We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockside Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
312
41
8
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
41
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmaladeaward winningbiscuitslake districtguest houseb bhome madeadded touchtrain bus stationjourney homeattic roomfull englishlocal informationeggs benedictgreat hostsfeel very welcomeexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 361 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Went to Rockside in April,
Phoned up and booked the room, wanted a bigger room, but she wasn't sure if it was available.

On arrival we were told that the bigger room was available.
Luxury Suite (room 2)

was shown the room, looked very nice...

the bed was comfy to a certain extent but very noisy..
and found a few insects in the bed, and quite a few spiders as well.

the shower was very weak.
Room service was not to my liking, the towels were not changed and were still damp..

the breakfast was enjoyable, and they even left homemade ginger biscuits which were nice..

was provided with free WI-FI access, but was very limited as it cuts off very regually.


overall the stay was average.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just returned back from a 2 nights in the rockside hotel. We booked this on the net after doing a quick search of the local B&B's. We arrived to a walm welcome the hotel is nicely decorated with stairs that go off in different directions. We stayed in room 9 which was newly decorated and lovely the bed was comfy had a flat screen tv on the wall.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked with homemade jams and marmalade. In reception there was homemade cookies that you could help yourself too,which were a nice touch.

Location is great just a stone throw from shops bars and restaurants and a mile and half from lake windermere on a down hill walk.

Without doubt would definately go back and recommend to anyone who wants good quality at resonable prices

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crazybird1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

myself and my husband have just got back after a two night stay at the Rockside and we both loved it.
We were in room 5 which was lovely and well looked after.
The owners made us feel very welcome,breakfasts were a great start to the day and the homemade biscuits and marmalade were delicious.
My husband phoned ahead to order flowers and bubbly as it was our wedding anniversary which was a great suprise.
We would highly recommend this guest house

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I went to Rockside for a spot of hillwalking in March- and couldn't have hoped for a better guesthouse. The decor is smart and modern (no net curtains or doilies here!)- without being cold or unfriendly. It's an rambling old house with a homely feel to it. I stayed in the "luxury suite, room 2" and was very impressed- sofa, fridge and TV in addition to the bedroom! The location was ideal for me- about 3 minutes walk from the rail and bus stations- giving easy access to places to go walking (and afterwards, an easy walk from the guesthouse to local pubs). The owners were exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. But the main things that I liked about this place were all the little touches- the owners have compiled their own "eating out guide", they have written their own guides for "things to do if it rains", and there were even fabulous cookies at the reception desk to welcome visitors! But best of all- the breakfasts! You have to try them- delicious English breakfasts with quality ingredients, and their home-made jams! Apparently, the owners came 6th at the annual Cumbria marmalade festival- and I'm not surprised, their marmalade was fabulous! All in all- very highly recommended if you're after a smart, cosy, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gareth_In_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We chose the Rockside due to reading the reviews on tripadvisor, although we found the hotel to be clean and friendly, I would like to point out that there is room for improvement.
We stayed in Suite 2 as this supposed to the best room, it had a separate living area with a very small LCD tv, sofa, fridge and tea and coffee making facilties. The bedroom was cosy with a bigger than average bed which isnt the quitest of beds!
We were dissapointed with the bathroom as there was no bath and the shower was less than powerful.
We had to check out at 10am on the Sunday, before we booked we did ask if we could have the room a little later and was told 10.30am would be the latest. We only had breakfast on the Sunday as we felt it to be to early for us 8.30am till 9.15am. The breakfast was satisfactory.
This hotel is ideal if your in the Lakes to get up early and see the sites, or on a budget.
Theres is a good selection of restauraunts and shops about 25 mins away, and a few not far from the hotel itself.
For some where special to eat try Robertos, the meatballs and Mussels were gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews