We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed breakfast and evening meal per Xmas for family”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bed breakfast and evening meal per Xmas for family”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked directly with hillthwaite day before for two nights for family with small child under one. Explained needed room that was suitable for family and not too far from facilities as had a buggy to take to room. On arriving room was up two flights of stairs certainly not suitable for a buggy. Was told we could leave it in the conservatory at our own risk! The break was meant to include a Christmas evening with entertainment. All that happened was one of the workers played Christmas music whilst we ate our meal then played songs we had to guess to win a bottle! Was told not enough people so the entertainment had been cancelled. The next morning at breakfast we were seated at the same table and found that the high chair hadn't been cleaned and the food from the evening before had not been cleaned off the floor! All in all not a restful break! Also there were still clothes in the drawers left by previous people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callum2937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKER, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review – we appreciate the time taken to respond. It’s safe to say we could have done better here. The highchair should have been cleaned thoroughly and you should have been told that the formal entertainment had been cancelled (as everyone else was). I believe we did find lodgings for your buggy. Please be assured that our staff will be disappointed to hear your feedback, particularly after a run of very positive TripAdvisor reviews. We would of course, be delighted to welcome you back and endeavour to offer you the relaxing break that many of our loyal customers believe we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    338
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,038
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We came here on a two night Living Social Deal and had a great stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, the lounges a great place to relax, the food excellent and the room had everything we needed. A special thank you to Paula for her friendliness

Room Tip: Room 25 - was fairly small with no view but lacked nothing and the bathroom was particularly good wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missiwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have had Sunday lunch here on several occasions and it has always been excellent. There are plenty of comfortable sofas in the bar to sit and have a drink whilst you peruse the menu. The food is plentiful and hot and a good, varied choice. We had the roast beef which came on the medium rare side - fine for us but would not suit all palates. Good choice of wine including several by the glass and not overpriced. The formal dining room is lovely, with damask tablecloths and napkins and the most beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and mountains. The service is friendly and efficient and unrushed. We shall certainly return and at £14.50 for three courses it is very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came back yestderday after having 2 brilliant nights stay at the Hillthwaite. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. We had a superior room with lake view, the room was really nice and we had a lovely rolltop bath in the bathroom which was brilliant. We found the food at the hotel to be excellent, if you like quality food you won't be dissapointed. We would definatley recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a two night break at the Hillthwaite on a joint birthday celebration and we had an amazing time. Warm reception on arrival, with helpful staff throughout. Special mention to Paula who was most helpful when taking our booking over the phone.
We had a superior room with lake view....fabulous. Huge comfy bed. big flat screen tv/dvd, beautiful decor and spacious modern bathroom.
We pre ordered champagne on arrival which was a nice touch.
We had the 5 course / breakfast deal and couldnt fault the food or service enough. light and airy dining room with a great view.
Very intimate and cosy hotel, with warm lounge / log burning fire and a welcoming bar area / tv room.
The hotel is well located for both Bowness and Windermere (about 10min walk) and like wise to the lake. We found Bowness the better of the two with more attractions and boat trips etc.
Overall, a great place to visit and will definately be back.

Room Tip: Room 12 superior room has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked the hotel for 17/11/12 and stayed in a classic with a view. The room was in the annex building. From booking into the hotel and leaving the service was quick responsive and particularly in the restaurant was fantastic. The meals are excellent and i ate food i did not think i would like and loved it. Every thing about the hotel was good, but as you would expect the hotel slightly dated but certainly not as dated as most around there.

Two slight glitches, £6.60 for a wine is costly but around the going rate in the hotels but the locals are much cheaper, and the pool is very nice with the sauna and steam room but the pool goes from 1metre to 2 metre deep quickly and is not swimmable. Im 6 foot and kept banging my legs on the floor.

Overall a good hotel and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Do the 5 course meal it is well priced and the local eateries are very expensive and not to this sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger090304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited Hillthwaite for the fifth time in September with my husband for a short break and again in November with 6 friends. As usual we had a lovely relaxing time despite the disappointing weather. Thankfully the hotel has a lovely comfy lounge with a log fire to sit and relax in or you can choose the conservatory. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable with excellent beds. The staff are very friendly and we love the food. The portion sizes are perfectly adequate when you are having 5 courses!! The pool is small but seldom busy when we have been there and the steam room and sauna are available at any time. We found this relaxing after a day out and gave us more options within the hotel when the weather was bad. We enjoy this hotel and will be back again in the spring.

Room Tip: The hotel sits on the hillside in Windermere and rooms at the front look down over the town to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing