We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We came to this lovely country house for a family birthday party. There were about 30 of us. We expected the food to be good, but not necessarily exciting, but were wrong. There was good choice and every course was beautifully presented, delicious and plentiful. Our servers were young but never the less, the service was professional and rather old school (in a good way).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCherryDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    93
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
176
386
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

oh WOW - what a fabulous place. We booked for a 1 night stay with a voucher and could not have been more thrilled. We had a wonderful stay, the room was just fabulous (and very large) with a Lake view. The whole place is gorgeous and beautifully clean. All of the staff that we encountered were very professional whilst being super warm and friendly. They certaily made us feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The afternoon tea just hit the spot and the meal in the evening was perfect as was breakfast the following morning. The little touches like canapes before dinner and chocolates with coffee afterwards make for it being extra special. (there are also little bowls of sweeties dotted about - how nice is that). Would definately recommend Merewood House to anyone without a doubt. Our complements to all staff on doing an excellant job (including house keeping) and not forgetting the chef of course! Very Well done to all concerned.

Room Tip: A Lakeview room is lovely to wake up to in the morning but I suspect every room has something specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Having been to The Merewood Hotel many times it was the obvious choice for my 70th Birthday.
There were 30 of us 23 adults and 7 children,we all had a fabulous day, thanks to Lorna and her team who are very special, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are friendly and attentive without being overpowering.
We had a few late requests as regards the food, but Lorna dealt with these, without turning a hair, in her usual professional manner, I think she has a magic wand.
My husband and I stayed along with my cousin and her husband and their son and his wife, their rooms overlooked the lake, but our room was booked at the last minute by our sons as a surprise and was not overlooking the lake,but we had lovely trees to look out on, the room was great and the bed very comfortable, we had a very good night's sleep and a delicious breakfast.
I have never stayed anywhere that size that is so spotlessly clean.
Don't let the 3* rating fool you, the food alone is much, much better than that and the whole hotel is beatiful, the whole experience would take some beating.
Thank you Lorna and you superb team for an unforgettable day.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were very nice, clean and had everything you would need I know this is not room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed overnight with my mum with the Travelzoo voucher. This was an absolutely first class hotel ! We loved everything about it! The beautiful surroundings and view from our Lake view room. The service was faultless.The food was outstandng. I cannot wait to go back . Please do another Travelzoo voucher!!! Will stay longer next time

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I went to a friends wedding at this hotel. The grounds and views are absolutely incredible. The venue is beautiful with lots of different rooms dotted around. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. We had a five course meal for the wedding breakfast which I would be happy to be served in a high quality restaurant. Later on when the dance floor was full the hardworking staff brought round bacon barmcakes and chips. This was definitely one of the best weddings we've ever attended. Drinks were average prices for Windermere. I cannot comment on the hotel rooms as we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

My review takes no account of the price we paid.
One night 1st April afternoon tea and DBB for two Room 3 with lake view (a nice surprise on a Travelzoo voucher)Wife and I around 80!We live about 20 miles away.
All the staff are friendly and welcoming.Accomodation comfy and nice and clean.Bar staff helpfull.Good extensive wine list from local Kendal (Frank Stainton) supplier.Dinner choice was fine with quality food and portions just right for two `oldies.Thank you Chef.
The beautiful location is well known to us and well taken care of in other reviews.
We will be back.Congratulations to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49Banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked a voucher with travelzoo for a one night stay for a little romantic night away, we had never used a voucher offer like this before but successfully done it with the date we wanted. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and we were not disappointed upon entering the reception . It is a lovely elegant open fire reception area, absolutely lovely. We had afternoon tea upon arrival all included and a 5 course meal included in the voucher price. Room was lovely with all the amenities , the only negative I have for the room is that the tv was on the really small side , but we didn't watch it that much. We went down to dinner And the food was divine, I can't begin to tell you how lovely it was. It really is fine dining at its best, compliments to the chef and all the waiting on staff that made this stay perfect. I will be using this hotel again and looking out for offers of it's two sister hotels as we'll. Excellent staff , excellent food and a perfect stay .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing