We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cragwood ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cragwood ...”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We always have a fantastic time at Cragwood, we have visited many times having married there nine years ago. This time was a little different as we were as a family, 2 + 1. Our daughter loved it, showing her around, asking "where did mummy and daddy dance on their marry day".
Having booked quite late, staff still accommodated us. Although there was some decorating going on close to our room, they were considerate in starting a little later and apologized for any inconvenience caused, but there wasn't any! We all loved it, excellent service, excellent food....will return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Book early for lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 177Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
221
498
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just completed a 3 night break on a room, breakfast and dinner rate. The food was superb and the overall service was excellent. The hotel is very clean and the room 4 we chose had the best view in the hotel with 180 degrees view of lake Windermere. The bathroom was very small but we were advised before we accepted the room but the size of the room and views more than compensated for the size of the bathroom.
The service and attention to detail are particularly noteworthy; all the staff were very welcoming, engaging and friendly. The hotel is situated on the eastern bank of the lake with spectacular mountain amd lake scenery all around. It comprises of an old building (1910) and a more modern extension with more modern bedrooms. We chose the older part which had considerable character and charm and glorious log fires in which to relax and take in the ambience.
I would have liked to see a larger tv in the room but other than that minor point, it was a most enjoyable stay in a hotel which has some fine chefs who routinely prepare some delicious food; beautifully presented and full of flavour and flair. For visitors who enjoy fine food this is a hotel to be seriously considered as every meal and course was of a very high standard and always beautifully served by a team of staff who have been well trained in the art of customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4 and 5 appear to have the best views of the lake and mountains but the bathrooms are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An excellent location, well appointed, but most importantly friendly helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. First class facilities and a very warm welcome made this a very enjoyable experience. Restaurant facilities are excellent and room was spacious, well appointed, clean and quiet. There is a variety of lounges and ample parking etc making for a very comfortable stay. the location is stunning and very private yet at the heart of the Lake District. We would have no hesitation in staying here again, and recommending this hotel to others. Thank you to all of the staff for making a lovely venue into a really good place to be.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms and all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night during half term with our two children. Stunning location, outstanding food and staff who really care about making your stay special.

Dinner is a real treat and we struggled to decide on what to choose from the menu. A good selection of wines was available to compliment the food.

Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed, super comfy beds.

The breakfast was superb, a great selection, accompanied by freshly squeezed orange juice which is an unusual occurrence on most hotels nowadays.

A very relaxing night, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiMac365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stunning setting, views of the lake and grounds are excellent and relaxing. Beautiful building - we stayed in room 17 which had a side view of the grounds and partial lake view with comfortable window seat. We enjoyed a huge queen size bed and a room that was a good size. The bathroom was excellent with delightful underfloor heating - but most importantly spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was delicious, filling and you couldnt ask for more. The evening meal 5/6 courses was an exceptional treat - esp the oven baked Guinea Fowl and Sticky Toffee Pudding. The log fires and ample lounges were inviting and relaxing. All staff were friendly courteous and welcoming. Our only issue was sometimes the room was a little cold. The house coffee was superb - would have liked to have had some real ale at the bar - which was a bit pricey. Thank you for a well needed break - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night ( 22nd feb 2013) in room no 4. Firstly, good carpark large enough so you can park and not get trapped in by other guests which I have found at other hotels in the lakes. Staff welcomed with smiles and very polite & helpful, showed you around hotel, where breakfast is served, the bar area etc
We only stayed B&B as arrrived late evening so cannot comment on the evening meal as such however my partner only ordered a bar snack which was ample size with home cooked chips which was a winner in his eyes.
The bar staff were second to none, well presented, well mannered and friendly remaining professional at all times.
The breakfast ( we went for full english of course) very nice, no grease swimming around your plate, unlimited rolls, cereals fruit and juices more importantly your not rushed to free up your table for other guests, its a nice steaded pace with newspapers to read by the open log fires etc.
The room we stayed in was a double, the bed was huge, the decor I liked but it might not be to everyones taste. The views from the window are amazing, lake windermere and snow top fells what more can you ask for? The tv is small but not a problem for us as too much to do than watch tv on a break. The room is ensuite, on the small side but adequate enough for us, most importantly the room is very clean and well presented.

I have rated the hotel as very good, the only thing which we would have change if we could were a particular group of guests, who obviously were regulars to the hotel. My partner and I sat in a lounge area near the open fire ( enough distance away as well as other guests in the lounge) for all to benefit from such, however a particular regular group of guests after their meal rudely moved 4 chairs directly infront of the fire blocking the benefit of heat for everyone else in the lounge area, they showed no consideration to other guests, we retired to bed at this point as continuing to share a lounge area with such folk would have ruined our stay, these are the same guests who at breakfast walked past the pre set ready tables to sit on an used empty table wanting a "window seat" you know the type.
I would definately stay at the hotel again and recommend it for its staff and cleanliness, lets hope next time these guests show others a little more consideration if by chance they read this review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicken181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This lovely hotel feels like two hotels joined by a service corridor. I repeatedly wished that I didn't have to squeeze past spare tables and upturned chairs and go past all the staff cookng and clearing and working to get from one side to another.

Having said that it's a delight. A real gem where you can wander around to your hearts content and enjoy the grounds, the games, the settees an log fires and the smiley, helpful staff.

Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing