We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merewood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice country hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited for a one night dinner ,bed and breakfast break. Home made chocolates in the room and welcome hot drink and scones all included in a great deal. Staff and service very good. Nice rooms with great views of Windermere lake. Good location for Ambelside and national trust properties including Beatrix Potters Hill Top farm.

Room Tip: Room 1 nice view and great four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    84
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
173
359
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2227
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding earlier this month and cannot thank you enough for a wonderful experience.We had been so looking forward to the wedding and our trip and all our expectations were exceeded.We arrived to a very warm welcome from Lucy who immediately organised helpers to unpack our car which by this stage closely resembled a traveling circus.Nothing was too much trouble,a really beautiful setting,open fire blazing in the hallway,very clean comfortable rooms,lots of beautiful places to sit and relax or take stunning photos.The wedding was lovely,lots of attention to detail,great organisation,a perfect day for our niece and her husband and for all our family.The food and service were exceptional,staff very helpful and patient,elegant setting of a bygone era made this a very memorable day and worth traveling across the world to experience.Thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the merewood on 27th September 2013, we had been once before and had fell in love with the merewood, we were concerned coming back that it wouldn't live up to our expectation and how we remembered it, but the merewood exceed themselves! The food is incredible, service is second to none and the place itself is beautiful, can't grumble about the price either! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Merewood for three nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and it was simply superb. The staff were great, friendly but efficient, the rooms were well appointed and comfortable, although the bed was a bit short for my tall frame. The food was excellent, both for breakfast and in the evening.. Dinner involved being served canapés in the bar with our pre dinner drinks, followed by a starter, intermediate course, main and dessert with coffee served in the library in front of a roaring fire. It really was five star fare and great value. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with traditional furniture, big comfy seats and yet a bit of character in what used to be a family home.

Each bedroom is named after the lakes poets, with plenty of artwork around the hotel, some of which you can buy apparently from the resident artist who is also a member of staff. Although the hotel does a lot of weddings, we hit a quieter period but it was still almost full. What was interesting is that the staff we spoke to have been there for five or more years and yet they all seemed young, which is a great reflection on the hotels management and it being a good place to work. That's why the service is well above the norm - they know what to do and how to do it.

We had a great time down in the lakes to recharge the batteries and this will be our first port of call when we return, which I hope will be soon.There's no way I'm missing their hospitality and food - anywhere else I'm sure would disappoint.

Room Tip: Choose a front room if you want the view, although Lake Windermere is not as lose as you might think
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Merewood is a very special hotel, it speaks from a bygone age of elegance. The Art Deco bar is a something to see, it’s simply beautiful, and one can sit back in the chesterfield chairs and feel the history of the place. The reception area is again lovely as is the drawing room. The food was outstanding, the staff were friendly without being overbearing. If it’s a peaceful break your after this is the place. Like most hotels it’s about what you are looking for. On the down side you will have to drive to find a livelier culture if that is what you want. The view of the lake is through trees but don’t let that put you off, when staying at this hotel you are made to feel like a virtual millionaire. The current travelzoo promotion is excellent value, we paid the £10 each for the menu upgrade and it was well worth it, not that the promotional menu was bad it wasn’t. We just thought that £10 each was a snip for the extra choice.

Room Tip: At the front looking towards the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed on a deal and it was absolutely great value. Tea and scones on arrival, canapes while we chose from the dinner menu, pleasant staff and a very competent kitchen. Combine that with wonderful views of Lake Windermere and immediately adjacent to Brockhole Visitor Centre and you have a really good base for a stay in the lakes. top that off with a cracking breakfast and all the old world charm you need an you have a very pleasant stay. Bathroom was a bit cold was the only thing we could fault.

Room Tip: The Lake View rooms are a bit bigger and have more character but you have to pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_stravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a wedding reception at this hotel based on recommendations. The Hotel didn't just live up to the recommendations - they exceeded our expections by miles. The location has stunning views of the lake and the gardens are maintained to a high level - ideal for wedding photography. The hotel itself is well maintained, rooms are spacious and the overall appearance reminds you of somehing out of Downtown Abbey.
The staff were a delight, a warm welcome to all guests and they could not have been more helpful. The food was delicious and the excellent service was commented on by all of the guests.
Can't praise the hotel enough - if you are looking for a wedding location in the Lake District - you would be wise to check out this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travel196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing