We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On arrival, we found the hotel to have some lovely views. We sat and had afternoon tea (with a warm scone), looking out over Lake Windermere and the surrounding hills. Dinner was delicious, we think this was the real stand out feature of the hotel for us, with helpful (tho' sometimes slow) service, and excellent quality food, beautifully presented, and well thought out. Our room was in the annex, and although it was huge and comfortable, (with three televisions???), it could do with some soundproofing - we were woken several times in the night by someone's dog and child running around upstairs. Breakfast made up for our poor night's sleep however, with once again, beautifully prepared and tasty food to set us up for the day. I'd consider staying again, but would request an top floor room, as you never can tell who else is staying there too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickandLauraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,470)
There are newer reviews for Hillthwaite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for two nights in August 2012. The setting is lovely, high up so you get excellent views of Windermere. On entry the hotel perhaps looks a little dated, however, our room was really nice and well furnished. The staff were very helpful, particularly the restaurant staff - service from them was excellent. The package we stayed on included afternoon tea both evenings and a five course dinner on one evening.The afternoon tea was lovely both days, we took it outside which was really pleasant, and the pimms was a nice touch. I was sceptical about the five course dinner, and wasn't expecting much but I was very much pleasantly surprised- the food was excellent and there was a very wide choice for all courses. I can't comment on value for money, because it was bought for us as a wedding gift, but overall we had a really good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leama1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on DBB rate in a "classic lake view" room. Very pleased with the food overall and the location of the the hotel as not too far to walk into Bowness or Windermere and a lovely view from the dining room and terrace of Lake Windermere. The afternoon tea, scones and Pimms was a nice touch. Good to have a pool (particularly after a day's walking)but not really esigned for a proper swim. Room was OK but was over the entrance to the hotel and where the smokers seemed to congregate so the smell wafting into our room wasn't pleasant but the staff did their best to sort this problem out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakehCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at the Hillthwaite House Hotel for our 15th wedding anniversary. We go away to different hotels every year, but for once we were made to feel really special. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Card and chocolates in our room on arrival, which was a nice thought. The room was extremely clean. We booked DBB, the food was exceptional, as was the service. As part of the deal we had homemade scones, a pot of tea and a glass of pimms - very nice touch. The pool is quite small but adequate a bit on the cool side. If you're use to large corporate hotels then try this hotel as it is more individual and the staff/food are fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Menu well thought out as usual !! really wouldnt fualt the five courses , lovely dining room and resturant staff . Enjoyed stunning views over the lake . Room was clean and pleasant . The only let down unfriendly grey haired chap on reception and the pool could be alot more spacious Simon and Ruth

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have just had 3 nights at Hillthwaite House and loved every minute of our stay.The 5 course dinners are excellent and interesting and always presented really nicely. We were so lucky too to be shown to a table in the Dinig Room with a super view so this added to our enjoyment. The Dining Room staff are most professional but friendly too.We had an excellent value for money break and look forward to being back before too long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillO930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent one night here in August. The hotel has a lovely location with terraces looking down to Lake Windermere. The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean and smart. We had a jacuzzi bath at no extra cost! The deal was fantastic including home made scones, complimentary prosecco, a 5 course dinner and full English breakfast. The food was very good and we would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maggielou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $173 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing