We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #16 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just stayed for five nights in one of the four poster rooms. Everything about the place is first class. The hosts are very friendly, offering to carry our bags for us. They were very helpful without being at all pushy. Food was of a very good standard with plenty to choose from, albeit severed a little early but we are just lazy! Will certainly be returning. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pughy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and comments about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with our guesthouse, even to the point of extending your stay with us. We like to make the impression that we are available for any assistance during a guest's visit but we don't like to encroach too much. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    91
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
286
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband and I to spend his 50th Birthday. We spent 2 nights there and it wasnt long enough. We were met by Nick who was very friendly. Cheryl provided the spa passes and was also very friendly. The hotel was very well positioned for our needs, it was clean and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. For a fussy person, I couldnt fault it. We would certainly return again. Thank you so much x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed not only your stay with us, but also the fantastic area that is The Lake District. It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a lovely family run hotel, the owners and staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful, we would definitely return. A lot of thought has gone into the running of this hotel and there were lots of little extra touches which made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety to choose from.

Good location for breath taking mountain walks or strolls around quaint towns, we even managed to find some nightlife in this idyllic part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Naomi, Thank you so much for your comments, I hope the heads have cleared a bit after your night out on the Bowness tiles. We really appreciate you taking the time to make your review, future guests will hopefully have as enjoyable stay with us as you did. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Many Thanks, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts were fabulous, couldn't do enough. We had room number 1 and found the bed to be super comfy. The view from the room was lovely. Breakfast was much more than expected. Thanks to Nick and Cheryl.

More info about the area, cruise on the lake well recommended, Grasmere short drive away is well worth a visit for afternoon tea - the little cafe near the church was perfect.

Dinner was had at Lazy Daisies - absolutely spot on - large choice, wholesome food and not expensive. Stop for a drink on the way back at the Grey Walls pub. Both within 5 minute walk from Ravensworth. Lovely stop for a night or two or more if you have the time. One of the best stops we have had - highlight of our trip. Cheers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Kiwioz, Thank you so much for your comments and it was a pleasure having you here for your stay (but next time please don't mention the rugby as much, we know we were poor in the World Cup and you guys won it). We also appreciate your comments about your restaurant choice for dinner, our guide in the bedrooms is very well appreciated by guests and we are constantly keeping it updated. We hope you have a good journey home and hope to see you next time you are over here. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay & The Ravensworth is one of the loveliest places to stay. It's clean, spacious, lovely food & the owners/staff are extreamly accommodating. We had a King superior room which we really couldn't find any fault with - if i wanted to be picky then the bed was a little saggy but not enough to complain about . The breakfast is very good with a wide variety to choose the main breakfat menu (all beautifully & freshly cooked) along with fresh fruits, cereals,toast etc. Cheryl & Nick are two of the most friendly, professional & helpful people, they make you very welcome but are also very respectful of your privacy they work very hard to keep the Ravensworth to such a high standard and it clearly means a great deal to them. We would highly recommend this place & plan to return & stay again.

Room Tip: King size room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Nickys, Thank you so much for your comments. We are obviously delighted that you had a great stay with us and it is very rewarding to hear that all of our hard work is being rewarded. We ar glad that you also enjoyed our breakfasts, as many of our guests do. We take on board your comments about the mattress, we are actually looking at replacing some of our mattresses this winter so hopefully this won't be an issue on your next stay with us. We look forward to seeing you both next time. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is set in a beautiful location, central to Windemere and a short walk to Bowness. We enjoyed a cruise on the lake to Ambleside which was suggested to us and it was a great way to spend the afternoon. Unfortunately we were only there for one night. The room was clean and tidy and a generous size.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely. We had a continental breakfast.A cooked breakfast is also on offer. Pastries and Croissants were amazing, especially the chocolate ones. Overall it felt like we were at home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you took the boat trip on the Lake and had the chance to take in our beautiful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ravensworth on your next visit. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days with my wife, the location is good, but the room was very small. Limited choice for veg breakfast. Compared to the other B&B we have stayed in UK we found this one overpriced. Din't feel very comfortable, the bed was saggy and not upright, the room was stuffy so had to keep the window open to sleep at night and a few insects paid us a visit. The owner was not very friendly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy every aspect of your visit, however, we would just like to clarify the following:

We pride ourselves on providing a wide range of options for breakfast, to suit all dietary requirements and preferences. As you are aware, we offer a full vegetarian grill comprising of Sauagaes, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Fried Bread and Eggs. We also have the extensive buffet of freshly baked Danish Pastries, Cereals, Yoghurts and a Fresh Fruit Platter. I know that you thought that our mushrooms were made from meat (not quite sure why) and refused to eat them.

With regards to your room, we are again sorry that it did not meet your expectations but you did book a Standard Double Room when higher grade rooms were available.

I am deeply hurt that you feel that we are not friendly, we do not know what we have done to you to make you feel this way about us.

We would ask future guests to look at the vast majority of reviews that we have had over the last few years since we have been here to make their judgements about us and our guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing