We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great stay!”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ravensworth
Ranked #21 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Ravensworth for a night as a Valentines treat. The room, hotel and location fitted the bill perfectly. We were warmly received and the service at breakfast was very good and the food excellent. I would say this is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are touched that you feel so strongly about us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Ravensworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just enjoyed a long weekend staying in the king room, small room, but with all we wanted, tea coffee, robes bath and shower . Cedar manor just down the road for a romantic meal. Breakfast freshly cooked
No complaints from either of us

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoitunashamedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend away with us, it's a shame you thought the room was a bit small but we are glad that this didn't detract from your stay. I will pass on your comments to Cedar Manor, I'm sure they will be delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in February, there is often a minimum 2 night stay at weekends but as our kids had bought us this as a Christmas present, the owners kindly agreed to a one night stay as long as it was before Easter.

They couldn't have been more welcoming, Nick gave us a quick tour of all the facilities and showed us to our lovely room. There were dual aspect windows, a very comfy bed and nice toiletries in the bathroom.

The breakfast was excellent, and taken in the conservatory where it was intimate enough to say good morning to your fellow guests without feeling as though you were sharing their conversations!

I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay (probably made even better knowing that it had been paid for as a Christmas present). We take a lot of pride in our guesthouse and it is great to hear that guests enjoy it when they are here. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my partner arrived at the Ravensworth to be greeted by Nick the owner (oh yeah and Thomas his son). Great hospitality for the two nights and great breakfasts on both mornings as well as lovely rooms and very comfortable. Thank you to all staff for making this a great two nights x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed your weekend. We have a lot of guests commenting on our breakfasts, and we are delighted that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just stayed here last weekend & it was lovely .. Room was perfect .. Nick & Cheryl were excellent hosts & extremely friendly .. Nick made our breakfasts the 2 mornings & it was fab .. Only a 5 minute taxi ride into Bowness on the night time & literally 2 minute walk to the train station.. would definately stay here again ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Tracy, thanks for your review. As you know, reviews are a fantastic way for future guests to see what B&B s are really like and we appreciate you taking the time to write yours. We are delighted that you both had a great weekend with us and we hope to see you again soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed in 5* hotels across the world and this was on a par. From the second we landed at The Ravensworth to the second we left we have never felt so welcomed. We were met by Nick who made us a warm drink, which was greatly received after the long drive up.

We stayed in Room 2 which was a King Size and was so comfortable and decorated to a high standard as was the rest of the house. The location was ideally situated for a walk into Windermere and only a mile from Bowness if you wanted to explore a bit further.

For breakfast I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon whilst my partner had the Cumbrian breakfast which Nick suitably adapted to my partners taste. All food was sourced locally and bought fresh.

Many thanks for a fantastic stay, and to Nick for being a fantastic host, can't wait to book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacejo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Stacejo, thank you so much for your comments. We have worked really hard on making sure we get everything right for our guests and we really appreciate it when we are told that we have done. We are very proud of our breakfasts and have taken a lot of time sourcing the right products. We recently finished our full refurbishment of the bedrooms so again we are delighted that you liked what we have done. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Ravensworth over the New Year period for 3 nights. On arrival we were greeted by Nick the hotel owner, who was more than welcoming during the introduction and throughout the rest of our stay. Our room was more than perfect and could not fault one thing. Overall we had no complaints or any bad words to say about our stay. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_L_1818181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us at New Year. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Best regards, Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $112 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing