And last but not least, I must mention the breakfast - plentiful and high quality ingredients - couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the comforts of Room 11, thanks for the great pictures, loved the tea tray!
Many thanks once again
Philippa, Trevor , Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Fantastic few days stay. Lovely start with tea/coffee and biccies on arrival. Makes you feel really welcome. The breakfast reviews are well deserved, can recommend the daily specials. Scrambled egg on toast with smoked salmon - what a way to start the day. The service is really excellent, felt like valued friends. wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting this area. All top notch reviews are spot on. Thanks Phillippa & Trevor.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. Just as it is on the web site. Very clean, good toileteries & fantastic sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to write, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think the other (good) reviews are spot on !
I love that you love the breakfast , we try really hard to keep the standard up and look for new things,, its not great for mine and Helens waistline though ! Trevor and Steven do not worry strangely enough!

Cheers once again , hopefully we will see you again in the future
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing