We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Office party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Office party”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night, reception one of the warmest greetings ever, staff went out of their way to be helpful. Room comfortable and food excellent. The party I was with go every year and the party in the room next door also go on the same night each year. Everyone loved it. Check out was also a pleasant experience, will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salkeldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
221
498
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

To mark 3 generations of birthdays, 24 of us recently celebrated an 80th, 50th and 24th at Cragwood. We were given the old hall exclusively for our 3 devine dinners and yummy breakfasts.... And enjoyed an awesome Cragwood afternoon tea (in our opinion - only possible after a long scenic walk!!)

Each and every one of us, from the youngest (a 4 month old cockapoo) to the eldest (happy 80th dad!) were thoroughly well looked after, with lovely rooms (we had a really good selection to choose from and were not disappointed!) a welcoming seat with selection of papers to browse by the crackling fire and family entertainment - yes, good old Cragwood even laid on an all-age appropriate quiz for the whole family to enjoy.

Well done to all, from the fabulous front of house team, including
Cheeky Andrew, smiley Richard, fabulous Philip and Louise and highly organised Lesley to the housekeeping team (rooms were spotless as usual). Awesome kitchen team - food was FAB! Even Patrick, the trusted head gardener, made us feel welcome. What a great team you all are!

Hope to mark other big birthdays in Cragwood style in the years ahead.

Can't wait to spend another magical Christmas with you xx

If you are looking to have any sort of celebration, you won't find a better place in my opinion.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed for 1 night on business and had dinner and breakfast. The room was clean, the bed comfy, the staff were thoughtful and the food was REALLY good. Thank you to the all the staff for making my stay such a good one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Cragwood. Upon arriving we were greeted by a very jolly man who showed us up to our room. Room 18, a very generously sized room (unfortunately not a lake view) but nonetheless, a lovely homely feel to the room and the bed was to die for.... So comfy! There was a wedding on when we stayed, which meant on our first night we could only access on side of the house, but this was fine as there was a lovely comfy lounge with open fire where we enjoyed a few G&Ts and a bottle of prosecco! Dinne in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic! The menu is decided on a day by day basis and I would put it up there with the best Michelin stars there are! Make sure you definitely experience the dining at Cragwood and also the fantastic breakfast! Right on the lake, a trip on the boat up to Ambleside is well worth a visit. Ambleside is a gorgeous little chocolate box town with lovely pubs, cafés and quant little shops. We had the added bonus of the Christmas lights being on which made it even more picturesque. Andrew at the hotel was especially lovely and made us feel very at home telling us about the history of the house and keeping us topped up with drinks as we chatted by the open fire. Totally recommended, a real home from home experience with luxuries.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked one night at Cragwood Country House Hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and it was a lovely experience from the moment we got there. There was so much attention to detail, the staff were delightful, knowledgeable and helpful and the location was fantastic. The decor of the room we stayed in was nothing special but it was spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed. We had the four course dinner which was delicious - we definitely recommend it!
All in all a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyFeet556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0ndon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

From our original enquiry and booking to our departure the experience was exceptionally good.
What makes it special?
The staff are well trained and are always courteous, helpful and engaging.
The standards of hospitality overall are very good and the comfort of the accommodation is outstanding.
The food is offered from a varied menu, well cooked and presented and dining throughout our stay was always an enjoyable experience even though the furniture and fittings in the dining room , in our opinion, did not match up to the style and standard of the rest of the house.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable but we consider that if you wish to have a lakeland experience you should book a lake view.
The grounds are extensive for a private house/hotel on the lake, there is sufficient parking on site and as it is almost equidistant between Ambleside and Windermere the location is ideal for any kind of activity, there is a local bus stop at the end of the drive and the ferry stops next door at the National Park Centre at Brockhole.
What makes it really special is the relaxed atmoshere, comfortable public areas with daily papers and log fires but not always lit in each room which was a pity and wonderful, wonderful views across the lake from the two lounges at the back of the house.
So do go and try it yourself, we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Pay more if necessary for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful 4 night stay at Cragwood in mid-October (apologies for the late post) together with Harry our black Lab! Our rooms (109 & 105) were excellent, they were spacious and room 105 had lovely dual aspect views over the gardens and lake Windermere. We enjoyed all aspects of the hotel: the food (great breakfasts and lovely dinners), the public rooms (what views!), the location and grounds and the friendly and helpful staff – from the front desk, through the waiting and bar team to the cleaning staff – the whole team helped to make our stay so pleasant – thanks everyone.
The hotel is also very well placed for getting out and about, with a passenger ferry stop literally next door and only a short drive from the Windermere car ferry, but also relatively close to the “top” of the lake and routes to other parts of the Lake District.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we get the chance to come back up to the lakes we will definitely return to Cragwood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SandHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing