We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fir Trees Guest House
Ranked #34 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“lovely, friendly and clean”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

On arrival we were given a lovely welcome and even though we were a bit early were able to have access to our room. The room itself was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and very clean with a large bathroom.

This is in a great location within easy walking distance to Bowness and all of it's hustle and bustle. Our hosts were able to recommend a very nice Bistro in Bowness and also filled us in on a bit of history of the area.

I would recommend this to anyone and certainly will stay here again when visiting this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romantic1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    51
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I came in Jan with my husband and again in March with my daughter. Spotlessly clean with a real genuine welcome, not the artificial grin and bear it I have encountered in other places. The breakfast was amazing and unhurried and we were made to feel completely at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

lovely friendly hotel, very teenager friendly. stayed for one night, booked last minute unable to offer us a family room for 4 but we had a double and a twin directly opposite each other and they only charged us for a family room. breakfast lovely, good choice of alternatives to a full english if required. not too far to walk into either bowness or windermere. private parking available at front and side of guest house. definatly consider staying again if in lakes

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyBear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 21st March. The owner greeted us on arrival and was very warm and friendly. The room we stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is in an ideal location for wandering down into bowness. Took about 10 minutes and there are some fantastic restaurants and shops. Our favourite was definately Bodgega the Tapas bar and restaurant.
The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and nothing was too much trouble for the owner.
My only negative thing to say about this B & B was mentioned on the last review. It is on quite a busy road and you are woken with traffic quite early on and if you're wanting an afternoon snooze after a heavy day walking you may want to take you ear defenders! We stayed in room 5. I would imagine one of the garden rooms on the back will be much quieter!
That said, it didn't spoil our trip. It was my first time in the Lake District and won't be my last. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiesReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel was centrally located, only 15 mins walk to Lake Windermere and its many eateries. Room was very roomy and clean but would advise asking for a room at the back of the house as could hear the traffic passing as the hotel is on the road that runs through Windermere. Breakfast could not be faulted. Good selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Full english breakfast was excellent and used local produce. They couldnt do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Would stay here again as within walking distance of Windermere and very central.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minidriver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and it was excellent. Very welcoming,great choices for breakfast served by proprietor who was very nice. ONE OF THE BEST B+Bs in this area!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2010

we went there in august and the welcome was very nice from bea and bob. there was ample car parking space, it was close to lake windemere which was very useful, a 10 minute walk. the room service was great, we had a big and spacious room the en suite was a bit small but still good. the beds were comfortable and clean, we had a tv with freeview and a dvd player. after a day out, we came back to a kettle, sachets of hot choc, tea and coffee all on a tray. we had a cupboard to put our stuff in and lamps. each morning we were given a great breakfast. bob and bea are very friendly and great hosts. i would recommend this hotel. 9 out of 10

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#25 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#10 of 108 in Windermere
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#30 of 108 in Windermere
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Guest House

Property: Fir Trees Guest House
Address: Lake Road | Windermere, English Lake District, Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fir Trees Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Nine bedroom Guest House with all rooms En-Suite. Centrally located mid way between Windermere and Bowness. Each room has a small fridge containing mineral water and fresh milk for your tea and coffee, feel free to bring a bottle or two to put in the fridge. Also you will find robes in the wardrobe to help you relax in your room. We serve a leisurely breakfast between 8.30 and 9.30 which is freshly cooked to order and for the sleepyheads amongst us check out is no later than 11am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Fir Trees Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fir Trees Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fir Trees Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing