We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #17 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

we arrived on 31st august for 2 days my husbands birthday the welcome we recieved off nick was great and the staff were all spot on .the room was great the breakfasts were great with plenty of choice.nick & his wife have something to be very proud of in the ravensworth a credit to you both and all your staff for all the work you put in.it works very very well with everything you need.
a big thank you for a great weekend
andre and ian

Room Tip: we had top floor room on the side with no noise from the road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrep514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Andre and Ian, thank you so much for your comments, yes we are very proud of our B&B and it makes it all worth while when we welcome people like yourselves here. We are delighted that your birthday weekend was a success and we look forward to seeing you up here again soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    90
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
281
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

having looked at the reviews to this hotel everything was what there had said it was beautiful the staff were lovely and friendly breakfast was excellent lots to choose from the king size bedroom was very clean and a decent size room we arrived on wednesday 29th -31st august for my husband birthday and had a lovely time the weather was great we also were given a pass to go to the gym and swimming pool which we did enjoy will . be going back thankyou so much nick & cheryl.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwcw123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and also that your expectations were met. We try our best to maintain our high standards of customer satisfaction and always welcome guests reviews and comments. We are also pleased that you took a visit to the Spa, a lot of guests are using this facility now, enjoying the relaxing surroundings after a day out and about. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was so welcomed on arrival by Cheryl, who made me a pot of tea and a cupcake, showed me around the place and gave advice and recommendations for my stay in the Lake District. Felt very comfortable and at home at the Ravensworth and wasn't at all intrusive. My room was very cute and cosy, impeccably clean and adequate space. Plus received a bottle on wine on arrival. Also modern, especially the bathroom. Couldn't have asked for more in terms of accommodation and exceeded expectations. The conservatory for breakfast a really nice atmosphere, the staff very helpful and friendly, not to mention the yummy, home cooked breakfast. I'm 30yrs old, was travelling on my own and typically sceptical about b&b's, but this stay certainly changed my mind. I'd love to go back to the Lake District just to stay at Nick & Cheryl's again, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Laura, thank you for your comments, we are delighted to be your first Trip Advisor review. It was a pleasure having you stay here and we are glad that we could make the experience as relaxing and enjoyable for you. We do get many single travellers visiting and it is good to know that you felt safe and secure here. May I just add that the reason you received your wine was because you had booked directly with us for 2 nights or more and this is a promotion we are running at the moment. Hopefully it won't be too long before we see you back up here. Best regards. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at The Ravensworth for one night in August. We received a warm welcome from Ray who showed us around and showed us to our room. Ray also made sure a pot of tea and cakes were ready and waiting in the lounge when we'd settled in, he also offered us advice on local attractions and was really helpful with our plans for the day.

Our room was really nice, on the 2nd floor with a lovely view. There was a really well equipped condiment tray with hot chocolates, teas, coffees & biscuits. The welcome book was also really good with lots of suggestions for local restaurants.
The bathroom was also very nice, really nice shower and miniature toiletries.

Throughout the whole room and bathroom it was extremely clean and comfortable, the bed was really comfy and we had a great nights sleep.

The lounge area was also well equipped with a pc for use and wifi along with board games and DVDs.

Breakfast was also very good, with a lot of choice and very tasty.

The actual b&b was a short walk a way from Windermere village, really good location!

All in all a great stay, wished we had been staying here longer than just one night!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
JodieM, thanks for the review and comments, dad (Ray) had stepped in for us for the day and we are glad he looked after you well. Hopefully you'll have a bit more time to stay longer next time you visit. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for two days and found it clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice and offered suggestions for visits and walks. The room we were in was downstairs. It was small but warm and comfortable. There was also a lovely terrace room where we had a most delicious breakfast with plenty to choose from.The house is in an idea location and just round the corner from a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars and the picturesque streets of Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Les, thanks for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. Hopefully you'll come back to stay next time you visit the Lakes. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ravensworth over an extended bank holiday weekend, Nick and Cheryl were extremely friendly and helpful and the location perfect as we travelled to Windermere by train. The double room was comfortable with TV, radio/iPod dock and safe. Breakfasts are excellent. Highly recommended for a first trip to the lakes. Used the spa membership option on a bad weather day, great backup.

Room Tip: Our double room was in the basement - if given the choice an upstairs room would probably have had l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Mark, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you both had an enjoyable stay with us here over the Bank Holiday Weekend. We also hope your legs have recovered from your trek up Scafell Pike and that the visit to the Spa on Monday helped ease the aches. We hope to see you back here again on your next visit to the Lakes. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently stayed at The Ravensworth and have to say what a lovely place. The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. When we arrived after a long journey we were welcomed with a much needed cup of tea and chocolate muffin. Nick the owner talked us through some the places we may want to visit during our stay, which was very helpful as we were new to the area. Our room was smart and spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were first class and the staff were polite and curtious. The sun terrace/patio is a lovely area to spend a summer evening.

I would highly recommend The Ravensworth.

Room Tip: We stayed in and can recommend room number 2 (the superior double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Sam, Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay here and we are also pleased that you used the terrace to relax on in the evenings. We hope that you had a good journey home ad we hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing