We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughters Wedding Day Superb 10/10 A** Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Daughters Wedding Day Superb 10/10 A** Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

As Father of the Bride , I was nervous about many things , speech included. The wedding was two years in the planning, I had every confidence in the Team at the Merewood. Our wedding on the 17th July 2010 was superb, everything fell into place , Helen ,Lorna, and all the Staff were fantastic , many thanks. People said you would know and feel right about the venue , as a family we did . All our guests had a superb day . wedding breakfast was as good as any Michelin * Restaurant . We will be back for Sunday tastings!. Luckily I have three daughters , need to persuade others, hopefully we will be back. Martin , Julie , Natalie, Ben and Guests. All our expectations full -filled.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msamos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    93
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
176
388
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

just back from 4 wonderful days at merewood to celebrate our ruby wedding .hotel & food still as good as ever .our third stay here .our daughters wedding was held here 7 years ago .the staff are so friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeherbert19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We had our daughters wedding last weekend and the position of the hotel, overlooking Lake Windermere, was absolutely fantastic. Every single guest had a great time, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was unbelievable. You couldn't beat this hotel wherever you went in the world and the service was 5*.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

We recently had our wedding reception at the Merewood Country House Hotel. It was perfect! The venue and views were stunning, the staff were lovely, professional and friendly. Their attention to detail was outstanding and the food was amazing! This was always going to be the best day of our lives but the Merewood helped to make sure that it really was! With thanks to Lorna, Helen, Joe and the rest of the staff x

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoloco20_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had our wedding last weekend at the Merewood Hotel, and could not possibly be more pleased with the venue we chose. All our guests commented not only on the splendor of the surroundings, but also on the fact that every one of the staff were helpful, friendly and professional.
From the moment we went to the Merewood to view it as a possiblilty we were impressed with the care and dedication the staff obviously take in making sure you get the wedding you want. Helen, in particular, was extremely helpful in coming up with suggestions and soloutions to issues that cropped up. Not least the fact that she delved under my dress at the last minute to sort out a hoop that was acting up just as I was about to walk down the aisle. That really was going above and beyond the call of duty.
And she did it with her usual cool head.. much appreciated.
Everyone that attended the wedding had a really magical time, and we attribute this fact to the location we chose. The food was very impressive, considering they were catering for big numbers they certainly didn't comprimise on quality (or portion sizes).
We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Merewood as a Wedding location, and are only sorry we only get to get married there once.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Warrington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We've stayed at many top class hotels in the UK, and this certainly ranks as one of the most wonderful we have ever come across.

The service is perfectly pitched, with the most genuinely friendly, welcoming and efficient staff you could wish for. Literally nothing is too much trouble and guests are welcomed as friends by every member of the Team.

The food is truly outstanding: the highest quality ingredients prepared and served beautifully and with a real "wow" factor. During our 3 night stay, when I was unsure about one of the starters, the chef was only too happy to create a special dish of my choice, and even remembered my preferences the following evening. Breakfasts were also delicious with everything from the breads to the preserves home made.

The setting is breathtaking, and the lake views, (particularly from rooms 2 and 7) are stunning; it's also the only Lake District hotel we've come across which doesn't charge a premium for lake view rooms, and staff will happily reserve specific rooms on request. Don't be afraid to ask for advice as they gladly describe and recommend individual rooms to suit guests preferences. Many of the rooms are incredibly spacious and light and the views would be really hard to beat.

Merewood is not a formal, pompous hotel, but a welcoming, relaxing retreat which is a joy to return to each day. Although there are slight signs of wear and tear here and there, the stanadards of food, service and setting make it a 5* experience. There are fesh flowers everywhere and roaring log fires on colder days. Although the hotel mainly caters for weddings at weekends, they have excellent value midweek breaks throughout the year and the atmospher couldn't be more calm and relaxing.

We've already booked our 4th return visit, and if you're thinking of booking a stay here, please don't hesitate; it's a truly magical place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

We got married at Merewood in November 2009 and I would heartily recommend the hotel. The service was absolutely outstanding and the food was delicious. Guests actually took photos of the food because it was so beautifully presented and everyone commented on how tasty it all was. Not your standard teeny weeny wedding portions either!

The reception rooms are all beautiful, although our favourite was the cosy library. It was lovely to sit on the window seat and just gaze out at the breathtaking view. The bedrooms vary in size as you would expect in a converted house, but they are all beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

As for the staff, we simply cannot praise them highly enough. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and they thought of what we needed before we knew we needed it! Helen (wedding coordinator), Joe (Deputy Manager) and Kevin were particularly fabulous.

When the staff said 'this is your home for the weekend', we didn't really believe it, but it genuinely feels like the house is 'yours'. Amazing. We would not change a single thing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxFetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing