We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TO BE MISSED”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A delightful place to stay, especially at this time of year. Their gardener has worked hard, unexpected delights around every corner, flowers everywhere. Food was imaginative and tasty, their eggs benedict was the best ever. Rooms were comfortable, I cannot praise them enough. From arrival to departure we were made welcome and I look forward to going again.

Room Tip: We had a "room" in the annexe, that is a good sized bedroom with t.v. and soooo comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and thanks especially for your comments about the gardens. We believe that the gardens at the Hillthwaite were originally laid down at the end of the 19th century by the renowned local garden designer, Thomas Mawson. Whilst we cannot hope to reproduce his grand design, as the gardens were much more extensive in those days, we are making every effort to emulate the original characteristics wherever possible. I have passed on your lovely comments about the food and these were very much appreciated. I hope you will consider staying at the Hillthwaite again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    338
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,037
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really disappointed on arrival that the room was in the annex,which I can only describe as ok an a letdown on some points: the building feels tired and a bit scruffy, the room 242 defiantly needs the bathroom updating, when paying over £120 for a room a certain standard is expected and it wasn't met, the jacuzzi bath jets are filthy and are not being cleaned properly,the edges of all the grout in the corners of the bath is black woth damp that needs scrubbing off, the shower head is shockingly old an dated, reminded me of a caravan shower head.the floor has dirty black damp areas to the corners of the bath and floor,it has a dated Lino on the floor. with a shower curtain the bottom of which was really dirty, this room needs tidying and possibly a shower screen which is more hygienic and tiling as the Lino is very scruffy, the annex itself just feels and smells musty, it's an extension, which feels like your in a prefabricated building noise wise, just really gutted we got this room defiantly not worth the money,and I felt like the room has to much fabric to keep clean,thick curtains and blinds that smelt, and whilst the thick carpet felt nice when dogs are using the rooms unless the Carpet is shampooed before each new guest comes its not practical for a dog friendly room as it smell awful,when you don't have a dog you notice this, also found hair grips on the floor so just felt letdown as I expect basic cleanliness,everything else food and service was as expected, although i sound fussy if you could see for yourself this bathroom and the overall presentation of the room after what we paid for the room you would feel the same,big let down my partner doesn't like to make a fuss, so we didn't ask to change but I wouldn't stay here again, I think the hotel should seriously think of stopping letting this room 242 until the bathroom is updated as it is misleading and genuinely in need of updating, the bathroom lets the rest of the hotel down.also would you not consider wooden blinds? And laminate floor? There is to much fabric and textiles on this room if it is used by dogs as the smells linger and they can't be cleaned reasonably before each new guests as this wouldn't be practical.you couldn't wash curtains daily.sorry but I felt really ripped of over this room, they shouldn't be letting room in this state. The lake views are poor due to the trees and the fact it's summer, the hotel can't really help this though.the staff were pleasant although this couldn't make up for the poor quality of the annex

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMember09102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We obviously respect your opinion but whilst I recognise that our 'annexe' is ready for a refurbishment, which is due this winter, I feel your comments about the furnishings etc are based purely on your personal likes/dislikes. As far as the general cleanliness of the hotel is concerned reference to other Trip Advisor reviewers will confirm that the vast majority feel this to be of a very high standard. Yes, occasionally at times of near maximum occupancy the attention to detail is not as rigid as we would like but we continually monitor our housekeeping standards to ensure that these more than meet our guest's expectations. Might I suggest that hoteliers much prefer blemishes to be brought to their attention at the time in order that wherever possible these can be rectified, rather than having to suffer the crushingly negative feeling brought about by anonymous reviewers who 'don't want to make a fuss.' I can assure that we welcome constructive criticism and we act promptly to rectify this when it is justified. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and the food and your comments have been duly noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Many apologies for the late reveiw as we stayed in this hotel in November 2012.

We stayed at the Hillthwaite for my birthday last November, at the time they had a winter warmer offer on which was a 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast offer. The offer included breakfast both mornings and a 5 course meal both evenings. We chose a Superior Room with Lake Views and it was exceedingly reasonable.

I can honestly say that this was one of the best hotel experiences i have had. Whe we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a glass of mulled wine and relaxed in the lounge, the staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. We booked our time slot for dinner and chose our 5 courses for the evening. When we arrived down for dinner we we relaxed in the hotel bar with a drink before being seated at our table. The food was absolutely lovely in every way and the service was excellent. The breakfast next morning was wonderful and there was an array of choices on the menu.
The room we chose was right on the front of the hotel and the view of windermere and the lake was astonishing, the room was very very clean,spacious and luxurious and came equipped with wonderful spa bathroom.
The hotel has a lovely sauna, pool and steam room which we took full advantage of.
I had a wonderful stay last year and am planning the same trip this Winter. I will most certainly be back! I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Absolutely wonderful!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your great late review, it was a timely reminder that after all the good weather we have had this year- well for the Lake District anyway, the nights are beginning to draw in and our Winter Warmer offers will soon be available again. I am so pleased you enjoyed your winter break and thank you for mentioning especially the food and the staff. Everyone's worked so hard this summer season to try and make all of our guests feel special and now its time for the warmth of the welcome at the Hillthwaite to be turned up even more to compensate for the change in temperature! I do hope you manage to come back and see us, the fantastic autumnal colours will soon be with us and we get some beautifully crisp winter days which evoke so many memories for our guests both past and present. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.
The room was lovely and clean - we both slept well.
The evening meals were delicious and considering the quality and the number of courses very good value. The breakfast was great as well.
The staff were excellent.
I would definately stay there again.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Edison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your concise and very positive review. Its great when it appears that we have met your expectations for the three main essentials of any hotel visit, good food, good staff and very important a good night's sleep. Glad to see you are hoping to return and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We picked Hillthwaite House at the last minute for a long weekend (August 2013) and had a lovely relaxing time. We opted for a Superior room with lake view and it was lovely, with a four-poster bed and jacuzzi bath as well as the view. The hotel has a pool, sauna and steam room. It's not large, but makes the most of what it has, with a comfortable lounge, small conservatory and bar, as well as the restaurant where one was drenched in luxury. The staff were without fail attentive and friendly, and the facilities and rooms clean. Walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness (15-25 minutes). Almost too comfortable! Ideal for couples. Check hotel website for offers - they often have good ones.

Room Tip: A lake view is more expensive but we thought worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. Glad that your last minute decision turned out to be a good one! I realise that choosing a hotel you haven't visited before is sometimes a bit of a gamble especially, when there is the occasional negative Trip Advisor review attached to it. However, we are professional enough to understand that we cannot please everyone despite all our best efforts to meet their expectations, so thank you for trusting the vast majority of our reviewers and deciding to come to stay with us. You kindly emphasise the one word we want all our guests to feel when they visit us 'comfortable'. No pretentious stuffiness just good honest warm and welcoming hospitality, after all that's what hotel-keeping is all about isn't it. I have passed on your kind comments about the food-thank you and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back on some future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from spending three nights at Hillthwaite and we can not wait to return. On arrival we were greeted at reception and after receiving detailed information about the facilities etc, we were shown to our room. Even that personal touch of accompanying us to our room rather than just directing us was very much appreciated. Our room was a classic lake view type which was perfectly comfortable for our stay.

We booked the Hillthwaite following a travelzoo 2 night stay offer. We opted to add an additional night on B&B basis and then dined elsewhere on that night. The food quality and the service in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The evening menu changes each evening and there are about 4 or 5 choices for all courses. Breakfasts are cooked to order and I can thoroughly recommend the eggs benedict.

The lounge/relaxation areas are well appointed. There is a conservatory, a bar area and a lovely cosy lounge with plenty of seating. We enjoyed relaxing and playing cards in there after dinner.

We also used the leisure facilities while we were there. The swimming pools is small but perfectly suitable for a leisurely swim. My hubby said the steam room and sauna were considerably better than some others he has used in 4/5 star hotels

The staff work incredibly hard and clearly take pride in their work. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILESnMILES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that you were happy with your Travel Zoo package, it has certainly been very popular this year. All the team take great pride in what we are doing and it is really very satisfying when guests take the time to recognise this. Our leisure facilities may not be the most luxurious or spacious in the world but like yourselves the majority of our guests appreciate the convenience of these being 'on-site.' I have passed on your comments about the food and service and these as usual were very much appreciated. Lovely to see that you are planning to return and I look forward to being able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was my first trip to the Lake District and I was not disappointed, the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring lake Windermere. The hotel was first class, rooms very clean and comfortable. the staff are professional, warm, welcoming and knowledgable. The food was excellent with a good choice menu. Views from the lounge, dining room and front bedrooms are fantastic. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad we helped to make your first trip to our beautiful part of the country a success. You obviously felt that our star performers, the food, the staff and the views came up to expectations, whilst, as I have said before we can't claim any credit for the views your comments about the staff and the food have been passed on and they were very much appreciated-thank you. Great to read that you will be definitely coming back and I look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing