We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from Merewood, it was superb.....The staff are very welcoming especially Josh Charity and Adam, the food was outstanding, absolutely amazing probably one of the most delicious meals I have had!
The actual house is beautiful, although not on the lake it does have lake views, Josh said that we were welcome to walk around the grounds of the sister hotel on the lake, he called them to check that they did not have a function on, and indeed the gardens of the sister are lovely to walk through.
We enjoyed our stay and very much look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David123987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Merewood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 786 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Merewood. We arrived slightly before check in time on Friday to deliver various amounts of goodies , due to the wedding that was going to take place the following day. Hence lots and lots of luggage. We were duly greeted and surrounded by a fantastic team of staff who emptied our cars in no time at all. Every piece promptly delivered to the various rooms. This level of efficient service carried on throughout the weekend. Everything seemed to flow by effortlessly. Each and every member of Lorna, "the bosses team", could not do enough for us. They really were a great , friendly, helpful, courteous bunch. They laughed, joked, cried with us throughout the weekend and even helped us to eat all the sweet shop . Breakfast, bar snacks, nibbles, canapés were all of the highest standard. On the morning I didn't make breakfast, they even made a sausage butty look like a feast. The Lonsdale Suite we used for the wedding breakfast looked immaculate in all its glory, as did all the other reception rooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending The Merewood as a superb venue for any function.

Thanks to all for making our son,s and his beautiful brides a wedding day to remember.

Peter and Sandra .

Room Tip: Some of the front rooms have lake views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay. The hotel was really nice and distinct with a great entrance stairway, lounge, bar, and library. Lot's of character, and open fires when we were there.
Dogs were allowed (we don't have one) but they were always under control and there was no sign of former doggie guests around this clean hotel.
This hotel is straight opposite Brockhole Visiter Centre (but a bit uphill), we walked into Waterhead and that took 30 mins or so.
I would happily stay again.
I had the 'Vegetarian Breakfast' but if you go for that just check what's included. When I received it the bacon and sausage were not there (as expected) but also there was no egg. It wasn't a problem so didn't complain.
My only regret was that we were so busy being active outside that we didn't get to have time to sit and relax in the hotel (tea in the library in front of an open fire with views of Windermere would have been nice .. oh well maybe next time!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a fabulous night at this very relaxing hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, and the breakfast 'second to none'! The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the decor very traditional, in keeping with the age and style of the Hotel!

Room Tip: A gorgeous, very large room on the first floor with a sensational view of Lake Windermere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minisusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to a family wedding in the Merewood and loved it! We stayed 2 nights and were lucky enough to be given one of the rooms overlooking the views down to Lake Windermere. The rooms were spotless with everything you needed and anything that wasn't in your room the reception staff were more than happy to provide. There are no hairdryers or irons/ironing boards in the rooms but these were provided on request. The staff were really helpful and made the wedding run really smoothly - it was a rainy day but the fire was lit when we arrived back from the church ceremony and everyone was welcomed even if they arrived earlier than expected! The food was great and house wines very tasty too! My only comment would be that the drinks from the bar were quite expensive (similar to London prices which I didn't mind as I often pay these anyway) but I suppose that is because there are no other options in the immediate vicinity. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went for the Afternoon tea, now on offer for 4 people for 40 pounds, and it exceeded our expectations! They gave us loads of sandwiches, cakes, some chocolate/banana petit fours, pannacotta, scones with butter, cream and jam and it was all delicious! Since the weather was fantastic, we sat on the terrace, but they showed us two beautiful lounges (library and drawing room) inside where they'd normally serve the afternoon tea. The staff was great as well, very attentive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanderRuitenbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Merewood for 2 nights for our friends wedding. First impressions were very good, beautiful location with amazing views over lake Windermere, roaring log fires and plenty of rooms to lounge in and have a drink with friends. The hotel really felt like home as our friends hired it exclusively for the wedding party. The bedroom was clean and nicely presented but the only downfall was it was how warm it was in there, the windows were painted shut and the air con wasn't strong enough to cool it down. Sorry!
The food was delicious, whether it be breakfast (the nicest sausage and black pudding ive ever had!) plus lovely hot croissants, cereals and fruit salad with plenty of berries and fresh mint, bar meals were simple but just what you want sometimes during an indulgent weekend (fish and chips followed by sticky toffee pud which was delicious) Most importantly the wedding breakfast itself was exquisite, the beef literally melted in your mouth and the dessert WOW!
The best asset to this hotel was without a shadow of a doubt where it's staff, Lorna the manager, in particular was extremely warm and welcoming, no sign of a stiff upper lip which is what you might expect from a manager of a hotel of this hight standard, the fact that she took a real liking to our son meant a lot. Plus its nice to see a manager do just as much running around as the waiting on staff. The staff team were down to earth and very polite, service was fast and very well organised which I know from experience is difficult when you have a large party to tend to. Thank you all so so much for a wonderful weekend and particularly making our friends wedding a truly incredible day. We will definately be back! X

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola_L_kil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $128 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing