We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real English hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fir Trees Guest House
Ranked #34 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maleny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real English hospitality.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My two daughters and I were spending a brief visit to England, during a longer European trip, just to visit the Lakes District and in particular Beatrix Potter's farm. We booked our accommodation over the internet. After a disastrous train journey from Liverpool, we finally arrived at our B & B. We were welcomed warmly, and felt right at home. Our room was beautiful, with good beds. In the morning we enjoyed the most delicious and filling homemade breakfast, before setting out on our adventures for the day. We spent 5 nights at Fir Trees. It was perfectly located between the Lake and Windermere. We were able to walk most places. Our hosts were always helpful with good ideas on places to see and helped with a local day trip booking. Every morning we looked forward to breakfast! Can't wait to return one day.

Room Tip: We had the family room overlooking the front. It was big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    51
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was a bit small for 5 people but the hosts were VERY nice. We loved the cereal and other breakfast options (we remember the cereal because it was some type of DELICIOUS muesli that has now become a legend in our family), and had an excellent stay in the Lake Windermere area. Don't miss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Firtrees Guest House, WIindermere, It was our second visit and we were pleased to be greeted by the lovely hosts Bea and Bob, the rooms were just as lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious plenty of everything and great service from the staff, all in all its a great guest house definately worth a visit, in a great location with lovely helpful hosts at an affordable price!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancahsire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself and my family stayed here on 2nd March, and i would like to say what a lovely guest house it is, very welcoming the rooms are spotless and the hosts are very very friendly.

We will defo being staying here again without a doubt : ) very happy we was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A classic B&B on the main road down to the lake. Great location, clean rooms and lovely food, FANTASTIC value for money, you will not find this quality any cheaper in the Windermere area. Off road parking is a bonus and attractions around the lake and local shops are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As always our latest trip to the Fir Trees was excellant. Bea and Bob are fantastic hosts and the accomodation is clean, comfortable and very welcoming!!! The Fir Trees is in the perfect location between Windermere and Bowness with car parking not a problem. Stayed 3 nights this time and looked forward to Bob's cooked breakfast which was fantastic as always. Nothing is ever any bother to Bea and Bob no matter what your requirements are. Been going to the Fir Trees for over 20yrs and this B&B is as good today as it was all those years ago.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Made a booking here last minute, having never stayed in the Lake District before I wasn't sure how it would be placed location wise but it was perfect. Near enough to the shops & restaurants & from Lake Windermere & Bowness. Would I stay here again?...Absolutely! The room was spotless & the staff were more than helpful & knowledgable about the area & the breakfast was superb-cooked to perfection. The owners have taken great care & pride in tastefully decorating this guest house staying true to its lovely period features whilst making it warm & welcoming for its guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#26 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#14 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#7 of 108 in Windermere
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Property: Fir Trees Guest House
Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Nine bedroom Guest House with all rooms En-Suite. Centrally located mid way between Windermere and Bowness. Each room has a small fridge containing mineral water and fresh milk for your tea and coffee, feel free to bring a bottle or two to put in the fridge. Also you will find robes in the wardrobe to help you relax in your room. We serve a leisurely breakfast between 8.30 and 9.30 which is freshly cooked to order and for the sleepyheads amongst us check out is no later than 11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing