We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real home from home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #61 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Our second visit to Annisgarth B and B and just when you think it could'nt get any better.....it does. We stayed in the same room that we stayed in, in October, and it has been totally re decorated, to a lovely standard. Bernie and Danny, the proprietors really are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble to them, and the Breakfasts........out of this world!!, wether its a continental style, fruit, yogurt, cereal and toast or a full English, you won't be dissapointed, by the way Bernie's omelletes are to die for!!!

We can't wait to book up for our next visit in the Spring, after the weekend we've just had, I think i'll do it now..........don't want to be dissapointed!!!

Room Tip: Danny showed us all three rooms (all vacant at the time) and they are all superb!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevincbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
108
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I recently took my partner away for a romantic weekend for her birthday and we stayed at the Annisgarth.
Having booked a couple of months in advance, I chose The Langdale room which is on the top floor and is touted as the most luxurious room and a spa bath.
Bernie/Danny quickly confirmed my booking by email and offered to make our trip extra special by providing a luxury welcome pack in the room for our arrival, as it was a special occasion I took this offer up and was very glad that I did.
When we arrived in the room there was a beautiful bouquet of flowers, a chilled bottle of prosecco, bathrobes for each of us, a bowl of strawberries, a decanter of port, a pretty box of indulgent chocolates, hand made cakes and a huge bowl of fresh fruit. I had also posted my partners birthday gift to them in advance of our arrival and Bernie has kindly agreed to ensure it was placed in our room along with all of our other goodies.
Once we had got over this initial wonderful surprise we settled in and checked out our room. It is easy to see why its suggested that The Langdale room is the most luxurious room, it is tastefully decorated and contains lovely, solid, rustic furniture. The bed is very comfortable and beautifully dressed, the entertainment provided in room is fantastic, there is a good television and a wide selection of DVDs and books in the room for guests to use (not that anyone visiting the lake district should be in any great need of a television).
The bathroom has a gorgeous modern suite with a large shower cubicle and spa bath big enough for two. There was a selection of very nice toiletries at the sink and in the shower along with face wipes etc which my partner appreciated a great deal.
Both rooms were very light and airy with decent views, from the bathroom you can see the lake and the mountains on the far side.
The breakfast menu has some great choices, I enjoyed the full cumbrian breakfast one morning and on the following morning eggs and smoked salmon. On both occasions the food my partner and myself enjoyed was cooked perfectly and presented with great care and consideration. In addition to the cooked menu there is a wide variety of cereals and fruits etc to help prepare guests for a day of adventure in the hills or on the lake.
So after properly settling into our room we decided to venture out and Bernie must have read my mind because she suggested that perhaps we wanted to go for a pint and grab something to eat. We wanted to find a old'e world local pub with low ceilings and an open fire, again we were not disappointed, Bernie directed us to a great little placed that felt like 'home', so much so we went back the following day.
When I first made the booking I also asked Bernie/Danny if they could assist me in finding a suitable place for a romantic meal for my partners birthday on the Saturday. They provided me with a selection of recommendations that they had sampled for themselves. I booked on their recommendation and must say you really cannot beat local knowledge. We had a fantastic evening out, thank you.
The overall experience of the Annisgarth is fantastic, Bernie and Danny are lovely people and genuinely welcomed us into their home and made us feel so very welcome. They took time to stop and chat to us each day and we got to know a bit about them, they are lovely people to talk to and have a great northern sense of humor (something our hoteliers in the south totally lack) and were always ready to offer help and directions, we really felt like they couldn't do enough to please us and as a result, above and beyond the beautiful room and breakfasts, we think this contributed massively in making our stay an enjoyable and memorable one.
Myself and my partner have both said they we will happily return, we've stayed in some exclusive and expensive hotels all over and I must say nothing compares to the personal touches (candles along the edge of the spa bath, flowers, friendly local knowledge, welcome test messages prior to arrival) that Bernie and Danny truly pride themselves on.
Thank you very much for helping me to make my girlfriends birthday so fantastic.
Love
Paul and Amy

Room Tip: The Langdale, the best room in the house. Although I had a sneakly look in the other rooms prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Wow!! First of all sorry for taking so long to respond. I have spent the last few days trawling through T.A. to see if this is the longest ever review, and if it's not it's pretty close. Besides we had to read it in shifts...Anyway enough of our Northern Humour. We are truly humbled that you had such a good time at Annisgarth that you felt moved enough to say so much about your stay. I could respond to almost every point you made, but I think I will just let your review speak for itself, and we will simply say "Thank You" and we really hope that we see you both again in the not too distant future.

Thank you

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was a real personal service and Bernie and Danny made us feel like we were family. Lovely home made cakes on arrival and sweets left in the room to welcome us. The facilities were spotlessly clean. An excellent choice of breakfast menu. Nothing was too much trouble and they were happy to advise good places to visit. we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidtravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay at Annisgarth. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and are happy that you appreciate the little extra's that we try to provide. We hope to see you both here again sometime in the future.

Thank you

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Not the first time I have been on the receiving end of Bernie and Danny's hospitality and their welcome and warmth gets better; if that is at all possible! Rooms are immaculate with all the extra's of a 5* hotel and for something special the Langdale Suite gave my sis a whirlpool tub and a room with a view, perfect for some chillaxing following a day in the hills. And... If the freshly baked cup cakes on arrival don't give you the 'wow' factor, Bernie's home cooked breakfast certainly will... This little b&b has to be tried to be appreciated and to D&B... A huge thank you, see you again soon!

Room Tip: For luxury. choose the Langdale suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
It was absolutely our pleasure to look after you again. We wish it could have been for a longer stay, but we know you will be back to stay with us again sometime very soon. It was lovely to see you again, and looking so well too. Thanks for your review Deb.

Take care

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Lovely people, superb hospitality, lovely room and comfortable. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binkybunnylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
A big thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, and we look forward to seeing you here at Annisgarth again in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

'Brilliant' is the one word that sums up Annisgarth. Bernie and Danny, the proprietors, gave us a very warm welcome....including home made cakes on arrival :) This little hidden gem of a B & B is very clean and inviting, with comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast available: fresh fruit salad, cereal, full English breakfast with homemade toasted bread, jams, tea, coffee, freshly squeezed fruit juices....so much choice and such fantastic value. Attention to detail is second to none, from guests umberellas at the door for that infamous Cumbrian rain, an excellent stock of toiletries (including cotton buds, facial wipes and boxes of tissues), to guests fresh white cotton robes. Our room was lovely and spotless, the bed very comfortable with beautiful bedding and was equipped with a dvd player and television along with an excellent selection of dvds to choose from, as well as books and magazines. An upgrade is available on booking which includes handmade chocolates, wine, fresh fruit, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. At the time, we chose not to select this option though on arrival we regretted this descision. However, my partner and I are revisiting the area shortly and have already booked Annisgarth again, but this time including the upgrade, which we are looking forward to as we know it will be, along with everything else, to a very high standard. In all, we just can't recommend Annisgarth enough....you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The top room is the more spacious with an en-suite bathroom inclduing a whirl pool bath. The front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Diane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you both for taking the time and trouble to share your Annisgarth experience with others on trip Advisor. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you both during your stay, and are glad that you enjoyed it so much to come back again. I'm sure we'll see you both for a 3rd time soon.

Many thanks again

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for one night in the Langdale suite at the top of the house as it was the only room left and we'll definately be going back for more. Bernie and Danny are extremely welcoming and make you feel at home straight away. Our room was lovely, spacious and spotless! The en-suite was also just what you needed after a day in the lakes - the candlelit spa bath was perfect after a day walking. Breakfast was excellent. Fresh local produce and lots of options. The B&B is also in a brilliant location, within walking distance of Bowness.

Room Tip: The Langdale Suite has a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you both very much, firstly for choosing to stay at Annisgarth and secondly for taking the time and trouble to write a review. It's because of guests such as yourselves that we have made such massive strides in the short time we have been here. We have increased our star rating, from a 3 star to a 4 star, we have won a very prestigious A.A. Breakfast award, and we have moved into the top 10 of Trip Advior's very own rankings.

We hope to see you back for a return visit in the near future.

Thanks again

Bernie and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Break...
#35 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Guest House
Eastbourne Guest House
#36 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast

Property: Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 48 Craig Walk, Windermere LA23 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annisgarth B&B is a 4 star B&B in Windermere, a traditional Victorian terraced House on Craig Walk, just off the main Windermere - Bowness road and away from the hustle bustle and traffic, but only a five minute walk to the cafes pubs and restaurants, the cinema and all the other amenities and attractions of Bowness, including of course Lake Windermere!! Each of the 3 delightful guest rooms is individually furnished and has a hospitality tray and colour television. Also provided, large fluffy bath sheets, a full selection of toiletries, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers and a DVD player in each room. The Langdale is the very spacious luxury room at the top of the house it has a spa bath and a walk in shower. The Rydal is a large en-suite room, with a super King size bed, which can also be used as a twin. The Grasmere is a standard double with a private bathroom. Not en-suite but just feet away from your room. We'll even provide robes for you!! After a refreshing night's sleep, relax over a delicious breakfast, cooked to order from the finest locally sourced produce. We cater for most diets so please let me know if you are vegetarian, vegan, diabetic, gluten or dairy free. Winners of a prestigious A.A. Breakfast Award. Parking is on street and unrestricted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annisgarth Bed And Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing