We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to a lovely holiday!!!”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
“Great start to a lovely holiday!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice hotel with great views! The hotel staff were very accommodating and saw to our every need! The hotel and rooms were exceptionally clean and we couldn't wish for a better base to explore lake Windermere from!
We loved the fact that the hotel was on the outskirts of town as it got us away from the crowds but yet was in walking distance.
Some of the food in the evenings did lack a little seasoning but nothing a salt a pepper mill couldn't work out...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us especially taking advantage of the walk into Windermere. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    346
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
129
1,066
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Couldn't have selected a better hotel in Windermere! My partner and I came here for a quick weekend break, and booked through Secret Escapes at the last minute. We had selected the Superior room with lake view for two nights. We were accidentally double booked, but the staff at Hillthwaite were wonderful and very quickly rectified this error by booking us into the Classic room with lake view for one night and we were upgraded into the Premier Room 16 suite for the second night!

We were greeted and shown to our Classic room (room 36), which was wonderful service. Lovely views from this room; the room itself was a little smaller than we anticipated but it felt more 'cosy' than 'poky', as it was in the roof of the house so the room had wonderful character.

The food was excellent - daily specials meant a greater choice of meals during our stay and we never had the same thing twice. The service at dinner was great and the staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble! We were also given a voucher for free scones and tea, which were delicious,freshly made, and delivered still hot from the oven.

The Premier room (room 16) was incredible: the views (floor to ceiling bay window) were more than we ever expected. The jacuzzi bath and designer toiletries were also a lovely touch. Honestly couldn't have asked for a better evening, we felt like we were living in luxury. The staff also moved our bags for us while we were out on the second day so all we had to do was pick up the new key when we got back - another nice touch.

Please don't look at any of the negative comments about this hotel - don't be put off by them! Small things that really don't matter when you have a hotel of this quality in such a great location. This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in, and we couldn't rate it highly enough.

The staff made this hotel perfect - the way that we were quickly upgraded and offered the suite, and the free wine that we were given as a compensation was outstanding. The staff were incredibly pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely be returning. If you're reading this and deciding whether to come here, go for it: you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 16 has the best views in the whole hotel and is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and we are glad that we managed to sort out your overbooking. Room 16 is one of our best rooms with outstanding views which you obviously appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went based on a recommendation from my parents and were a little disappointed. everything was Ok and all the staff were friendly but everything just felt ok as opposed to being anything special that said my parents stay regularly and always really like.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have many guests who arrive on recommendations from friends and relatives so we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We certainly aim to offer the best in hospitality and want to make all of our guests feel welcome and special. We are sorry that you felt that we hadn't achieved it on this occasion. I do hope that you will try us again in the future when you next visit the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Quite disappointing as a Hotel, expensive for what it is,first night was great the service in the restaurant was excellent even though they were very busy,hoever this changed on the second and third night once we had complained that the shower screen leaked all over the bathroom floor every time we used it!

Room Tip: There are plenty of other Hotels in the Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have now fixed the shower screen and apologise for the lack of service in the restaurant on your remaining two nights. This is indeed totally unacceptable and we have spoken to the restaurant manager regarding this matter. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon 10years ago and then again in June this year, the hotel has had some refurbishment, we had a gorgeous room with a lake view, it had a large comfy bed and corner jacuzzi and separate shower cubicle, settee in front of the window and large tv. Jade on reception was really friendly and helpful, we had a window seat in the restaurant, food was fab, the main reason we returned here because the food was fab 10 years ago aswell!! Overall excellent stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy2hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Jade is also delighted by your good comments which I am sure she will tell us about over the next few weeks!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and the staff where very helpful . the room ( No 11 ) was perfect and had a lovely view of the lake.After the evening meal sitting on the terrace with our coffee was very relaxing and peaceful .the dinner menu was well thought out and the food was very well presented .the bed was very comfortable .the bathroom had a spa bath which was very relaxing after a long day walking in the hills and around the lake .could not have wished for a better hotel to spend my birthday and our 36 th wedding anniversary. thanks to everyone there for a great break.

Room Tip: No 11 was great and you could see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that you choose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel which incorporated a lake view room, evening meal with one bottle of free wine, tea and scones on arrival and two breakfasts.

Our room was a tad on the small side but perfectly acceptable, it was very clean with a big comfy bed. Our bathroom benefitted from a Jacuzzi bath which was very nice and the bedroom itself looked out over Lake Windermere (Room 29).

The hotel itself is very traditional with a conservatory, living room and reception with bar and also another lounge with beautiful views. Its well maintained and the outside terrace and gardens are perfect for watching the stunning sunsets out over Langdale and beyond.

We found the food to be the star of the show, the evening meals not only tasted superb but were also presented in a lovely manner, breakfast was also very good. A special mention to the dining room staff who seemed mainly Europeans, they were efficient and worked hard. I was left with the impression that maybe the staff are pushed a little to hard because at times there seemed to be an excessive wait between food courses, I don't know if this is due to a lack of staff in the kitchen or actually out in the dining room itself. However that was our only gripe in what was a very pleasant stay at the Hillthwaite House Hotel. Its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your good review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologise for the wait in between courses which I will of course mention to all the restaurant and kitchen team. We will improve on this as this is unacceptable. Thank you for mentioning the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing