We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and a beautiful setting”
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We got married at Merewood in November 2009 and I would heartily recommend the hotel. The service was absolutely outstanding and the food was delicious. Guests actually took photos of the food because it was so beautifully presented and everyone commented on how tasty it all was. Not your standard teeny weeny wedding portions either!

The reception rooms are all beautiful, although our favourite was the cosy library. It was lovely to sit on the window seat and just gaze out at the breathtaking view. The bedrooms vary in size as you would expect in a converted house, but they are all beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

As for the staff, we simply cannot praise them highly enough. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and they thought of what we needed before we knew we needed it! Helen (wedding coordinator), Joe (Deputy Manager) and Kevin were particularly fabulous.

When the staff said 'this is your home for the weekend', we didn't really believe it, but it genuinely feels like the house is 'yours'. Amazing. We would not change a single thing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxFetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    95
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
185
403
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We can confirm the accuracy of the previous highly positive reviews of this hotel. We stayed there for three nights and found it to be excellent in every respect. The service was flawless and the staff extremely friendly and professional. The standard of the cuisine (including breakfast) ranked with the best we have experienced in a hotel. The quality of the ingredients, the attention to detail and the presentation of the dishes was outstanding. The home-made breads, jams and chocs were also all delicious.

We have stayed at numerous hotels in the Lake District over the last 20 years and regret that we did not find the Merewood sooner. There are several establishments we could name (but won't) which charge considerably more, and have a high opinion of themselves, but fall well short of the Merewood's overall standards. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed just for 1 night for my husband's birthday. As the hotel was quiet and we booked quite late, we were offered a discounted rate for both B&B and D, B&B. We didn't take them up on the dinner, although it's highly recommended, breakfast was lovely.

Everyone was very friendly, the views are amazing. The rooms are a little noisey when the cleaning etc is taking place, but nothing too bad.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonder2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Have returned from a few days break and in general this is an excellent hotel.
The plus points are the service and the staff, all very helpful and cheerful. The location is superb and the food is some of the best I have had in a hotel.
The only slight minus point is the room we were given was on the small side, but it did have great views.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eck1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

One of the best hotels I've ever been to. Rooms and beds are VERY comfortable, the staff is unbelievably friendly - ALL OF THEM. Excellent service, fantastic food and great great great location. They've assisted us in so many ways while we've been there. If you're going to the Lake district staying with them is a MUST! Thank you guys it's has been amazing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logus97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Where to start when everything was just so perfect ?, the staff, the rooms, the location. the food. Our entire immediate family, have just stayed for two nights at the Merewood Country House Hotel September 11 & 12th 2009. Celebrating the wedding of my husbands son Stephen, and his wife Nichola. The weather was fantastic, but even that was outshone by the ambience and cleanliness of the hotel. I cannot praise the cleaning staff enough for the cleanliness of the entire hotel. The room in which we stayed was so clean you would have thought the bathroom had just been completed by the builders. Bath, toilet and floors were sparkling. Bedding crisp, and the bed was huge and so comfortable, ( no problem with sleeping ), and although our room was at the rear of the hotel, there was a great view of the surrounding woodlands and gorgeous tall pine trees. Which is great, if like me you are a bird spotter. We even saw a fox on the first night. The reception and all the staff were full of smiles, but unobtrusive. Thanks especially to Joe the undermanager, and the blond lady who's name I unfortunately didn't get , who was so kind in arranging alterations to the dinner menu for the wedding meal at such short notice. Getting round to the meals, Breakfasts were brilliant with such a lot to choose from and the cooked meals arrived hot, not luke warm. The wedding dinner itself was exquisite, ( compliments to the chef. ), with every course having your taste buds tingling. And the fish and chips at night were just too moresy for words. The bar in the front of the hotel could be used as a location for a nineteen thirties film like Poirot, or some such thing, with sumptuous leather sofas and potted palms it was tremendous. A real touch of class and romance.
And then of course there is the location. Well what can I say to adequately describe this.
Perched high on a hillside overlooking two parts of the lake the hotel has the benefit of the most dramatic sunsets as the sun goes down over the mountains, and fantastic sunrises as the morning mist lifts off the lake. And with several vantage points with ample seating, you can take your drinks outside and just enjoy the ambience on a nice day or if its raining you get just as good a view from inside. An amazing place to spend your family wedding, or just to get away from it all, treat yourself as recooperation if you've been ill, you deserve it. and well worth every penny. I'm already saving up for my next visit and I'm recommending it to everyone I meet. I reckon if you don't like it here you won't be happy anywhere. Keep up the good work Merewood staff and if any of you read this. See you again . Jackie Hunter.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My daughter Natalie and her husband James held their wedding reception at the Merewood and I can only describe it as the perfect venue. The location is excellent with outstanding views of Windermere and the surrounding countryside. The hotel is warm and inviting and the staff incredibly helpful, friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Thanks to the professionalism and efficiency of Helen the wedding co-ordiator and her team we were able to relax throughout confidant that we were in capable hands. It was like hosting a huge house party without any of the hard work. The food was fantastic with everything of the finest quality and beautifully presented piping hot - a remarkable feat when catering for 120. The meal and service were the prime topics of conversation both on the day and since with many saying it was one of the best meals that they had ever eaten. Indeed many said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. So thank you Helen and all the staff at the Merewood for your advice, help, friendliness and effort. You made our special day perfect and left us with many happy memories.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing