We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, clean and friendly hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #61 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Bernie and Danny are great hosts - friendly and informative. They greeted us upon arrival and Danny helped us with our heavy luggages. They gave us good directions to walk to the lake in time for the sunset, which is something not to be missed. They also gave us good recommendations for dinner and we really enjoyed our fish and chips at The Albert, thanks to their recommendation.

We stayed in the Rydal room which was clean, cosy and comfortable. Although the size of the room was rather small, we still have a comfortable night's stay and managed to rest well. Complimentary internet was much appreciated. TV had lots of channels. Delicious shortbread biscuits with tea and coffee were provided too.

There are on the street parking but it looked pretty full by evening-time. Location was not too far from Lake Windermere, but it was a good 10 mins walk away.

Bathroom was spotless and good quality toiletries were supplied. The only complaint we had was that in the morning, there was no hot water running through our tap at the sink. Further, the heating was also turned off at night and it got quite cold in the room. However, Bernie turned the heating back on when we asked her about it.

Breakfast was good and freshly made by Bernie. Generous selection of food and we liked the cosy dining area.

Overall, we had a good stay and wished we could stay longer in Windermere and at Annisgarth. Bernie and Danny deserve the good reviews as they have put in a lot of good work at maintaining this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serendipity_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a great stay here in March. The hosts were very friendly and the room was great. I was in room 3 with the spa bath which was lovely after a day's walking! Also you could just see the lake from the bathroom window! I could hear the kids next door getting ready for bed but they were not loud and the noise did not last for long. Breakfast were great, plenty for me and not greasy. Looking forward to stopping with the host in their new venture!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiteflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a beautiful warm and friendly B&B in a great location within walking distance of both Bowness and Windermere. It was our first stay at the Annisgarth and we stayed in the Rydal room which has recently been very tastefully refurbished and was spotless and very comfortable. Bernie and Danny were the perfect hosts and immediately make you feel very welcome, relaxed and comfortable. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they both have a great local knowledge of the area and were able to recommend some great restaurants for us. Bernie's breakfasts are first class, with homemade bread and locally sourced products. It was a perfect relaxing weekend for us, thank you Danny and Bernie. We will be seeing you again very soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A warm and friendly B&B in walking distance of Bowness and Windermere. On arrival we were greeted by Danny who showed us to the top floor suite. A lovely clean, fresh room with a spotless en-suite with jacuzzi bath and candles...plus little added extras that show consideration for the guests. Danny had a great local knowledge of the area and pointed us in the right direction for a quality meal in a little bistro in Bowness. After a lovely nights sleep we were treated to a tasty breakfast in a lovely morning room; Bernie was very friendly and attentive. Both Danny and Bernie are charming-they obviously enjoy their work and make a great team. The product of their hardwork and attention to the guest is a B&B which is very good value for money and a happy place to stay. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: The top floor suite was worth the extra money, it felt that bit more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Beautiful B&B ideally located between Windermere and Bowness. Our room (Rydal room) was spotless and recently refurbished. Bernie and Danny are the perfect hosts and the chocolate cake in the room was that extra special touch that makes all the difference! Breakfast was delicious and we would definitely stay here again! Thank you Bernie and Danny for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have had the delight of staying at the Annisgarth Bed & Breakfast in Windermere. We were looking forward to a peaceful break with cosy evenings and long walks. From the initial wonderful welcoming arrival, we were made to feel unique and so special by Danny & Bernie having a standard of excellence and customer service until we left.

The rooms were just perfect, a considerable size, good bathroom, unbelievable clean with those special touches by a couple who pride themselves on perfection.

The breakfasts were hearty,fresh with such variety and wonderful to have freshly baked bread and all served with such a professional courtesy. We really wished that we stayed for more than two evenings.

We really could not thank Danny & Bernie enough for our unforgetable weekend and hope to speak to them very soon to book again.

I

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We booked through Laterooms and so got a better deal than on their website. We had the top suite (Langdale) which was brilliant. A large loft conversion with a large jacuzzi bath as well as a shower. Very comfortable bed and enough storage for all our walking gear.

Breakfast each morning was excellent, freshly cooked to order and of good quality. There are guide books to look at or borrow too.

Parking is a bit hit and miss - try to arrive before 5 to guarantee a spot on the road outside. A 5 minute stroll to the restaurants and pubs of Ambleside, so it's in a good, quiet location too.

Room Tip: Go for the Langdale suite. Large and comfy, though it is up 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige_and_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast

Address: 48 Craig Walk, Windermere LA23 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annisgarth B&B is a 4 star B&B in Windermere, a traditional Victorian terraced House on Craig Walk, just off the main Windermere - Bowness road and away from the hustle bustle and traffic, but only a five minute walk to the cafes pubs and restaurants, the cinema and all the other amenities and attractions of Bowness, including of course Lake Windermere!! Each of the 3 delightful guest rooms is individually furnished and has a hospitality tray and colour television. Also provided, large fluffy bath sheets, a full selection of toiletries, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers and a DVD player in each room. The Langdale is the very spacious luxury room at the top of the house it has a spa bath and a walk in shower. The Rydal is a large en-suite room, with a super King size bed, which can also be used as a twin. The Grasmere is a standard double with a private bathroom. Not en-suite but just feet away from your room. We'll even provide robes for you!! After a refreshing night's sleep, relax over a delicious breakfast, cooked to order from the finest locally sourced produce. We cater for most diets so please let me know if you are vegetarian, vegan, diabetic, gluten or dairy free. Winners of a prestigious A.A. Breakfast Award. Parking is on street and unrestricted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annisgarth Bed And Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing