We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Cragwood with the family!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Cragwood with the family!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yet another fantasic stay at Cragwood. We came up for a christmas party at Cragwood and it was fantasic. We arrived early on Saturday but were still made welcome as we sat in the lounge until our rooms were ready. We went on a Santa special boat cruise that was mentioned to us my a member of staff, which was especailly good for my 2 year old son.
Come the evening the food was amazing, could not find any complaints. The tables were laid out in Christmas party style, with Santa Hats for everyone, party poppers, streamers etc. The evening disco was great, which my son loved dancing away too. Our bedroom was in the new side of the hotel, well away from the disco, so I was able to go to bed earlier, without my son being disturbed by the music.
Breakfast the next morning, was just as good as dinner, with our table already set up including a highchair.
Overall great experience again, all the staff were fantastic over the weekend, we can't thank them enough. Can't wait to return there next year, for another great stay!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmylouBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    90
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
230
503
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to go with family and friends for a weekend away before christmas.
we chose the Cragwood as they did christmas parties.
We arrived earlier than planned but that was not an issue to the staff, they welcomed us and made the place a pleasure to be at.
After the afternoon on Lake Windermere we were ready to enjoy the festivities.
The evening food was very good. the service excellent and the entertainment was also good dancing until the ealy hour of Sunday morning.
There were three separate groups but we were allowed to mix as well as keep to ourselves.
The breakroon was laid out in our separate parties but as we were the largest group who styaed over our table was laid for 14 great.
The rooms were very good and although the disco continued after I ahd done to bed there was no noise to disturb us.
I would certainly go back again for a party night and might even consider New Year in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We've just finished our third consecutive Christmas break at the Cragwood and it was a really lovely experience. The food was excellent, the staff superb, and the accomodation very clean and comfortable. We had a fantastic times and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I spent two nights at Cragwood Country House Hotel largely due to the glowing Trip Advisor rating and reviews. Sometimes this type of accommodation can garner a cult that causes a snowball effect and leads to an overrated hotel. Although I have given CCHH a thumb up rating I do think it is worth saying that even though it is a nice hotel at a fair price (we paid £60 B&B pppn) and is wonderfully located please beware and do not think you’re getting exceptional value or bargain priced luxury.

We stayed (2 adults and 2 kids in 2 rooms) in late autumn when the hotel was very quiet, which certainly made the experience a good one because i would imagine the three common rooms feeling a little “tight” if the hotel was full. However if you're the gregarious type then this would certainly add to your experience. The older (lake facing) part of the hotel has a fabulous charm about it with its wood panelling, open fireplaces and the limestone framed windows looking out onto Lake Windermere. This gets the big tick, together with the serene gardens in front of the hotel. We woke up to a morning as crisp as a freshly cut radish and the beauty of the hotel’s setting was truly life affirming, unfortunately the hotel cannot guarantee the weather so a cloudless sky one morning was replaced with grey drizzle the next morning. For locations like this, the weather has a significant impact on your travel experience and we saw the glorious, and the bleak. I wish you good luck if you decide to go.

The hotel’s rooms are varied, some offering fabulous views of the lake. They are clean and comfortable but are never in danger of being called luxury. However, the linen and towels were excellent - lovely big thick plush towels. The biggest criticism of the hotel I can make is the size of the bathrooms, which in some cases are very small. They were clean and usable, but don't envisage yourself taking a long relaxing bath after a good day’s walking, this was never going to be a reality, not in the two rooms we stayed in anyway. The showers were good though.

The breakfast was included and was standard; no novel surprises nothing extraordinary. We didn't eat dinner here principally because it is a fixed price three course dinner without an a la carte option. We did have bar food on our first night which was....standard, again there was nothing of note to say, it was hot and edible. We ordered hot chocolates for the kids on a dark wintry evening thinking of froth and marshmallows, but we got a cup of boiling hot water with a spoonful of chocolate powder thrown in. I may be over critical but this illustrates the hotel’s official three star rating: the little things are done without zest or imagination, which are (or should be) in five star accommodation.

Do stay for: the sublime location, the wood panelling, fireplaces, gardens.

Don't stay if you love: taking long baths, hot chocolate, large bustling reception rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 6 are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob T, Trip Advisor Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Tomstah,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Secondly I would like to point out that we do not advertise our selves as a luxury hotel. We are star rated by Visit England, who has given us 3 stars, so I find it hard to compare us to a 5 star hotel. Also I find it very hard to believe that you can blame the hotel for the poor weather, which hit not just the Lake District but also the whole of the UK!!

The way the hotel is set out we have communal lounges all over the hotel 6 in total; so on busy evenings guests can spread out across the entire hotel.

Regarding dinner, we do offer an evening menu, which is a 4-course choice menu, at a set price of £35 per person. This includes canapés to start with, coffee and homemade chocolates to finish.

We are very flexible at Cragwood, so if you had mentioned to a member of staff if you would like to eat just one of the courses, this could have been arranged.

Thanks once again for you review.

Kind Regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are planning a stay in the Lake District look no further than The Cragwood!!! This hotel is an absolute gem of a place. We have been holding our annual christmas party here for the past 5 years and do not even consider looking at other places. It is set in gorgeous grounds, set back from the main road, it is so peaceful you could be miles away from civilisation, not 5 minutes down a country lane. It has fantastic views over Windermere Lake and the fells. The Hotel itself is beautiful, its like a large country house with log fires burning brightly in all the lounges. The bedrooms are spacious with massive beds, immaculatly clean, the bathrooms are done out lovely with all the soaps etc provided for. I dont know how they get their towels so fluffy!! The standard of the food is excellent, breakfast's are cooked to order, not pre cooked in buffet style going cold, with everything you could wish for, croissants, fruit, yogurts, fruit juice, as much tea, coffee & toast as you want, you will not need to eat for the rest of the day!!! But for the me what makes this hotel more special than all the others I have stayed in all around the world is the STAFF!!!! The service you receive from them is second to none, attentive, polite, charming, funny and most of all, welcoming. They cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble for them. There is a downside to staying here i'm afraid to say, so please be warned-
YOU WILL NOT WANT TO LEAVE!!!! Don't take my word for it, go and stay there, you wont regret it. Thank you so much to Phillip and all the staff for another absolutely tremendous night at The Cragwood. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl186326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at Cragwood during a very wet November. Service was outstanding in spite of our late arrival. Staff were very helpful and particularly accommodating for our two Labradors. Room was very spacious and comfortable and both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Will definitely stay again and can recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Following our last trip to Cragwood, nearly two years ago, we decided to pay another visit with some good friends for a "Chill out" weekend.
Yet again, we were blown away with the location, the friendliness of all the staff, the food, and in fact, the whole ambience. WIth all four of our party having very hectic work lives, Cragwood is a wonderful hotel to simply do what ever you want, however you want and when ever you want. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. Thank you Phil and staff for another fabulous "Chill out" weekend. Dont change nothing!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing