We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
We had a lovely lake view room, which was large and very nice.. Great shower, loads of hot water.
We did not eat in the Restaurant this time, but breakfast was excellent, really hot plates too !

I recomend !

Room Tip: For a relaxing couple of days and to explore the lakes, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thegreatglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you TheGreatGlen for your review.
Yes you were in the room with the only Lake View, only made possible when trees were felled across the road from us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 659 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent Saturday night here. Having spent the previous night in a far more expensive establishment! The food and the service were excellent and they couldn't have been more helpful and courteous.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner, we had 2 courses and coffee for £30. The standard was amazing. The field mushroom soup had a depth of taste that was incomparable. I then had Pan fried salmon fillet in a chowder with saffron and Morecambe Bay shrimps which again was world class!.
Breakfast was lovely too, everything you would expect in a world class establishment with many more stars!
Well done!

Room Tip: If you're on the first floor, try and avoid a room near the rather noisy air conditioning system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFStBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hello TFStBees
Thank you for your review & your lovely comments about the food.
We try & source food locally, a lot of thought goes into the menu and the chefs take pride in the food they serve.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

tranquil grounds, beautifully maintained buidling, friendly efficient staff. I had a single room...which had a double bed and certainly enough room for two. the shower was powerful with hot water at all times, the bath was only half size so not for a soak. beautifully decorated room with all the facilities: hairdryer, tv, hot chocolate which is a bonus for a non tea/coffee drinker. the breakfasts were excellent and the cooked food served on a red hot plate...perfect. plenty of parking available.
the bar was expensive but handy as a meeting place as we were a very large group. minibus for 8 into Bowness just £2 each including tip. solo taxi back £10. we didnt have any evening meals whilst staying so cant comment. the only downside for me was the firmness of the bed and pillows which a few of our group commented on, but thats personal choice and others may love the beds. thats the only reason I've not given the overall an excellent as I didnt sleep too well even after lots of fresh air and alcohol. when using the sat nav code suggested the hotel is actually on the oposite side of the road, confusing in the dark so watch for the sign.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieK106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hello AnnieK106,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry about the bed but they are a standard Hotel mattress and yours was a new one, see review below.
The bar is more expensive to what you may be used to but we like to think we are competitive with other local hotels.
We look forward to seeing you & your group again.
Thank You.
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Comfortable, clean and warm. We sat in the lounge while writing a boring report that needed to be done, for Australians who had just left a hot summer, it was warm, friendly and delightfully furnished. Really good carparking (important for our profession - guess what this is!!!!), and the walk to Ambleside was a pleasure alongside the lake. The biccies were great and the bedrooms were comfortable and roomy, with spacious ensuite, fluffy towels. A perfect British experience.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bear93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

hello Bear93,
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed it & found it relaxing.
Glad the car parking was a help, we love riddles, No what is it you do?
Thank you again & hope to see you next time your passing.
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ended up staying here at late notice on a snow bound night and the staff were very helpful when we arrived. The room and ensuite were immaculate and had everything we needed. We had a really tasty and well presented dinner where the kitchen catered well for my coeliac needs without the usual warning and breakfast was the best we've had anywhere. Really tasty, good quality produce, freshly cooked and prepared and good and hot. Our only let down I'm sad to report was that the bed in our lovely room was broken! There was a severe gap/lump/broken springs across the width of the bed so bad nights sleep - definite new mattress needed I'm afraid - room 9! Overall though we would definitely stay again, although look for offers as a little pricey at std rates.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello Jane G.
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments on the food & service.
Yes you were right the mattress was certainly broken.
We have replaced it straight away as soon as we read this review.
Not sure what the last guests who used the room were doing.
We would have given you another room had you asked & would have certainly apologised had you told us at checkout.

Thank you
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My sister and l stayed here for D,B and B, the food was lovely and l was served a very nice vegetarian souffle as l requested no goats cheese, pasta or rice. The garden rooms were lovely as were the staff. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole3Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello carole3go,
Thank you for your review on the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank You
Roger Benson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at Briery Wood and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location and although not far above the main Windermere to Ambleside road it did not suffer from traffic noise even though we had rooms at the front of the building.
We were allocated rooms 12 and 14 on the frist floor, which were extremely spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Good size bathrooms, particularly in No 12, with lovely fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. They had king size beds, ample wardrobe and draw space, TVs and comfy armchairs to relax in, tea and coffee making facilites (including biscuits) and a hairdryer.
We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and I have to say that the food is outstanding. 10/10 for the chef !!! There was the usual breakfast choices of fruit jucies, fresh fruit, cereals and cold ham and cheese but the cooked breakfast was excellant. The evening meal had four choices for each course including a vegetarian dish. There were 3 courses with the addition of coffee and the chefs chocolates at the end. No matter what our choices all the food was excellant !!! Our compliments to the Chef !!
All the staff were exceptional and couldnt do enough to help you. They were all very polite, friendly and attentive.
My only disappointment, and the reason I havent given this hotel a 5* rating was because of the lounge, bar and dining room areas. They are sadly lacking any ambience or cozy comfort. The chairs, although plentiful, were quite grubby and needed recovering. There were hardly any pictures on the walls, The fireplaces were bear and there were no lamps giving a relaxed and subdued atmosphere which would have made a huge difference. We did appreciate that the Christmas decorations had only just been taken down and perhaps they were in the process of restoring the rooms to a more comfortable appearance but the furniture was poor and the rooms were stark. (A bit like an old waiting room at the doctors) Oops sorry Briery Wood....
If they invested some really comfy chairs and settees, big table lamps, rugs in front of the fireplaces and a few ornaments, it could be lovely. You should have gone to the January sales and picked up some bargins !!
Other than our one "observation" about the public rooms, as I would not call it a complaint, I would like to thank the manager and all his staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms 12 and 14 are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello Allnat,
Thank you for your comments on the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will return.
We have just bought some new furniture and we do have a long term refurbishment plan.
Thank you
Roger Benson.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $89 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing