We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillthwaite
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveler rating
961
368
133
57
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
368
133
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealclassic roomsmall poolon arrivallovely hotelafternoon teabay windowhigh standardlake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelcream tearestaurant staffbreakfast and dinnershort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife organised a special 50th birthday break at the Hillthwaite house hotel for two nights bed breakfast and dinner the stay was very pleasant with great views of the lake and fells beyond. The hotel is ideally placed for everything in the lakes, from leisure walking and shopping to more active activities. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable with jacuzzi bath, the meals were excellent, and the staff very attentive,, there is a pool and sauna/steam room. The other guests were friendly with a wide range of ages.. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punchyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In total agreement with the other reviewers that this is a special hotel.we stayed in a loft room with lake and mountain view .exceptionally clean ,lovely large bed,plenty of hanging space,gorgeous fluffy towels,fab bathroom ,flat screen tv and a fridge.the food?amazing !top restaurant presentation and so good.well done to all at the hillthwaite

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritchieFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself & my Hubby love the lakes & our stay at this hotel made it even more memorable. Fantastic cream tea whilst looking at the fantastic view. The evening meal was sooooooo scrummy & the breakfast just topped off the wonderful stay. THANK YOU to all those who make this place so great, hope tou visit again soon

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wardys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel, it is very welcoming, the staff are very friendly and the food fantastic. We had a superior lake view room with a very nice bathroom, the hotel is spotless and very homely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We last went her about 2 years ago and had an offer in the post that was too good to pass up.We were a bit concerned it might have changed but if it has only what was needed to keep it looking as good. Our room looked over the lake, lovely jacuzzi bath. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast and dinner were, as in the past, yummy. For me even better as they had a Veggie full English and the veggie meals were innovative and well balanced. I'm now determined to try and reproduce the Stilton Bavarois. I've already checked for more offers as we think we may treat ourselves to a little escape from the real world every month or so. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. We intended to swim but never got around to using the pool. If you love good food you'll enjoy a break in Hillthwaite.I need to say that anyone with mobility problems would have to take their car if they went out as it is on a very steep hill, but that's why the views are so good.

Room Tip: All rooms look good but the ones looking across the village to the Lakes are wonderful for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeliaBadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews