We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockside Guest House
Ranked #16 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Guest House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stopped for two nights just after Easter, 26th-28th April. Very friendly, professional couple run this Guest House. We stopped in room 5 which was lovely and had a king size bed which was amazingly comfortable. The only criticism about the room was the en suite was a little small. Breakfast was first class with free range and home made produce. We plan to stay again in August for our Anniversary and can't wait. Windermere is a lovely place for walkers and very dog friendly. Some lovely shops and plenty of places to eat out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    40
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
259
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed weekend of 26th April 2014.

Stayed in room 8 but it faces the road and you get woken up at 6am each morning by traffic. If you have wider than 42inch shoulders for you blokes, you can't walk into the bathroom as its only a cupboard door leading into the shower and the shower is an obstacle as you need to enter sideways again and do a 360 to shut door and then turn on shower lol. The mirror in the bedroom is at a height for 5ft 4 or under and the bathroom is a requires more DIY with decorators Chaulk everywhere, tiles not put on properly, grout not wiped off the tiles and dodgy paint touches.

However, the people are friendly and the food was good and location great but if you like a good room don't take room 8 as just not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgrant1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RocksideGuestHouse, Owner at Rockside Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your short break with us here at Rockside, and sorry to hear your stay was not as comfortable as it might have been.

Rockside is a quirky property, built in 1848, we have had to work with all the original stone walls and features, and have tried to make the most of all the space available to us, which includes the characterful attic rooms. Due to this all our rooms are of vastly different shapes and sizes, making some rooms more suitable than others for individual requirements. We would always recommend contacting us directly on 015394 45343 to discuss any specific room requirements you might have and then between us we can select the best and most appropriate room for you, or check our web site as we have pictures of all our rooms to assist with your choice, We really are here to help, and to make you as comfortable as possible.

We do thank you for your comments about the mirror, you do have a point there. Being only 5 foot myself I have just never given it a second thought, but please be assured this will be addressed in the very near future.

Such a shame that you did not mention anything while you were with us, as we could have offered you a more appropriate room if we had only been given the opportunity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant relaxing weekend at Rockside. Lovely breakfast. Some good local restaurants. Good bus service from the station for getting further afield if you come without a car. Very kind and helpful guesthouse owners.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garybaldbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have nothing but praise for this guest house. It is a a great place to return to after a day's walking - there are little home baked treats to try in reception - the room was recently decorated and comfortable - the room was quiet at night - and close to lots of places to eat.

The breakfasts were fantastic. A choice of a full breakfast with local produce or the home mixed muesli, yogurt and compote.

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our break in the Lake District over the Bank Holiday and Caroline left us some home made chocolates for Easter Sunday in our room. Wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked last minute for an Easter Break and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Took the last room in the guest house, room 4, although small it was very comfortable and had everything you needed. This is the first holiday we had to get up for breakfast every day, this wasn't to be missed, first class food to set you off for the rest of the day. The host was extremely welcoming and helpful and we kept finding home made biscuits and fudge left out for us, lovely touch. First time we have stayed in the Lake District and we will be back and happy to book the same guest house again. If you want a nice evening meal book Francine's just minutes walk from the guest house... Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a five star stay here. We stayed in Room 6. It faced a road but was quiet in the night. The room was spotless and the shower was hot and spacious. I would readily recommend this room. The breakfast was delicious with a large selection. On top of the made to order meal they had cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc and some really good banana bread. There were baked goods for when you return as well. The location is within a twenty minute walk to Lake Windermere. There are also many pubs, restaurants and grocery shops around too. Stay here and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaUK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfect for 'foodies' Breakfast is really fantastic, home made yoghurt, with special mixed muesli, lovely fresh fruit, home made marmalade and compote. And the banana bread is to die for. The home baking really is wonderful. Home made chocolate hob-nobs were left out for us to help ourselves to, it really was a nice touch. The cooked breakfast's all made with local produce, and lot's of different choices too. Caroline was very helpful, even waiting for us all afternoon after my over-ambitious estimated arrival time. As it is a guest house, there are no reception or other staff, so make sure you work out the time you will arrive when filling in the on-line form. We were in room 6, cosy and comfy, shower was great, spotlessly clean, a couple of times I felt the room was a little too cool when we returned from our walks before the heating came on, but I appreciate that you can't leave the heating on all day, only the times people are likely to be in. All in all, very enjoyable stay, and a two minute walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angee_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Guest House

Property: Rockside Guest House
Address: 25 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Traditional Lakeland Guest House. Modern Rooms, Substantial Breakfasts. Located less than 2 minutes walk from Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing