We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional and Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Traditional and Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Brought in the New Year here and couldn't possibly fault it. The rooms were so warm and comfortable and the hotel grounds were just stunning - even in the pouring rain! The celebration they prepared was fantastic, with mounds upon mounds of delicious food. Will definitely be staying here again and can happily, highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher_Kerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
484
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just finishing our latest break at cragwood, my wife and I along with our two children visited for three nights. This was our eighth or ninth stay here, since discovering this beautiful country hotel around four years ago.
As usual the room was spotless and ver comfortable, the staff extremely friendly and attentive and the food is to die for.
You might be forgiven for thinking that such a grand country house hotel, might be a little 'stuffy' and formal, but this couldn't be further from the truth, it is incredibly relaxed and child friendly.
Cragwood is becoming almost a 'home from home' for us and we are always sad to leave. We look forward to our next visit very soon. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didcot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night break with 4 adults and 3 dogs...! It's the first time the mutts have come on holiday and the apprehension felt by us humans was high as to how the dogs would behave! However the staff could not have been nicer to us or the dogs. They were really great and can't speak highly enough of them, very understanding and it's meant the break was much better than anticipated. Although some of the main areas are a bit shabby chic...(renovations in the pipeline) it's a lovely hotel to relax in.....so much so we're already trying to book for later in the year! Oh and the food whether sandwiches or dinner was fantastic...!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just arrived home from the perfect few days away.

We took our two little dogs to Cragwood and the staff could not have been more helpful and understanding. The rooms are clean, comfortable and fully equipped for relaxing.
The log fires and beautiful scenery are just the cherry on top.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. We asked to eat our breakfast with our dogs in the lounge area as our dogs were not too found of being left in the room and this was no problem.

We would highly recommend a stay here and we will most certainly be back!!

Well done Cragwood. It was a pleasure to stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to Cragwood for the best and worst of reasons. We had originally booked for my Mum's 60th birthday present. She died the day she was due at Cragwood. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or considerate when we rang. Every option from cancelling with full refund (with no notice) to changing the booking was offered. We chose to change the booking and my husband and I had our 15th anniversary with them six months later.

The staff were great from start to finish. They made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment they showed us our rooms. Open roaring fires and small intimate rooms are their forte, and we made full use of them. Spending most of our time in our socks.

The four course meal we had with them was sumptuous and breakfast made to order.

Overall, I would say Cragwood was my favourite hotel to stay in, which is why we have booked my birthday there as well. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamarafrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a 1 night trip away between Xmas and new year with our daughter and puppy. We ended up staying 3 nights and if it hadn't been New Year's Eve and we had run out of clothes we would have stayed longer.
Excellent hotel, excellent service, beautiful rooms and the friendliest staff.
We all had such a perfect time
Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

You have to go there to experience a true lake district experience, this hotel is truly 1 in a million. The service, the food, the rooms, the views, the restaurant, in fact anything you want is not any problem at all. I was recommended to visit this hotel from a good friend and I am glad I listen to him, this place is truly magnificent. I cannot recommended this hotel enough and we have already booked our trip for 2014 already.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IanE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing