We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merewood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveler rating
715
115
35
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
115
35
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teadrawing roombridal suitewedding breakfastbeautiful hotelwedding venueroaring log fireperfect venuesconespublic roomsa lake view roomcourse mealstunning viewsafternoon teahead chefsister hotelspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 871 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We have just had our wedding ceremony at Merewood, and I can not recommend it highly enough. I have never written reviews for hotels before, or indeed restaurants, but felt compelled to do so for these guys. If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, then this is for you.
Beautiful scenery, incredible staff, awesome food and sheer luxury in the rooms. This place just ticks all the boxes. I have never met people who were so helpful. Joe, our wedding co-ordinator is fantastic, as was Lorna, but all the staff there are just superb, nothing was a problem, really helpful just when you need it. Very organised, just superb.
The food was excellent, better than a great many high class restaurants we have been to. People were even taking pictures of the desert!
I can not say a bad word about Merewood and the staff there in any way. They all made our day wonderful, really wonderful.
Special mention to Poncho, my fellow biking buddy, he looked after me all evening and kept me supplied with a drink at all times!
Thank you very much to all at Merewood.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeButterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

OMG!! The Merewood Country House Hotel is the most amazing place you could ever imagine to have your special day at...

We were recommended the Merewood by my Aunt who is always involved with weddings and has attended many a wedding. As we live in Surrey (born and bred Lakes girl) we found it hard to find the perfect location for our perfect day with not being able to travel up there so often. So when we came across the Merewood it was love at first sight.

We booked it up 2 years ago and have had the best support and communication ever from all of the amazing staff at the house. As we couldn't just pop in when and if required Joe and Helen kept in constant contact with us, which was an absolute blessing.

The big day itself was amazing and we had sole exclusivity of the Merewood for the entire weekend. This was perfect as we had guests travelling from all corners, staying all weekend and as the ceremony and the event were all held in the one venue it made it so easy for everyone.

Joe, Helen and Jenny run the whole day with military precision but you would never have known the were actually there. They are amazing people!! The food was delicious and so much of it we all nearly popped by the end of the evening. I highly recommend going for the mini cones of fish & chips yum yum yum...

The rooms were in excellent condition with all of the facilities you would require. If it wasn't in your room, reception would more than likely have it for you! If you are staying in the first floor rooms then I am certain you will be blown away by the views of the surrounding grounds and on a clear day you will also enjoy the beautiful sight of Lake Windermere. Breath taking...

I also highly recommend that if you are holding a wedding or special event here, to use their florist Michelle Fullerton at Valerie Ann's Florist in Windermere as she blew us away with what she did for us and complimented it all with similar flowers around the house.

We can't thank everybody at the Merewood enough for making not just our day special but a day to be remembered by all of our family and friends to!!

Thank you Merewood

Karen & Pete xXx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwbeetle_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My daughter was married at the Merewood in a civil ceremony. Everything about the wedding was magical and because of the friendly, professional staff prior arrangements, ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening reception just happened seemingly effortlessly leaving the wedding party absolutely stress free. I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing was too much trouble and the food was second to none. The location is wonderful and majestic and yet, for the two days we spent there it felt like home. Many, many thanks and long may you reign as the most perfect of wedding venues!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue-fray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

As Father of the Bride , I was nervous about many things , speech included. The wedding was two years in the planning, I had every confidence in the Team at the Merewood. Our wedding on the 17th July 2010 was superb, everything fell into place , Helen ,Lorna, and all the Staff were fantastic , many thanks. People said you would know and feel right about the venue , as a family we did . All our guests had a superb day . wedding breakfast was as good as any Michelin * Restaurant . We will be back for Sunday tastings!. Luckily I have three daughters , need to persuade others, hopefully we will be back. Martin , Julie , Natalie, Ben and Guests. All our expectations full -filled.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msamos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

just back from 4 wonderful days at merewood to celebrate our ruby wedding .hotel & food still as good as ever .our third stay here .our daughters wedding was held here 7 years ago .the staff are so friendly

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeherbert19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews