We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ravensworth
Ranked #21 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay & The Ravensworth is one of the loveliest places to stay. It's clean, spacious, lovely food & the owners/staff are extreamly accommodating. We had a King superior room which we really couldn't find any fault with - if i wanted to be picky then the bed was a little saggy but not enough to complain about . The breakfast is very good with a wide variety to choose the main breakfat menu (all beautifully & freshly cooked) along with fresh fruits, cereals,toast etc. Cheryl & Nick are two of the most friendly, professional & helpful people, they make you very welcome but are also very respectful of your privacy they work very hard to keep the Ravensworth to such a high standard and it clearly means a great deal to them. We would highly recommend this place & plan to return & stay again.

Room Tip: King size room was excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Nickys, Thank you so much for your comments. We are obviously delighted that you had a great stay with us and it is very rewarding to hear that all of our hard work is being rewarded. We ar glad that you also enjoyed our breakfasts, as many of our guests do. We take on board your comments about the mattress, we are actually looking at replacing some of our mattresses this winter so hopefully this won't be an issue on your next stay with us. We look forward to seeing you both next time. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for The Ravensworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is set in a beautiful location, central to Windemere and a short walk to Bowness. We enjoyed a cruise on the lake to Ambleside which was suggested to us and it was a great way to spend the afternoon. Unfortunately we were only there for one night. The room was clean and tidy and a generous size.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely. We had a continental breakfast.A cooked breakfast is also on offer. Pastries and Croissants were amazing, especially the chocolate ones. Overall it felt like we were at home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you took the boat trip on the Lake and had the chance to take in our beautiful surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ravensworth on your next visit. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days with my wife, the location is good, but the room was very small. Limited choice for veg breakfast. Compared to the other B&B we have stayed in UK we found this one overpriced. Din't feel very comfortable, the bed was saggy and not upright, the room was stuffy so had to keep the window open to sleep at night and a few insects paid us a visit. The owner was not very friendly.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy every aspect of your visit, however, we would just like to clarify the following:

We pride ourselves on providing a wide range of options for breakfast, to suit all dietary requirements and preferences. As you are aware, we offer a full vegetarian grill comprising of Sauagaes, Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Fried Bread and Eggs. We also have the extensive buffet of freshly baked Danish Pastries, Cereals, Yoghurts and a Fresh Fruit Platter. I know that you thought that our mushrooms were made from meat (not quite sure why) and refused to eat them.

With regards to your room, we are again sorry that it did not meet your expectations but you did book a Standard Double Room when higher grade rooms were available.

I am deeply hurt that you feel that we are not friendly, we do not know what we have done to you to make you feel this way about us.

We would ask future guests to look at the vast majority of reviews that we have had over the last few years since we have been here to make their judgements about us and our guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I are very disappointed with the accommodation afforded to us on our stay at the Ravensworth. This was our second stay at this establishment and because we enjoyed our first visit immensely we decided to return for our first wedding anniversary. Whilst the owners were both very amiable and gracious hosts the room (Room D) in which we stayed was not up to the high standard which we were expecting. The main issues which we had are as follows:

1. The view from our room was that of the car park and the room was so low that this was all that we could see. Whilst I understand that not all rooms have the best of views this should have been subsidised in some way as we paid the same price other guests with superior views to ourselves (or at least didn’t have to worry about being spotted in a towel).
2. In addition the room was situated directly under the kitchen, there was no point in a second sitting at breakfast for us as we were awakened each morning by the sound of thumping and banging. As my wife is pregnant and a lie in would have been nice on our last holiday before the baby is born. But alas this never happened.
3. Is the boiler situated next to this room? As the banging that came through the walls at night startled us, especially when it occurred as we were falling asleep.
4. We were disappointed to be told by Cheryl that the room we were staying in was one of only three rooms left to be refurbished in the hotel. I do not believe we were charged at any cheaper rate then the refurbished rooms but received an inferior product to other guests staying at the time.

Whilst we enjoy visiting the Lake District we will no longer think of the Ravensworth as fondly as we have done over the years and will not be staying with you again. This room was vastly over charged to us and we do feel we have been ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Whilst we are really disappointed that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us, we would like to raise a few points. As the guest mentions, this was their second visit to us and they booked that room specifically. They had stayed in a King Room previously which is on our first floor, and this time booked the Lower Ground Floor Double Room. The description stated that the room was located on this floor so we are slightly confused as to why the guest thought he would have a similar view as he had on his previous visit.

At no time during their stay did the guests mention any of the issues raised, even when checking out. We do ask guests to come to us if they have any issues, We like to feel that we are approachable and take it personally when guests leave us saying that everything was fine, and then 1 week later write such a review.

Since this review was written, we have now actually taken this room off our website and out of our diary as it was causing issues for a few guests. It was the cheapest room available and the description did state its location but we have decided that we would prefer for it never to be an issue for future guests.

Please note that guests will not longer be able to book this room so please take this into account when previewing our guesthouse.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights from 21st september and were welcomed by nick who was very informative about the local area, our room was very clean and comfortable the breakfast was fantastic plenty of choice nicks mum was on duty along with his dad during our stay. The waiting staff were very nice nothing seem to much trouble we were offered additional toast tea and coffee, and were not rushed at breakfast we would certainly stay again thank you for an enjoyable weekend
Best wishes

Robert and Rose

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Manager at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Robert & Rose, Thank you so much for your comments, it makes it all worth while when our guests tell us that we have been able to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possisble. We will hopefully see you again soon on your next visit. All the best, Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in 2 rooms for one night on business visit. Helpful welcome from owner despite lateish arrival. Directed to reasonable restaurants within walking distance. Room was comfy if a little small. Minor gripes - no shaving plug point and every single other 13 amp point in room was full with other appliances. My room slightly noisy from facing onto main road, which was quite busy = so take some earplugs. Breakfast was nice and served reasonably early which is sometimes a problem in other B&Bs. Service excellent for a B&B

Room Tip: Ask for quieter back room away from main road (ie in direction of the lake)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if you did feel that your sleep was interupted by some outside noise. We always endeavour to make sure that our guest's stays are as comfortable as possible and we are glad that you appreciated the breakfast that we lay on. Hopefully we'll see you again on your next visit to The Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Guesthouse was very easy to find and well situated, being on the main road into Windermere and very close to both the centre of Windermere and the train station, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the room was clean and well equipped and the food was excellent.

If I find myself back in Windermere, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

James, Thank you so much for your review, comments like these make us feel that all of our hard work is paying off, and it was a pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to The Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit. Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $111 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing