We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solidly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Solidly good”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night break with 4 adults and 3 dogs...! It's the first time the mutts have come on holiday and the apprehension felt by us humans was high as to how the dogs would behave! However the staff could not have been nicer to us or the dogs. They were really great and can't speak highly enough of them, very understanding and it's meant the break was much better than anticipated. Although some of the main areas are a bit shabby chic...(renovations in the pipeline) it's a lovely hotel to relax in.....so much so we're already trying to book for later in the year! Oh and the food whether sandwiches or dinner was fantastic...!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    90
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
238
506
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just arrived home from the perfect few days away.

We took our two little dogs to Cragwood and the staff could not have been more helpful and understanding. The rooms are clean, comfortable and fully equipped for relaxing.
The log fires and beautiful scenery are just the cherry on top.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. We asked to eat our breakfast with our dogs in the lounge area as our dogs were not too found of being left in the room and this was no problem.

We would highly recommend a stay here and we will most certainly be back!!

Well done Cragwood. It was a pleasure to stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to Cragwood for the best and worst of reasons. We had originally booked for my Mum's 60th birthday present. She died the day she was due at Cragwood. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or considerate when we rang. Every option from cancelling with full refund (with no notice) to changing the booking was offered. We chose to change the booking and my husband and I had our 15th anniversary with them six months later.

The staff were great from start to finish. They made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment they showed us our rooms. Open roaring fires and small intimate rooms are their forte, and we made full use of them. Spending most of our time in our socks.

The four course meal we had with them was sumptuous and breakfast made to order.

Overall, I would say Cragwood was my favourite hotel to stay in, which is why we have booked my birthday there as well. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamarafrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a 1 night trip away between Xmas and new year with our daughter and puppy. We ended up staying 3 nights and if it hadn't been New Year's Eve and we had run out of clothes we would have stayed longer.
Excellent hotel, excellent service, beautiful rooms and the friendliest staff.
We all had such a perfect time
Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

You have to go there to experience a true lake district experience, this hotel is truly 1 in a million. The service, the food, the rooms, the views, the restaurant, in fact anything you want is not any problem at all. I was recommended to visit this hotel from a good friend and I am glad I listen to him, this place is truly magnificent. I cannot recommended this hotel enough and we have already booked our trip for 2014 already.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IanE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

To the wonderful staff at Cragwood especially Philip, Leslie, Amaryella and Nicolletta,

Christmas greetings from India!!

We still remember our lovely summer holiday with you all at Cragwood in May this year. It was our first trip to England and we took back with us the warmth of the British people and the flavours of English food at its best. We would love to come back and stay there again.

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and it fulfilled everything we had read about in tripadvisor and more. We arrived at Cragwood after a tiring train journey. The staff were so kind in helping us settle down with our three boys. Philip even managed to get us two rooms with amazing views of the lake even though it was their busy season. The rooms were elegant and comfortable and the food was exceptional as well.

So, thanks for a great holiday and here's wishing you all the very best for 2014.

With warm regards,

The Thomases.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a lake view - its spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Thomases2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights from the 15th to the 19th December as part of a Christmas break. To begin with the room was to die for with views across the lake and away to the Langdales. The service of all staff was impeccable and we always felt as part of a family rather than in a stuffy typical hotel environment. Nothing was too much trouble and all add hoc requests made by us for sandwiches, milk for tea, ice etc were satisfied with pleasant efficiency.
Breakfasts are exceptional with a cold table covering everything you could wish for and an extensive cooked menu for your personal choice. Tea/Coffee and toast are speedily despatched and food orders taken in a timely way. The food is perfectly cooked by the chefs and served on warm plates.
We had one dinner during our stay as part of the package, the food and wine were excellent and service was executed professionally.
As for the location, in between Ambleside and Windermere and on the banks of the lake, it is perfect if you want to stay at the hotel, but equally suitable for the short trip to either of the two main towns.
I have no doubts that we will return, of that I can be sure!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing