We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Ranked #3 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 2 which was very stylish, comfortable and immaculately clean. The finishing touches really did make our stay perfect. Jayne and Pete have thought of everything you could ever need. The breakfast was outstanding and the best we have ever had. Will certainly be returning. Why stay anywhere else!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wonkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow!! thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We aim to please! :))
regards
Pete & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
237
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great value and very nice rooms.
Excellent hosts provide a warm welcome and an excellent breakfast plus the most delicious home baked biscuits and shortbread on the house.
Located a short walk from the restaurants and bars in either village.
Would be happy to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Pete and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and my cooking/baking. We aim to make everyones visits memorable and homely, with little extra comforts and so enticing you all back again soon..................
Hope we succeeded!!
Regards
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked this b&b after reading all the reviews...and they were right! This b&b was modernly and warmly decorated but more importantly came with little added extras which for me made all the difference. Fresh flowers, little chocolates, homemade biscuits, lemon water & dressing gowns in your room...but even 'have a treat on us' homemade delicious cakes in the foyer! These little things made us as guests feel most welcome and a next stay definitely on the cards and something we look forward to.

Thank you x

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wafgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Pete and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Its good to hear also that you liked our treats ( I'm busy practicing making homemade danishes at present!!)
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The best B&B we have stayed in and we have stayed in many. Clean and very comfortable, lovely little touches that make the stay special. Substantial breakfast with excellent choices to suit everyone. We will definitely return.
Lorraine & Steve Wood

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayandst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Its brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely review. Its also good to now that the little extras are enjoyed aswell. Pete and I look forward to seeing you again soon. :))
Regards
Pete & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place is outstanding. Perfectly located within walking distance of Windermere and Bowness. Clean, spacious room with everything you could possible need to enjoy your stay. But the best part is the service. The friendly owners will give you information on local attractions (very useful as it was our first time in the Lake district), serve you a delicious breakfast each morning, and ensure that they are available to deal with any request you may have. When I return to the Lake District, I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 308Saint_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wow! thank you for your lovely review. Pete and I are so please to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, that is always our aim. We look forward to welcoming you back soon :))
regards
Pete & Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We are frequent visitors to the Lakes and this B&B is up there with the best of places we have stayed in. Very pleasant owners, excellent breakfast, room nice and clean. Even left a gift for wife's birthday which was a nice touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Pete & I were so please to read your review and its great to know all was to your liking :))
We hope you'll visit us again soon in the near future.
Regards
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

5th time returning to this b&b and 2nd under the new owners, words can't describe how perfect it is, everything is brilliant, rooms immaculate, service amazing and good even better. We booked a 3 night stay and booked room 7 as we find it very cosy and perfect for us and the views over the Glenn and woodland are brilliant in the mornings, breakfast was amazing now with more to choose from, tried nearly everything and was so tasty and very good quality as always. On the second day of my stay it was my birthday so we went for a long walk in the mountains, upon return and to my surprise I found a card and a box of chocolates placed on the bed for me, totally overwhelmed with how thoughtful the b&b, like I say really don't know why this isn't number 1 as I don't think anywhere else could beat it along with the owners, I will continue to book this b&b for as long as we visit the lakes as it tops everything off brilliantly, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, thankyou very much for making my birthday perfect

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so...glad you enjoyed your stay with us and wow! what a review. Pete and I take great please to hear we have suceeding in meeting our guests expectations :) We believe our little extras are the things that make us a little home from home and so hopefully entice you back soon...... :))
regards
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenville House (Adults Only)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenville House (Adults Only)

Property: Glenville House (Adults Only)
Address: 44 Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenville House (Adults Only) 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Adults Only).Traditional Lakeland Stone Guest House backed by Mill Beck & Sheriffs Wood ideally located for Windermere & Bowness. Excellent, well appointed rooms all with King sized beds & ensuite facilities,then enjoy your freshly cooked breakfast made from local produce which will set you up for the days activities. A warm & friendly welcome from Peter and Jayne awaits all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Glenville House (Adults Only) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenville House Hotel Windermere
Glenville House (Adults Only) Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing