We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have had Sunday lunch here on several occasions and it has always been excellent. There are plenty of comfortable sofas in the bar to sit and have a drink whilst you peruse the menu. The food is plentiful and hot and a good, varied choice. We had the roast beef which came on the medium rare side - fine for us but would not suit all palates. Good choice of wine including several by the glass and not overpriced. The formal dining room is lovely, with damask tablecloths and napkins and the most beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and mountains. The service is friendly and efficient and unrushed. We shall certainly return and at £14.50 for three courses it is very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
There are newer reviews for Hillthwaite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came back yestderday after having 2 brilliant nights stay at the Hillthwaite. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. We had a superior room with lake view, the room was really nice and we had a lovely rolltop bath in the bathroom which was brilliant. We found the food at the hotel to be excellent, if you like quality food you won't be dissapointed. We would definatley recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a two night break at the Hillthwaite on a joint birthday celebration and we had an amazing time. Warm reception on arrival, with helpful staff throughout. Special mention to Paula who was most helpful when taking our booking over the phone.
We had a superior room with lake view....fabulous. Huge comfy bed. big flat screen tv/dvd, beautiful decor and spacious modern bathroom.
We pre ordered champagne on arrival which was a nice touch.
We had the 5 course / breakfast deal and couldnt fault the food or service enough. light and airy dining room with a great view.
Very intimate and cosy hotel, with warm lounge / log burning fire and a welcoming bar area / tv room.
The hotel is well located for both Bowness and Windermere (about 10min walk) and like wise to the lake. We found Bowness the better of the two with more attractions and boat trips etc.
Overall, a great place to visit and will definately be back.

Room Tip: Room 12 superior room has great views
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked the hotel for 17/11/12 and stayed in a classic with a view. The room was in the annex building. From booking into the hotel and leaving the service was quick responsive and particularly in the restaurant was fantastic. The meals are excellent and i ate food i did not think i would like and loved it. Every thing about the hotel was good, but as you would expect the hotel slightly dated but certainly not as dated as most around there.

Two slight glitches, £6.60 for a wine is costly but around the going rate in the hotels but the locals are much cheaper, and the pool is very nice with the sauna and steam room but the pool goes from 1metre to 2 metre deep quickly and is not swimmable. Im 6 foot and kept banging my legs on the floor.

Overall a good hotel and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Do the 5 course meal it is well priced and the local eateries are very expensive and not to this sta...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger090304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited Hillthwaite for the fifth time in September with my husband for a short break and again in November with 6 friends. As usual we had a lovely relaxing time despite the disappointing weather. Thankfully the hotel has a lovely comfy lounge with a log fire to sit and relax in or you can choose the conservatory. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable with excellent beds. The staff are very friendly and we love the food. The portion sizes are perfectly adequate when you are having 5 courses!! The pool is small but seldom busy when we have been there and the steam room and sauna are available at any time. We found this relaxing after a day out and gave us more options within the hotel when the weather was bad. We enjoy this hotel and will be back again in the spring.

Room Tip: The hotel sits on the hillside in Windermere and rooms at the front look down over the town to the l...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I paid the top price on an offer, which gave a superior suite with jacuzzi for £239. Not cheap at half price. The bedroom was an attic type room with a normal bath jacuzzi - certainly NOT the lovely big white one as shown in the picture I saw, and to make matters worse, the jacuzzi didn't even work :( After a complaint to reception the "engineer" sent to me was the Maitre De from the restaurant, and he couldn't fix it. The shower (over said bath) was weak - not at all the power shower I was expecting for this kind of money spent - and the hot tap practically dribbled until fully cranked up! The 5 course meal was tasty.,..but don't starve your self for it! The main course (I had to spend an EXTRA £7.50 for the fillet steak) is the only course that is anywhere near filling. The room was cleaned after night number 1, but biscuits etc not replenished in the room...basically, I felt that the hotel is excellent at marketing itself, but not at delivering the value of goods. Great at taking a lot of money for good service (the hard working restaurant staff were top notch), but I received an average room and food. I had room service on evening number 2, and had a nice club sandwich (chips were another £2.50 on top of the £11), and didn't get any sauces etc offered, and when a lady knocked on the door to check the order, she mentioned that she had been trying to ring my room from reception but the phone obviously wasn't working! Not great if they needed to contact me in an emergency! I wasn't offered any refund for my dodgy jacuzzi - my whole reason for agreeing to choose this particular hotel over others. Considering this was a treat - and one I can't afford to do very often - sadly, it left me rather disappointed :(

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was a very good place to stay for touring around the Lake District, we spent 2 nights here on the deal which included 5 course dinner each evening and breakfast each morning, the food in the evening was presented well and some lovely flavours, however, my one warning is do not pay £1.50 extra for the cheese board, you get as much cheese as you would put in a mouse trap.
That said, the service from everyone was very friendly and all very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

It is a dog friendly hotel so Archie our Golden Retriever came along also, dogs are allowed in the bedrooms and conservatory area, which is a tad cold in the evening, especially with people coming and going through the side door, and leaving the door open (a lot more people than I thought were born in a barn), however, I cannot blame the hotel for that, as they were just as welcoming to the dog as they were to the humans.

We had a great relaxing stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, Room 34 only has a view of the back car park.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $173 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing