We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fir Trees Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fir Trees Guest House
Ranked #33 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
2 reviews
“Fir Trees Guest House”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Would recomend staying at this guest hose,clean rooms,good food,good welcome,bikers welcome.Stayed for 4 nights as a base traveling around the lake district daily on bike.10 minute walk either side of villages on main rd,plenty of places to eat close by,would call again if in the area,Simon & Maria from Swansea.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    51
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Brilliant place to stay, really nice and relaxing. Breakfast was very good too. The only thing I would suggest is have a word with the owners about were to eat as our meals out in the evenings (nothing to-do with the hotel) were disappointing to say the least...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We returned for our 20th trip to the Lake District and stayed once again at The Fir Trees. The location is great - being halfway between the lake and the town. The hosts (Bea and Bob) are always welcoming and helpful. Bob cooks the best scrambled eggs and crispy bacon ever. The room was lovely - we had the family room and our son enjoyed crawling under the beds and looking to see if Bob had replenished the biscuits and chocolates when we came back from our days out (Bob didn't disappoint). My husband and I have stayed at The Fir Trees since getting married from there and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else - we would change our holiday instead of changing lodgings.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareshac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

A surprising number of B&Bs are not keen on taking young children - probably because they tend to require a little bit of attention. However, we were made to feel very welcome at the Fir Trees and stayed in a nice large airy room with our two small boys (aged 4 and 2). The room has a double bed and two singles under which the boys had a nice time crawling under. Digital flatscreen tv and full tea & coffee facilities plus small en-suite shower/WC plus good quality beds, carpets etc made us very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and our hosts were very friendly and could not do enough. Not the cheapest B&B - but more importantly - good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmacca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had a really good weekend @ Fir Trees. Bea & Bob are good hosts and did everything to ensure our stay was perfect.
Emperorer of India (Indian restaurant) very very good and just a 10 min, walk from Fir Trees.
Room was really clean & very comfortable.
Breakfast (cooked to order) excellent...............try the sausages.
All in all, we cannot find any fault with this place & would not hesitate to reccommend to anyone.
Beautiful place and perefect location.

  • Liked — spotless
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brentwoodjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The owners were very friendly and we found the location very convenient (especially as may of the side roads were iced over!) on the main lake road between Bowness and windermere. Bowness is very pleasant and a 10 minute walk away and offers a good choice of shops and restaurants - we ate Tapas to Swiss Italian!
All was very clean. We had a family room and furnishings were warm and simple. A big downfall was there was no bath, just the smallest shower room that I have ever seen with a rather feable shower. The breakfasts were good - cooked to order and a basic buffet. It was a shame that there was no guest lounge to relax in. The main reason for booking Fir Trees is that much emphasis is made on their website including pictures on home page to a free pass to Burnside Hotel Leisure club if you stay for 2 nights, well it was really disappointing - very basic and dirty amenities and a freezing pool and we had to pay £1 each for a towel! So all in all £95 a night B+B not the best value but a pleasant time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshhire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay, really enjoyed our stay at the Fir Trees, well placed between Windermere and Bowness, Rooms very nice, Breakfast excellent and Bob and Bea are very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#7 of 108 in Windermere
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Property: Fir Trees Guest House
Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Nine bedroom Guest House with all rooms En-Suite. Centrally located mid way between Windermere and Bowness. Each room has a small fridge containing mineral water and fresh milk for your tea and coffee, feel free to bring a bottle or two to put in the fridge. Also you will find robes in the wardrobe to help you relax in your room. We serve a leisurely breakfast between 8.30 and 9.30 which is freshly cooked to order and for the sleepyheads amongst us check out is no later than 11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing