We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #16 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently stayed at The Ravensworth and have to say what a lovely place. The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. When we arrived after a long journey we were welcomed with a much needed cup of tea and chocolate muffin. Nick the owner talked us through some the places we may want to visit during our stay, which was very helpful as we were new to the area. Our room was smart and spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were first class and the staff were polite and curtious. The sun terrace/patio is a lovely area to spend a summer evening.

I would highly recommend The Ravensworth.

Room Tip: We stayed in and can recommend room number 2 (the superior double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Sam, Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay here and we are also pleased that you used the terrace to relax on in the evenings. We hope that you had a good journey home ad we hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    91
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
286
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A surprise trip for me. 4 couples stayed in our party and all had a great time. Owners and staff very helpful. A very good room and great breakfast before a day on the mountains. I have recommended to several other friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Four couples from the North East on a 50th Birthday weekend, it was a pleasure having you all here seeing you have such a great time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend and that we could help contribute to it. We look forward to seeing you back here soon. All the best. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nick and Cheryl are very warm and friendly. We had a great welcome with tea and muffins. The breakfast was the best we have ever had made with good quality ingredients and the service was first class. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very close to the town and restaurants and bars. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchinson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. We look forward to your return visit. Nick & Cheryl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ourselves and friends have just spent a lovely few days staying at the Ravensworth. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Barbara who showed us our rooms, then invited us down for tea/coffee and chocolate muffins, which were lovely. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. Great b&b. Good value for money. We wouldn't hesitate in going back and we would recommend to others. Thanks to everyone at the Ravensworth who made our stay and my Birthday so special...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks Kay R R for a lovely review. Myself and Cheryl were away whilst you were here but Barbara (my mum) and dad took over the helm for the week. We also have an excellent team of staff here and we have received many good comments about them. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday with us here and we hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just spent a very enjoyable few days at the Ravensworth Guest House. It is a 4 star B&B and was spotlessly clean. A wonderful breakfast made to order from the finest produce. The owner was very welcoming and suggested a few palces to eat our evening meal, which she booked for us, and we enjoyed very much. I had never been to the Lake District befor, but I really enjoyed the holiday. This guest house makes a lovely base, and is right in the town. Also the owner arranged our parking permit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffithsWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments about your stay with us. Reviews like this one make it all worth while and it humbles us both when guests enjoy their stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit to The Lakes. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at Ranensworth on 1st June 2012 for 5 night .

We where pleasantly surprised , when we arrived we where Late ,

We where greeted with a smile and a full rundown of all the information we

needed .

The stay and the meals where 1st Clase .

We would go back tomorrow .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Robert, Thank you for your kind words in your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don't hesitate getting in touch with us next time you are over here. Many Thanks. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A really friendly welcome with afternoon tea and cakes, lovely room and great breakfast menu. We loved our stay at The Ravensworth.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FILoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review about your stay with us. We take a lot of time making sure that everyone's visit is memorable and relaxing. We are glad this was the case for yourselves and we hope that you will be ale to visit us again soon. Many thanks, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing