We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
The perfect spot for a meal. Relax & Unwind and take in the beauty of Troutbeck Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect spot for a meal. Relax & Unwind and take in the beauty of Troutbeck Valley
The view from the front Deck. Priceless Looking north from the deck we see the peaks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The perfect spot for a meal. Relax & Unwind and take in the beauty of Troutbeck Valley
The view from the front Deck. Priceless
Looking north from the deck we see the peaks.
Fellside Lodge - Direct access to the fells and the woods.
A bright open plan layout. Furnished to a high standard. Dining area through to Lounge
Comfortable Lounge Area. Containing a leather 3 seater settee & single arm-chair. 32' TV
Lounge through to Dining Area.
Dining Area
Fully fitted kitchen.
Master bedroom with plenty of storage. High Quality bedding. TV/DVD
Ensuite to Master Bedroom
2 full size single beds in the second bedroom. Wardrobe + drawers. TV/DVD
Family bathroom
The views from the lounge.
XBOX (Just in case)
The onsite stream. Perfect place to cool off.
Plenty of open space for the kids to have fun
The onsite Childrens Playground
The view from the hills behind the lodge. Looking out towards Troutbeck Tongue. 15 mins walk.
Looking out towards Wansfell from the hills behind the lodge
Lake Windermere
The Autumn colours
The island in Rydal Water
The Autumn colours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chris B
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great lodge”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

we have stopped at this lodge for 3 years now and its brilliant !! a proper home from home .we know were everything is when we get there .and bash is a really nice guy to talk to if theres anything you need he will bend over over backwards to help.and lets not forget this is the best lodge to stay in and is great value for money ! try this lodge first ! you won't be disappointed with the lodge or price .thats why we come back year after year

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7lossy
1 review
“Escape to the lakes”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wow what a week weather went from torrential rain to glorious sunshine. Fellside lodge was the perfect escape for us. After a long eight hour drive we arrived to a beautiful clean well equipped lodge and within 5 minutes we were relaxed and at home. The views from the lodge were breathtaking and even with the rain couldn't help standing on the decking taking it all in. The lodge is perfectly located for all the main walking and tourist areas. With Windermere just a five minute drive away. The local walks around the lodge are fantastic with the kids and the views are stunning. The site is well equipped with things for the kids and walks. The lodge even better with games and an X box. Kitchen again everything we needed to cook up supper breakfast and pack up lunches. Wild life outside the lodge as well is fantastic to watch.
An amazing place highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwnat
1 review
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Lodge is of a high spec and maintained to a very good standard. The location was spot on and waking up to amazing views every morning was refreshing. The instructions how to get to the Lodge were easy to follow and if you had a problem at anytime the owners were contactable which was reassuring.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth T
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location & Views”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with friends and had found this lodge months back in anticipation of our travels to the Lake District. We were thrilled with the location and the wonderful views from the great room/deck. An easy drive to Windermere, Grassmere and other surrounding villages for day trips. Unfortunately, we were a bit taken back by the condition of the kitchen when we arrived. The cabinet drawers had some sort of spillage all down the outside fronts, and 2 drawers with the spills inside. The silverware caddy was filled with crumbs and some of the silverware still had caked on food. The microwave interior was also not cleaned and had leftover liquid in it and the pan in the oven had been left dirty from prior use. The glassware was smeary, so we washed everything in the cabinets before use. Rather surprised there was no soap in either bathrooms. I also had to wash the floor of the en suite shower before using it as it had not been wiped out completely. The description of this lodge being "luxury" is rather a misnomer. It's not that the property isn't nice, but luxury overstates the condition, along with the amenities. In the bedroom with the double bed, there's no room to open the bathroom door without standing aside from the bed. The door comes within an inch of hitting the bed. The linens did smell fresh and appear clean, although, the towels had clorox stains. The beds were comfortable and the quietness of the area lent itself to a good night's sleep. When contacting the owner about the cleanliness condition, he seemed to want to pass the blame on to prior guests not having cleaned adequately before their departure, and "Gary" who purportedly spends an hour and a half cleaning after guests. The mandatory cleaning fee of 40 pounds was rather an insult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Not enough attention to cleanliness.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
I was disappointed to hear that the kitchen area of the lodge had not been cleaned to its usual high standard, for your stay. You responded to my welcome text on the second day of your stay stating the kitchen area hadn’t been cleaned properly. I called you back within 30 seconds of receiving your text.

After listening to your findings I apologised that the kitchen area wasn’t satisfactory.
I did explain that we do ask guests to clean any items they use in the kitchen. However on occasions guests may not have time to clean items used and the housekeeper should spot and correct these issues. I informed you that I would ask the housekeeper to return to the lodge. You stated that you had corrected the issues that you had found within the kitchen.
(Thank you both for spending 1 hour to clean the plates & glasses, you should have simply called me and I would have got the housekeeper to correct the kitchen area)
Even though you wasn’t planning to use the BBQ, I requested the housekeeper to return.

I am not sure if you understood correctly the cleaning process which occurs at Fellside Lodge.
1. We expect guests to clean any kitchen items they use from the cupboards. (cleaning material is provided)
2. The housekeeper performs a full clean after every stay (including the kitchen) The housekeeping team (2) spend 90 mins in the lodge, preparing it for the next guests.The kitchen area is covered by the cleaner.

We use the lodge ourselves, and take great pride in what we offer.
We also perform a clean when we visit but this would not be noticeable unless you remove the beds/have a ladder.

Not sure It’s appropriate to leave multiple negative reviews on multiple sites but that’s life. Interestingly, I have never received multiple positive comments related to a single stay.

Every guest that respects the lodge and leaves it in a clean state is offered a 10% discount should they return.

Guests should find a welcome card, chocolates, bathroom soap, toilet paper etc.

Unfortunately it’s obvious that the process failed for your stay.
Once again, I apologise the lodge wasn’t prepared correctly for your stay.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the lakes and found some positive aspects with your stay at Fellside Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SlothEnte...
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, let down by standard of cleaning.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Positives: Great location. Great base for exploring the Lakes, and wonderful
views. Walking distance to Troutbeck village, Townend historic house and the
Mortal Man pub. Easy access to walking from the door. Four adults stayed
comfortably and there was lots of hot water on demand, with two good showers.
Compact kitchen, but with everything needed to prepare meals. Dining space for
four. Comfortable lounge with tv and dvd/XBOX360, and compact stereo system.
Deck area with table, chairs, parasol and fabulous views. Very quiet - although
other lodges were occupied, there was no noise at all, day or night. Comfortable
beds, clean linens and towels.

Negative: The only negative was that the kitchen was not clean. We had to wash
food spillage from drawers, wash cutlery, crockery and glasses before we could
use them - utensils were greasy and, in some cases, encrusted with food. There
was a dirty roasting dish in the oven and food spillages in the microwave. We
thought this might be unusual, as many reviews had mentioned how clean the lodge
had been. The owner (offsite) was very apologetic. He initially said that he
relies on departing guests to leave the lodge clean (which we did) and has a
cleaner go in for an hour and a half to do beds and some cleaning. (After our
stay, he said that it is the cleaner's responsibility to ensure the lodge is of
an acceptable standard for incoming guests). He asked the cleaner to go back
after we reported the kitchen issues ( most of which we had dealt with
ourselves). The oven and microwave remained as we had found them - there was no
sign that the cleaner had done anything further, other than clean the BBQ, which
we had said we did not plan to use. The owner did explain that he usually visits
every six weeks to do a thorough clean, but had been on holiday himself and so
had not been as usual. The price of cleaning was included in the charge for the
lodge - we paid that, and we cleaned on arrival and before we left. The owner
offered us a discount on a future booking - not something we are likely to take
up, both because we were a party of four, two from the US, and because the
procedures (whether relying on departing guests or not) give us little
confidence that a future experience would be any better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty kitchen
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
I was disappointed to hear that the kitchen area of the lodge had not been cleaned to its usual high standard, for your stay. You responded to my welcome text on the second day of your stay stating the kitchen area hadn’t been cleaned properly. I called you back within 30 seconds of receiving your text.
After listening to your findings I apologised that the kitchen area wasn’t satisfactory.
I did explain that we do ask guests to clean any items they use in the kitchen.
However on occasions guests may not have time to clean items used and the housekeeper should spot and correct these issues. I informed you that I would ask the housekeeper to return to the lodge. You stated that you had corrected the issues that you had found within the kitchen.
(Thank you both for spending 1 hour to clean the kitchen, you should have simply called me and I would have got the housekeeper to correct the kitchen area)
Even though you wasn’t planning to use the BBQ, I requested the housekeeper to return.
I am not sure if you understood correctly the cleaning process which occurs at Fellside Lodge.
1. We expect guests to clean any kitchen items they use from the cupboards. (cleaning material is provided)
2. The housekeeper performs a full clean after every stay (including the kitchen)
The housekeeping team (2) spend 90 mins in the lodge, preparing it for the next guests. The kitchen area is covered by the cleaner.

We use the lodge ourselves, and take great pride in what we offer.
We also perform a clean when we visit but this would not be noticeable unless you remove the beds/have a ladder.

Not sure It’s appropriate to leave multiple negative reviews on multiple sites but that’s life. Interestingly, I have never received multiple positive comments related to a single stay.

Every guest that respects the lodge and leaves it in a clean state is offered a 10% discount should they return.
Unfortunately it’s obvious that the process failed for your stay.
Once again, I apologise the lodge wasn’t prepared correctly for your stay.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to the lakes and found some positive aspects with your stay at Fellside Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aidywalke...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for family holiday”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Fellside for four nights and found the lodge perfect for our trip to the Lakes. The lodge was the right size for a family of four (two small children). It was warm, well equipped and in a good location for ease of access to the rest of the Lakes.

The owners were quick to respond to any queries and very helpful. The lodge has a number of board games which were useful when the weather was not that great but there was plenty to do within a short drive (important with two small children) including Aira Force, Ambleside, Windermere, Tarn Hows, Hill Top (Beatrix Potter) and Wray Castle.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark19732...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely lodge on a lovely quiet site, views amazing, idyllic! Close to town centre and other attractions, shame unable to use facilities at neighbouring Whitecross Bay site but they wouldn't allow it.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing