We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cragwood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I head our wedding day at the Cragwood Hotel in August of this year and were able to take over the whole hotel fron the evening before the wedding until the following day.
Everything about our stay was fantastic, the location and scenery is superb and we were lucky enough with the weather to hold the ceremony outside. The staff were extremely attentive and experienced, nothing was too much trouble for them. Although I know that the hotel hosts many weddings we really felt (as did our guests) that this was a very special occasion. Food, including the breakfasts, was really high quality; guests said it was the best 'wedding food' they had experienced. Rooms were were clean and comfortable - my only quibble would be that the honeymoon suite could do with updating. Overall the atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and relaxed - the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjswyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    86
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
208
467
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have just returned from a few nights at the Cragwood as a little honeymoon. The package that we got (a midweek special) meant that dinner every night was included and the food was amazing. The staff were wonderful and the setting as beautiful as it looks on the website.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We chose the Cragwood because of it's location and menu and we weren't disappointed. They couldn't do anything more to make our stay more comfortable. The rooms were neat and tidy and had loads of space. They were all well appointed with all the expected facilities. Nothing was excessive and you could tell they were doing all they could for the environment. Set in lovely grounds you felt you were in a five star hotel. The food was amazing going over and above anything we had expected. We are surprised they haven't won awards for the food! (they might have but we didn't see any!) we asked for a few things that were out of the ordinary and they were more than obliging and we would have been happy to have paid more!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glam7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We were looking for either a nice hotel with a pool for our 7 year old, or a hotel that would take dogs in a nice location, and Cragwood Country House Hotel was perfect for the latter. From the very beginning of making the booking over the phone, to arriving the next day, and during our stay the staff were really friendly and helpful.

We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast, but this was very nice, and again the service excellent. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed, and the family room was plenty big enough for the three of us.

The hotel is bang on lake Windermere, and for a family room I thought £120 B&B was reasonable. We had booked for two nights, but the typical English weather forced us in to going home after one night (no reflection at all on the hotel). Many hotels would have charged us for the second night, given we did not check out until 12.30pm, but the reception people at Cragwood did not charge us. Neither did they charge us a glass of warm milk for our 7 year old.

We would definitely go back, and are already thinking of using the hotel as a stop off for a trip to Scotland. For the dog lovers amongst you, it's heaven for our furry friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

excellent service, i am a wheelchair user and found this room 23 fantastic ,wonderful wet room lots of space wash basin slightly too high but shower compensated for this also as a dog owner found the french door out onto the gardens and woodland superb breakfast and dinner were wonderful what a lovely experience for husband myself and amber the dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed again at the Cragwood this weekend. The dogs absolutely love it there. A fantastic location on the shores of Winderemere. We have not been before in July so it was lovely to see the gardens in full bloom. The gardens and surrounding area is well looked after by the gardener. The food is good in the restaurant and the staff are friendly. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel. They have a good selection of rooms and we always have a lovely spacious room looking over the gardens. We will be back again in September.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I know the lake district well, having grown up in the area. The Cragwood fitted the bill for us, as it was in the National Park, and handy for all the sights.

The hotel met our every expectation. Our room was simple but roomy and clean with a lovely comfy queen size bed, and overlooked the lake - what a view! The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to make our stay successful, and helped out with anything we needed. The food is exquisite - we have not tasted food that has so much flavour and is entirely home-made, it was absolutely wonderful.

Would we stay again - you bet we would! If anyone wants a simple hotel (ie no gym, pool, sauna etc) but great accommodation, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing