We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my wife as she got it on a groupon deal on which you get a afternoon tea with a bottle of prosecco and a 4 course dinner and breakfast the following morning.

Upon arrival we were told what times were available for the evening meal so we booked for 8pm (tip for booking dinner is to book when you check in as the good time slots go quickly when the hotel is busy)

The receptionist was very helpful and told us of places of interest to visit etc., she also gave us the Wi-Fi code to connect your phone or laptop.

There is a swimming pool which by all accounts isn't that big or deep we didn't used the pool but if your staying with children please be aware there's no lifeguard on duty.

We stayed in room number 4 and it was just big enough for a couple. the bed was two singles pushed together but was covered to make it look like a double but we didn't mind as the beds were really comfy and we both got a good nights sleep.

If I was being really picky with the room there wasn't anywhere to put the kettle and had to switch it on either on the floor or by the TV.

Afternoon tea was really nice with homemade scones with jam and cream were delicious again being picky we had to have afternoon tea near reception as all other places were full.

The evening meal was really nice to start we had ham hock croquette and bruschetta followed by butternut soup then roast beef dinner and mushroom risotto followed by sticky toffee pudding. The staff gave it just enough time between courses it wasn't massive portions but over 4 courses it was more than enough to fill you up overall an excellent meal.

The bar can be quite pricey (as all hotel bars are) it was £4.20 for a pint of house lager which to be quite honest it was wasn't that great to drink so after that I switched to bottled cider which was £3.60 for a small bottle of mangers.

If the manager does happen to read this then I suggest they look at revising there bar prices and also look at the décor in the dining room as some of the décor was quite outdated.

but overall it was a very enjoyable stay for me and my wife and we would defiantly go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan_AVFC_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your comprehensive and excellent review which I have passed on to all the members of staff. I am surprised about the comments in relation to our bar prices as they are line with our other competitors and seems to be the 'norm' in Windermere and surrounding areas. I hope we see you again in the future and find the furnishings more to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great value for money this weekend break in the Lakes. We booked a winter warmer deal, staying in a 'cosy double'. In this case, cosy means small, so if you intend spending a lot of time in your room, opt for a larger room. The service and food were very good: try the Cumberland ham for breakfast, it's delicious. The house wine, Berri estates Shiraz, was lovely, as was the roast guinea fowl. It was nice to sit by the (real) log fire in the lounge. The dining room has great views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. The cosy rooms are more than adequate for a stay especially when you have the scenery and extensive walks in Windermere and the Lake District to explore. I hope to see you again soon and thank you once again the staff work extremely hard all year to offer our guests an exceptional experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We first visited Hillthwaite house around 10 years ago, there have been a few changes since then, but the cosy atmosphere is still the same.
The room we had was upstairs in the annexe, it was like a small suite with nice view.
The food in the Resturant was as nice as we remember, and the Sevice was very slick and the staff were friendly but unobtrusive.
We won't leave it 10 years before our next visit and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dumpstermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your good review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have to admit that there has been some cosmetic changes in the last ten years but our values and passion for our hotel, the location in which it sits and our guests still remain the same. I look forward to seeing you again soon....hopefully in less than ten years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a Groupon deal,cream tea on arrival,4 course meal,bottle of Prosseco on ice in our room,bed and breakfast.We upgraded to a lake view for an extra £20.The warm room was plenty big enough,comfy bed(slept well),fabulous power shower in a modern bathroom.The evening meal was superb,absolutely delicious, from the game terrine, sorbet, venison & pheasant mains to the desserts especially the four mini chocolate dessert, the portions weren't big but we were stuffed!!!The service was great,nothing was too much trouble.The breakfast was also great,all cooked to order. We didn't use the pool etc as didn't stay long enough. Just a few things that bothered us - we didn't have the cream tea as we were 15mins too late,even after stating we had travelled straight through from work and we were really looking forward to it, we got a flat NO, also on entering the room (36) there was a funny smell, but this did dissappear after a few minutes of being in the room(?). Also when we checked out our bill wasn't calculated using our groupon deal,we pointed this out & it was rectified, although we also had to ask what the additional £2 'conservation donation' was which had automatically been added,we weren't given a choice to pay this, guest should be told about this prior to adding to their bill & given the choice to pay it or not. Great hotel, great location.We would definitely return to this hotel & recommend to friends & family.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VORDIE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review and the title says it all. Its always worth a little bit extra to upgrade to a lake view room even in the Winter to appreciate the location in which we are based. It is inexcusable that you were refused your cream tea. It is certainly not standard practice and I have spoken to the staff in relation to this matter. In relation to the conservation donation there is an optional box on your registration card which we can tick if you would prefer not to give a donation. We keep no secret in what we do as this donation supports Nurture England. All the information is displayed in your guest information folder. We also support Langdale and Ambleside Mountain Rescue raising a total in excess of £32,000 last year between the two organisations. Thank you once again and I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here via a 'Groupon' deal, which provided us the opportunity to review the hotel. The decor and quality of the is to a very high standard. The food is fantastic!!!! The staff were especially helpful and 'down to earth' for a quality hotel.
The hotel offers sauna and pool facilities which were very clean and accessible. We were greeted with warm scones and fresh coffee, then sparkling wine on ice in the 'cosy double' room which was perfect for our stay. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are right the homemade scones are lovely especially with jam and cream! I will pass your comments to the staff as we aim to offer a professional but friendly service and I am glad that we managed to achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this hotel through Living Social, what a great deal but after staying there we will be booking direct with the hotel. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed at, the food is delicious and the rooms very comfortable. Fantastic views and great location. Cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: We would like to stay in the main hotel next time to make sure we have the fantastic views to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zac017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Wow what a title!! Thank you so much for your great review. It is always worth booking direct with us as we offer some amazing deals throughout the year. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A little gem. Hotel location perfect, staff extremely friendly and very helpful. We stayed with the living social deal and was pleasantly surprised coffee and cream scones in the afternoon were lovely, we had our bottle of prosecco with the meal. The four course meal was absolutely outstanding. We will definitely be booking this hotel again in the near future.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jshawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and the lovely pictures which you attached. I am so pleased you enjoy your stay with us and I hope that you visit us again soon. You can also book direct as we usually have offers throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
3.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $164 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing