We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent short break in a superb 'good value' hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have returned for a third time in 3 years and it has not disappointed in any way. Of course we have booked again! A superb location conveniently located overlooking Lake Windermere and close to the local towns and amenities. However we were doing some hill walking and had a most wonderful time. I cannot fault anything. The country house hotel atmosphere, the friendliness, helpfulness and entertaining staff, the relaxed lounge areas and bar and the lovely bedrooms mostly with lake views, but the restaurant was exceptional and truly outstanding. No need to look elsewhere to eat as every meal had plenty of choice with a different menu each night. The 3 night stay was excellent value!

Room Tip: Just call and talk to the staff and try to get a lake view. No extra cost but you'll have to bo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The food and service were excellent and the views beautiful. Called in on my motorbike on the off chance of getting a room and was offered a good deal by very friendly staff. Given a room with a fantastic view over the lake

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we all had at the Cragwood, to celebrate my wife's birthday. The five rooms booked for various family members were all adjacent in the older part of the hotel, and the lounge areas (with open fire!), bar and dining room were just down a set of wide wooden stairs. The staff were without exception attentive and friendly, and the food was excellent. Our two young grandchildren were made to feel thoroughly at home, and were very sad to leave. The location of the hotel is stunning, with marvellous views over Lake Windermere. I could find no fault. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 3, 4 and 5 were certainly good, especially the first-mentioned
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miket345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here after the Easter weekend and it was magnificent. We booked the package with dinner and breakfast and were treated to very comfortable accommodation and some truely fantastic food. Service was attentive without being overbearing. The food was of a very high quality, menu selection covered all tastes and the wine list was very comprehensive. A special metion to Nikoleta who assisted with food and wine selection. Our bedroom views over the Lake were breathtaking and a delight to wake up to. A small negative was on our second night, it was difficult to get a drink before dinner but once staff were located, all was good. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet break in beautiful surrounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and book the all inclusive room, dinner and breakfast
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themacsofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I agree with previous comments - this is a very nice place to stay. Two adults, one child in a comfortable good sized room. Comfortable king sized bed - although check as i think rooms are different. Dog very welcome, good lounge and fire. Staff very friendly, beautiful location and quiet. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispin-thunderaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A hidden gem. Ideal location . Made to feel very welcome on arrival and staff without exception were polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and hotel's lounge areas were cosy with blazing log fires. Our dog was welcomed and was allowed everywhere except the dining room. Thoroughly recommended and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are being upgraded. A lake view room is suggested.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandALeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had a short break at Cragwood last summer and enjoyed it so much we chose to bring the family for Easter Weekend. Cragwood is an old country house hotel where you can relax and unwind and enjoy the views across Lake Windermere. We enjoyed spending our time in the old part of the hotel with views towards the lake. Some of our party had rooms away from the lakeside but were very happy with them as they were very comfortable. The furnishing in the hotel rooms varies from modern to an eclectic mix of old painted furniture in the older rooms but we feel that this adds to the charm. We loved the fact that every room is unique and does not resemble part of a large franchised hotel chain.
The staff make you feel as welcome you as if you were part of a large family. Service is efficient, warm and friendly and attention to detail means that they take time to remember your individual preferences. We enjoyed the banter with the front of house staff and especially with our fellow Scot, Andrew. The food is delicious with a good selection for breakfast and an exciting dinner menu. The dinner menu is real fine dining. On each of the 3 nights we had dinner we were absolutely spoilt for choice and with everyone in our party able to find something that suited them. For breakfast on Easter Sunday morning the chef had made hand made chocolate eggs which contained some of the Cragwood hand made chocolates...a lovely touch...especially for the big kids in our party.
House keeping are the unsung heroes, who keep the hotel spotless. They clean your room while you have breakfast and are seldom seen!
This is a dog friendly hotel and our dog loves being able to come on holiday with us. There are plenty of walks around the hotel in the 20 acres of grounds.Enough walking to tire our energetic dog. Our dog is crazy enough to enjoy swimming from the pier at the boat house and we enjoy the walk and watching the boats on the lake. The only area where dogs are not allowed is the dining room but that suits us, as our dog is happy to sleep in the car while we have dinner. If you prefer to have your dog with you then you could have dinner in the bar.
The location of the hotel means that there is plenty to so and do nearby and we chose to venture out after breakfast and return in the late afternoon.Nothing better than relaxing in comfortable arm chairs, with a view of Windermere, in front of a roaring log fire on a cold afternoon!
We had 3 generations in our party and there was something for everyone. We'd all love to return. Many families seem to return regularly but we have some way to go until we can match the family that have returned to the hotel every Easter for the last 25 years. If this is the start of our new tradition...I'll raise a glass to that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcF_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $154 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing