We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A throughly enjoyable stay with the most perfect hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A throughly enjoyable stay with the most perfect hosts!”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed for one night, booked last minute online. We had a wonderful stay in the Langdale room. Everything was spotless, sheets and towels White and pressed. The bathroom was gleaming and we were very impressed with the spa bath complete with candles and matches. (very thoughtful!)
We were greeted by Bernie and Danny and had home made choc brownies in our room Which was a lovely touch. The hosts catered to our every need and we had a very peaceful sleep. Breakfast was delightful, with home made bread! Bernie couldn't have been any more helpful and her warm personality really made our stay all the more enjoyable. She suggested we visit 'annies attic' in nearby Kendal which was fab! All in all we couldn't have asked for a better BnB and nicer hosts. We will certainly be re-visiting and have already reccomended Annisgarth to family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you both for taking the time and trouble to write a very positive review of your stay at Annisgarth. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, even if it was just for one night, and we are also glad that you appreciated the little extras, that we think help to make the whole experience. We are sure we will see you both again sometime in the not too distant future. Thank you both again

Danny and Bernie
Glad you enjoyed Annies Attic, she'll be "ower the moon like"..;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Overall a great experience, not a bad word to say about the accomodation, bernie and danny are great hosts. This was our second visit, and we will be going back again.
Wasn't too much of a problem, however the website advertises a discount for a stay of 3 days or more and no discount was given.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashawatts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
The best praise a B&B can get is returning guests, as it says we must be getting it right. You were among our first guests when we took over Annisgarth in July 2011, and it was a pleasure to see you both come back again so soon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as much this time as the first time, and we are confident you will enjoy it just as much next time!! As for the discount, yes you're right. Hands up, we missed that one!! Our apologies, and we have sent an email to you to arrange for the discount to be refunded. Thank you for your review

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

my wife and i stayed at the annisgarth for the three day august bank holiday what a delight, fantastic hosts ,spotlessly clean and the breakfast was delicious .home made bread is used for the toast and it is scrumptious.late one afternoon while we were chilling out before our evening out , we were given some home made cakes that had just been cooked ,what a lovely gesture. we would definately stay here next time we are in the lakes.so keep this a secret so it will be available next time we visit. there is also ample street parking outside the door , all this within a five minute walk of the lake. EXCELLENT,THANX

Room Tip: we stayed in room one which was very comfy and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblade59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Annisgarth. We are so glad you enjoyed the Annisgarth experience, and are very happy that the little extra touches were appreciated. We look forward to seeing you at Annisgarth again

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Fabulous B&B with lovely hosts, couldn't recommend any higher. Great location to base yourself in the lakes and a tasty breakfast that will keep you going all morning long.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Once again many thanks for a fantastic review. It was our pleasure to look after you while you were here, and are more than happy to know that what we do is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Annisgarth sometime in the future.

Thank you

Bernie and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Can't say enough good things about Annisgarth! The room was great and full of thoughtful touches (cakes at the end of a days walking was a great touch!), very clean and very welcoming. We stayed in the Grasmere room, it was a great room, very cosy, very comfortable and we had our own bathroom literally two metres down the hall to ourselves!
Bernie and Danny were excellent hosts, Bernie was especially lovely and made us feel right at home.
The breakfasts were fantastic, the Cumbrian breakfast in particular was brilliant. The B&B is right in the heart of Bowness, really close to everything and is a great base for exploring the lakes. I highly recommend staying here, it's a great find!
Thanks for a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Well, it just gets better and better. Two extremely positive reviews in one day!!! We are so happy that you both had a great stay at Annisgarth, and are also delighted that the little extra touches we provide are well received and appreciated. As I have said previously, we strive to provide an all round B&B expereince, not simply offering a bed, then breakfast. Its about so much more than that, and it seems that we are getting that part right. As we say, its about "B&B as it should be". We really hope to see you both again, and we'll make sure there are some cakes ready for you when you arrive!!

Bernie and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We arrived on the 25th with quite dreary weather. Bernie welcomed us in and saw to our every need to freshen up and feel at home. The room we stayed in was great, very clean and cosy. The products available in the bathroom to you are of high quality and the breakfast is just mint. We were thinking how they should be running a restaurant as well so good! The location is great because you're a very short walk to the shops and restaurants in Bowness; you're a short-medium walk from Windermere. The small touches are absolutely amazing (i.e. home-made cake to surprise you after coming back!), showing that the folks from Annisgarth care about their guests. The owners are very humble, warm and welcoming people. I find that staying in a hotel or B&B is all too often met with a feeling of 'sleeping somewhere that isn't home' and makes it a little bit of an uncomfortable experience. That's just it though, we just didn't have that at Annisgarth and felt perfectly at home. It's hands down the best B&B I've ever been to, and I expect it will be unchallenged for quite some time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Well what can we say? High praise indeed, and we feel humbled to be the recipients of such praise. We work so hard to deliver a B&B experience, rather than simply providing B&B, and we are over the moon that we seem to be getting it right. Positive reviews like this will keep us on our toes, knowing that we have to live up to such praise!! We are so glad you had a great time at Annisgarth, and look forward to welcoming you ( and your family?) back to Annisgarth in the not too distant future.

Bernie and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

A fabulous warm welcome met us on our arrival at annisgarth. The room was clean, tidy and stocked with a variety of hot drinks and some home made cake... Yummy! The surrounding area has plenty of pubs and restaurants so finding an evening meal is easy! There are plenty of shops locally, all within a 5-10 minute walk. The owners, Bernie and Danny are so welcoming and willing to help, I don't think anything would have been too much trouble! We stayed for 3 nights and the price was EXTREMELY reasonable! I would highly recommend the Annisgarth B&B and honestly have not got a bad word to say. One tip... Stay long enough to sample all of the breakfast menu.... Its delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariejst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annisgarthbernie, General Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thanks for your very positive review of Annisgarth. We are so pleased you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. We take the "Breakfast" part of B&B very seriously, and we are always delighted when we know our guests are happy. It makes all the hard work worthwhile! The breakfast menu was the first thing we put in place when we took over Annisgarth, and we have had regular excellent feedback since then.

We really hope to see you both again sometime in the future

Again many thanks

Bernie and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Break...
#35 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Guest House
Eastbourne Guest House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast

Property: Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 48 Craig Walk, Windermere LA23 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annisgarth B&B is a 4 star B&B in Windermere, a traditional Victorian terraced House on Craig Walk, just off the main Windermere - Bowness road and away from the hustle bustle and traffic, but only a five minute walk to the cafes pubs and restaurants, the cinema and all the other amenities and attractions of Bowness, including of course Lake Windermere!! Each of the 3 delightful guest rooms is individually furnished and has a hospitality tray and colour television. Also provided, large fluffy bath sheets, a full selection of toiletries, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers and a DVD player in each room. The Langdale is the very spacious luxury room at the top of the house it has a spa bath and a walk in shower. The Rydal is a large en-suite room, with a super King size bed, which can also be used as a twin. The Grasmere is a standard double with a private bathroom. Not en-suite but just feet away from your room. We'll even provide robes for you!! After a refreshing night's sleep, relax over a delicious breakfast, cooked to order from the finest locally sourced produce. We cater for most diets so please let me know if you are vegetarian, vegan, diabetic, gluten or dairy free. Winners of a prestigious A.A. Breakfast Award. Parking is on street and unrestricted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annisgarth Bed And Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing