We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit cannot wait to return!”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We felt so relaxed after our visit there. The food was delicious and the ambiance delightful. Accommodation was lovely and the service was good. Highly recommended. The weather was lovely so we sat outside on the terrace and admired the view. The only downside was the seep hill up to the hotel which my husband could not manage to walk but we just drove down to Bowness and back. Take your swimming costume as the pool is nice and quiet!

!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda75l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us especially in the sun! Our location means that we capture the best views from the Lake across to the Langdales and beyond. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a wonderfull stay the staff were excellent the food was superb ,fine dining at is best, the hotel was clean and comfortable would recommended this hotel to everyone good views of lake Windermere ideally situated between bow ness and Windermere

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel was set high up in superb surroundings with a dining room that has stunning views overlooking lake windermere.i can say hand on heart the food was amazing(im sure they had gordon ramsey chained to the stove in the kitchen), every single member off staff deserve a huge pat on the back,nothing was to much for them. our room was in the annexe which was superb,clean, and a bed that could off slept 4ppl easily.
I must say that this old fashioned warm charming hotel scores a massive 10/10
Our group off 6 were sad to leave after a wonderful 2 night stop with yourselfs but glad to say we will all be returning later this year. ps choose room 1 if you can. mal and jas

Room Tip: try and get room in the annexe if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Wow! What a title and thank you for your great comments. All the credit for the food goes to our Head Chef, Phillip (who is a lot more polite than Gordon Ramsey) and he takes great pride in producing some outstanding dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were delighted to arrive at this hotel up in the hills above Lake Windermere. We had a nice, large room next door to the swimming pool in a very quiet corridor.
The hotel has an old fashioned glamour about it. The service was first-class and the dining room has stunning views with a real wow-factor if you get a window seat looking down over the lake.
We stayed for three nights and tit was a real pleasure to come back to after long days walking and driving around. The pool and sauna were very nice and usually empty which was great.
Breakfast was full of choice and as well as a buffet you can order from a menu for table service.
Highly recommended if you're visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraorSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool is so relaxing especially to ease the pain of your aching muscles after a trek up the Langdales. I hope that you will visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just spent 3 days at this location. It was so good. We saw the deal on Groupon but booked direct with the hotel who matched it. We had bed, breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal the first day, bed and breakfast the second day. The food was so fantastic we ate in the restaurant again the second night and they included foc a bottle of excellent house wine! The hotel location is good, half way to walk to either Bowness or Windermere. The staff were so nice and helpful, no faults at all. Jackie was knowledgable on the area, and the hotel was very well run. Our room was amazing, we had a newly refurbished suite with massive comfortable bed, sofas in a separate adjoining room, bathroom was so big and well appointed, even a flat screen tv at the end of the bath. We so enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it thoroughly, we plan to go back again in October.

Room Tip: Book one of the refurbished room suites in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay in the Tendal Howe. It certainly is special and its nice to hear that you think so too! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the autumn and thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in a single room, though as part of a group of 10. We received a friendly welcome, and although we had arrived early the staff managed to get some of us into our rooms upon arrival. My single room was a decent size with a single bed, bath & shower and good storage/hanging facilities. I was initially disappointed as I was just above the main entrance looking over the car park, but I was very happy when I looked just to the right and realised I had a lake view. I was expecting to hear some noise from the main entrance, but even with the window open all night I wasn't bothered by any noise at all.

The staff were always friendly and chatty and seemed genuinely interested in making sure everything was okay with our meals and our stay.

The food is amazing, and the views from the dining room are lovely. There are a few places around the hotel to sit and relax with a book, or to chat with fellow guests.

The pool is small, but clean and warm. I managed to get a few laps in, and a quick sauna too.

I would definitely feel comfortable coming back alone for a few nights.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a good sized single room, with lake views to the side and a bath & shower. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looby-lou222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you and your party enjoyed their stay. I hope you managed to find some souvenirs for your family when you went shopping. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was probably unusual and stayed at the hillthwaite as I had a meeting the next morning, all other guests I think were there for pleasure.
I had a single room, which whilst didn't have a good view (the back of the building) it was very large including a large corner bath, the White Company soap etc, and well stocked tea tray. I was first down for breakfast in the morning, and there was a very good choice and it was well cooked. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant. it would be good to stay there for pleasure next time

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your great review. Solo guests are certainly not unusual here at HIllthwaite so we are pleased that as a solo guest you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you come back to visit us again for a more leisurely break. Thank you for the nice comment about the staff they certainly do appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,080 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $178 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing