We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,662)
Filter reviews
1,662 results
Traveler rating
1,036
390
145
61
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
390
145
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room scones course meal classic room afternoon tea swimming pool on arrival lovely hotel high standard bay window my partner cream tea booked this hotel lake district breakfast and dinner restaurant staff log fire
Filter
Updating list...
1,284 - 1,289 of 1,662 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from a two night break at the lakes after staying here at Hillthwaite house, i must admit this hotel was only chosen as it was part of a living social offer (you can tell why)

The hotel itself i feel was poorly described as it is not on Lake Windermere at all and in deed a decent walk to the lake, however the views were nice and the hotel was decent. The room was clean and looked after, fresh towels and water provided daily. However again not as described as i had paid extra to upgrade to a superior room which was meant to have a four poster bed...it didn't but not really a big issue.

The food and the staff were what let this hotel down in our opinion, the staff are mostly foreign. No problem at all with this however it is quite hard to communicate when they don't understand simple questions about breakfast?! The food itself was very dissapointing, the breakfast we thought would be a buffet style of fruit/cereal/pastries when infact if you wish to order croisants for example this is considered an additional breakfast to which we had to pay £5.00 additional. The breakfast itself would not fill a child, served with 8 baked beans and 1 tiny sauage, 1 strip of bacon and 1 egg. The toast is served stone cold with rock hard butter which doesn't melt as the toast is so cold. After sampling the breakfast we chose not to eat here in the evenings and ventured into the town.

Finally the hotel itself is very warm, i am usually a person who feels the cold but this hotel was uncomfortably hot at times. Overall i would class this as a budget hotel but i definately think there are better hotels around to chose from.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Collette_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, however, I must admit that I took a sharp intake of breath when I read that you had been charged an extra £5 for croissants, this should not have happened for which I apologise most sincerely. As Trip Advisor reviewers have to remain anonymous it is not possible for us to refund this charge directly to you but I have taken the liberty of adding the £5 to our next donation to the Langdale and Ambleside Mountain Rescue team which I trust you will approve of.

I am sorry that you found our Lakeland breakfast to be inadequate and for that reason you decided not to have dinner in our restaurant. You will see from many previous Trip Advisor reviewers our food consistently receives high praise . The breakfast should have consisted of bacon, choice of eggs, Cumberland sausage, tomato, mushrooms, fried bread, black pudding and baked beans, I can asure you that for the majority of our guests this adequately meets their needs, however for guests with a heartier appetite we are always happy to provide larger portions of individual breakfast items and a quiet word with the breakfast supervisor would have quickly remedid the situation.

Hotels come in all shapes, sizes and prices, so with respect your comment that there are 'definitely better' hotels must be put into context. Whilst we always welcome unbiased reviewer opinions, the question of what is 'better' and what is 'not better' is and will always remain a question of personal opinion and judgement- in other words what suits one doesn't suit another! However, thank you once again for providing your personal assessment of our hotel and your comments have been duly noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked our break via a living social deal which turned out to be great value for money,we had booked an annex room 2 months previous but on arrival found out they had given it to someone else,not a great thing to do ,but nevertheless we agreed to stay in a lake view room with a free meal and bottle of wine given to us for there mistake.
The service and food we had during our stay was absolutely excellent and couldnt of asked for better,the 3 chefs and staff are a credit to the hotel.
The dining room is very nicely laid out and you dont feel invaded like you can in other establishments,and you keep the same table throughout your stay.
We would definetly go back if we were visiting windermere.

Room tip: lake view room
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvdwrght7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the fact that we moved your room without first consulting you, it was a genuine error on our part and I can assure you that it was done with the best of intentions. However, we are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at the Hillthwaite and your kind comments regarding the food and service have been passed on to all concerned, as I said to a previous reviewer positive comments are always most welcome and encourage us to try even harder to meet all our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very good hotel with excellent food and service.Staff are very helpful and obliging.Nothing is too much trouble.Room was very clean and comfortable.Only stayed 1 night but would certainly return.Breakfast was excellent.Had a bar meal previous night which was also very good.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birtley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your review I have passed your kind comments on to all concerned. We do try to ensure that all our food whether served in the restaurant or the bar is of the same high quality and of course this includes breakfast which for many of our guests is the last meal with us they remember and upon which this quality is judged. I am glad to read that you would certainly return to the Hillthwaite and look forward to welcoming you back on some future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Most probably the best £99 we have ever spent. Bed, breakfast and 5 course candle lit evening mean (very fine dining). Voucher for a free tea/coffee each and use of the swimming pool/sauna. Travelzoo deal. Took my husband for a one night luxury break and it was just that.....luxury. We received a very warm welcome at reception and were shown to our room which had a lovely view over Windermere. We decided to pop down for a scone and a coffee as we hadn't got chance to lunch en route and we took it in the conservatory which has really lovely views over the Lakes. Then we chilled in our room for a couple of hours before dinner. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in to be honest. The room was spotless. Very nicely decorated and it looked fresh too. The bathroom was an adequate size with a luxurious jacuzzi bath which we both enjoyed during our stay. We booked dinner for 8pm which gave us time to have a pre dinner drink in the bar. There are several areas where you can do this, a lovely lounge area which has a log fire, the bar area, the conservatory. We were handed a menu by the very pleasant barman and we made our choices (after a good while deliberating). We were shown through to our table and enjoyed a fabulous leisurely 5 course meal over the next 2 hours. The food was amazing and extremely well presented, the service was excellent, everyone seems happy in their jobs. The only thing I would say was that we were both very warm during dinner however we did mention this to our waiter who immediately turned off the radiator directly next to our table. The breakfast was equally as enjoyable and well presented. Our experience of checking out was a pleasant one, a very nice lady who asked if we had enjoyed our stay. We most definitely would recommend this hotel, exceptional value also if you can grab a special offer/deal.

Room tip: Room 20 has a jacuzzi bath
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Your review was certainly very much appreciated by us all at the Hillthwaite. We realise that from time to time, despite all our efforts, we don't get things quite right but when we receive a review such as yours it is a great morale booster for everyone and more than makes up for the 'slings and arrows of outrageous fortune' that we have to occasionally to endure. So from everyone a big thank-you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, we have special offers, available throughout the year and our previous guests are especially welcome to avail themselves of these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night groupon stay that we received as a Xmas present. The location was great with a 10 min walk to either Windermere or bowness...the room we had was basic but clean with a nice bathroom and hot shower..the staff were friendly and accommodating. The service in the restaurant was very good and the food was excellent..the only downside for us was how late the restaurant serve the evening meal it was quite frustrating trying to keep a 2 year old awake and entertained till the food arrived. After the starter it was clear we wasn't able to continue with the meal without disturbing the other guests meals..so a quick word with the service manager and he was able to have the rest of the meal up to the room so we could get my daughter to bed, so he gets top marks for service!
Overall we enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it...we would have had a meal on the second night if it wasn't so late so we had to make other arrangements to eat elsewhere a lot earlier...but taking this into account we would go back.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, sorry our dinner times were a little late for your requirements, we do try and accommodate earlier dining for children whenever it is possible, but we do realise that occasionally this doesn't fit in with the usual eating times of some of our junior guests for which we apologise. However, I am pleased to read that despite this you would be happy to make a return visit to the Hillthwaite and I look forward to welcoming back on some future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews