We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillthwaite
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
$277
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
$132
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveler rating
972
368
135
58
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
368
135
58
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealclassic roomsmall poolon arrivallovely hotelafternoon teabay windowhigh standardlake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelcream tearestaurant staffbreakfast and dinnershort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,189 - 1,194 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

it was our 10th wedding anniversary and wanted simething special. this is what we got. hotel lovely. fantastic breakfasts and evening meal. nice areas to chilax in. great location. overall we r extremely happy with our choice. would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Congratulations on your 10th anniversary. We are really glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked this hotel after being recommended by a work colleague to take a break for my wifes birthday and we was very disappointed. We visit the lakes at least twice a year and looked forward to trying somewhere different. When we arrived we wasnt spoken to very much just shown our room which we found to be spacious but very dated furniture and decor. It was a superior room so we exspected more, the only thing good about the room was the view.. The tea/coffee facilities very limited only 1 packet of biscuits between two of us, which I thought very tight.. The curtains in the room (242) did not close although there was blinds which did not meet so let the light in. We found the the breakfast to be limited (small portions) to what we have been used to on previous visits to other hotels. The only member of staff which we found to be polite was an english speaking lady in the restaurant who asked us if we were ok. When we checked out of the hotel and paying our bill no-one spoke to us, or asked us if we had had a nice stay, just took our money without any comment.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex so we do not know what the rooms are like in the main hotel, although the staff will still be the same. The room next door to us also had two dogs which yapped quite alot...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveanjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and for pointing out the shortcomings of the room in which you stayed. We are planning an upgrade of all the rooms in that section, and your feedback on them is valued. I am concerned that you felt that were not acknowledged, or communicated much with during the course of your stay and on check out. We have a reputation as a freindly and welcoming hotel, according to the majority of our reviews, but if we were not on this occasion, then I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just had a 4 night stay on DB&B and have thoroughly enjoyed it. A warm welcome greeted us upon arrival as did the comfortable, welcoming lounges one of which has spectacular views over Windermere - town and lake, all with the backdrop of the mountain peaks.
The food was excellent from the freshly cooked-to-order breakfast, through the tasty beef sandwiches and hot scones (yes, freshly baked to order!) at lunch time, to an outstanding 5 course evening meal with a varied menu each night.
Our room (19) was very comfortable and spacious with a nice rear view of the hills, spoiled only by a noisy staff entrance door below the room and the lack of water pressure which made for a very disappointing shower. However, neither could dampen (no pun intended) our general enthusiasm for the hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful and couldn't be faulted.
We will definitely be having a repeat visit and would recommend it to anyone looking for a pampered break in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Front facing a must for the view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the food, and we will get that shower seen to... We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just had a two night break in the Hillthwaite House Hotel.We went to see what it was like as we have already booked for a family gathering in the autumn to celebrate our ruby wedding. We were not disappointed.
All the staff were most welcoming and helpful. The menu for the five course evening meal could not be faulted. Everything was delicious and piping hot and beautifully presented. The menu was completely different on both evenings. It is no trouble at all to select the first courses before 7pm.
The breakfasts were excellent. There was a good range of cereals, fruit, jams etc and there was a good choice for the cooked breakfast. You will not go hungry!
The lounges were very comfortable and we appreciated the fire after a long walk during the day. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and there is also a sauna and steam room to relax in.
Our bedroom was comfortable and clean and the bathroom had some nice toiletries for our use.

The location of the hotel is really good as you are near enough to walk in to the town and also you can walk to the ferry and then do a beautiful circular walk. With parking difficulties around the lakes it is very useful having such a good base from which to start a walk.

We are looking forward to our visit with our family in the autumn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaufortmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for such a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the food and the service. We look forward to seeing you again in the autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upgrade room was very comfortable if quite small. Hotel good position on hill with views from the lounge and conservatory. Bath screen had no seal so floor got wet but toiletries were good. First 2 course of meal were excellent but sorbet a sweet, sickly concoction. Main course was good, pudding of roulade was inedible. Are there 2 different chefs at work here? The after dinner cafetiere of coffee was dreadful and £1 extra was on the bill for my husband's espresso. My morning tea came with a large pot of water and a tea bag. What a bizarre arrangement! All in all a pleasant stay. The hotel obviously does their best to please but small things are letting it down

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suebmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

A couple of things have let us down, but I am glad that overall you had a comfortable and relaxing stay. A few ups and downs with food as you have pointed out, and some things that we can definitely change. Thank you for your comments, and we hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews