We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast in the conservatory”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #16 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in the conservatory”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in February, there is often a minimum 2 night stay at weekends but as our kids had bought us this as a Christmas present, the owners kindly agreed to a one night stay as long as it was before Easter.

They couldn't have been more welcoming, Nick gave us a quick tour of all the facilities and showed us to our lovely room. There were dual aspect windows, a very comfy bed and nice toiletries in the bathroom.

The breakfast was excellent, and taken in the conservatory where it was intimate enough to say good morning to your fellow guests without feeling as though you were sharing their conversations!

I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay (probably made even better knowing that it had been paid for as a Christmas present). We take a lot of pride in our guesthouse and it is great to hear that guests enjoy it when they are here. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    91
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
286
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my partner arrived at the Ravensworth to be greeted by Nick the owner (oh yeah and Thomas his son). Great hospitality for the two nights and great breakfasts on both mornings as well as lovely rooms and very comfortable. Thank you to all staff for making this a great two nights x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and that you enjoyed your weekend. We have a lot of guests commenting on our breakfasts, and we are delighted that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just stayed here last weekend & it was lovely .. Room was perfect .. Nick & Cheryl were excellent hosts & extremely friendly .. Nick made our breakfasts the 2 mornings & it was fab .. Only a 5 minute taxi ride into Bowness on the night time & literally 2 minute walk to the train station.. would definately stay here again ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Tracy, thanks for your review. As you know, reviews are a fantastic way for future guests to see what B&B s are really like and we appreciate you taking the time to write yours. We are delighted that you both had a great weekend with us and we hope to see you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed in 5* hotels across the world and this was on a par. From the second we landed at The Ravensworth to the second we left we have never felt so welcomed. We were met by Nick who made us a warm drink, which was greatly received after the long drive up.

We stayed in Room 2 which was a King Size and was so comfortable and decorated to a high standard as was the rest of the house. The location was ideally situated for a walk into Windermere and only a mile from Bowness if you wanted to explore a bit further.

For breakfast I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon whilst my partner had the Cumbrian breakfast which Nick suitably adapted to my partners taste. All food was sourced locally and bought fresh.

Many thanks for a fantastic stay, and to Nick for being a fantastic host, can't wait to book here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacejo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Stacejo, thank you so much for your comments. We have worked really hard on making sure we get everything right for our guests and we really appreciate it when we are told that we have done. We are very proud of our breakfasts and have taken a lot of time sourcing the right products. We recently finished our full refurbishment of the bedrooms so again we are delighted that you liked what we have done. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Ravensworth over the New Year period for 3 nights. On arrival we were greeted by Nick the hotel owner, who was more than welcoming during the introduction and throughout the rest of our stay. Our room was more than perfect and could not fault one thing. Overall we had no complaints or any bad words to say about our stay. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_L_1818181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us at New Year. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Best regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little b&b in a good location. right next to windermere centre. staff very friendly and helpful. rooms extremely clean and tidy. nice breakfast. Well worth a stay if you're in the area . Free passes to a local spa in bowness which is nice. cannot fault the place. definatley recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxsprat 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are also glad that you took up the option of visiting the local health spa of which we are members. A lot of our guests use this facility after a busy day on the hills or in the shops. We look forward to seeing you back here soon, best regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were very welcomed from Nick and Cheryl from the first minute of our arrival ! They made us feel like being invited in their own home!! such a Warm atmosphere and a perfect room. We were treated so politely and the owners made and served the breakfast by themselves to all the guests providing top quality services every minute. The hotel is in an excellent position very close to the town centre and with very easy access to the lake. Parking available , really free wifi and a spacious lounge plenty of books, dvd and games.

Dear Nick and Cheryl, we thank you so much for your hospitality,

Eirini and Ioannis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkpapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We have put a lot of work and time into our guesthouse and we appreciate you taking the time to put yours views forward. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best regards, Nick & Cheryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing