We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakdene Apartment Suites
Ranked #98 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2012

A pleasant apartment right in the heart of Windermere. Bedrooms, kitchen and living room are all comfortable and well equipped. Owners are friendly and helpful and having free use of local spa facilities is a nice touch. A great base from which to explore The Lakes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review,we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make use of our free pass to the Leisure Centre and Swimming Pool complex at Parklands Club and hope to see you again soon.
kindest regards,
Tony Baker Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a great place in central Windermere, newly furnished and very reasonably priced. We stayed in the first floor apartment - and would happily return!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank VisitorMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review,we happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Irene Oakdene apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had stayed 1 night in Oakdene Apart-Hotel and we are very satisfied . It was perfect for us. We were 2 couples and enjoyed the stay . Rooms were very clean and well organised. On our arrival , Owner ( Irin) welcomed us warmly and explained about all facilities of the Aparment. She was very friendly. The Location of the Hotel is nice with lots of shops and restaurants.

We will definately come back again if we plan to visit the Lake District and also recommend people to stay here which is cheap compared to other guest house in Windermere.

Thanks Irin ( the owner) once again

Rakib Hasan

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your excellent review,we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,we pride ourselves on giving some of the best value accomodation in Cumbria,we enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you again very soon.
kindest regards,
Irene Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 - 4 friends for a university reunion. It was really central to the town and was good quality for a very reasonable price.
The rooms were all lovely and the location was excellent, right by the centre of town with a Co-op store at the end of the street.
The only thing that would improve the experience would be if the owner would resist issuing constant instructions on arrival such as 'please turn off lights at night', 'please use coasters' - we are not children and would not trash the place!
Overall, a good find and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PosieSw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and are glad you found our apartments to be excellent value,we will take on board your comments.
regards.
Irene Baker Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Would recommend the Oakdene Apart-Hotel to anybody who wants a good base from which to explore the lakes. We had a very enjoyable weekend stay.
Friendly greeting upon arrival. Accommodation clean, spacious and fully equiped for anybody who is self catering. Ideal location, Windermere is quieter than Bowness but only 1.5 mile walk down to the lake, £4.00 in a taxi. Plenty of bars, restaurants and shops within 100 yards of Oakdene. Use of leisure facilities of a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for those kind words,it makes a change for us to finally get an honest unbiased review from some one who has actually stayed here.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Irene ................Oakdene Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I have not been to stay at this place which I had booked for 2 nights from 1st April. The reason for this is that my wife was taken very seriously ill following surgery. We were due to stay at the hotel as my wife was due to be lecturing locally. On medical advice, we had no option but to cancel our booking. I called the hotel direct in order to give 2 weeks notice to the owners. I was met with a lot of rudeness and disbelief that my wife was ill. I was told I could not cancel. I tried to cancel through the website - laterooms but this was frustratingly impossible. On going in to work I then received an abusive answerphone message from the owner telling me that we could not cancel and that she would take us to court. I called customer services at laterooms who also said we could not cancel. Does this make any sense to anyone? I think they might be confusing cannot cancel with cannot have a refund? On top of my distress at having to look after my wife, the loss of £215 fee, I have had to put up with this nasty behaviour. Makes me wonder what it would have been like had we actually gone there.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
12  Thank aliandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2011

Again another review from someone who has never even set foot on the premises,never paid one penny and then writes a review because we asked him to cancel his booking personally,this person stated he had to pay £215.00 and we would not let him cancel his booking,this is uneconomical with the truth,he never paid one penny because he cancelled his credit card for good measure!I We only asked him to cancel via Laterooms because if he did not we would be charged the £38.00 booking fee,he said he just could not be bothered and it was too much trouble.We left an answerphone message to say he would still be liable for this charge,no reply just put this review on here.All we got for being nice to this person was the privilage of paying £38.00 to cancel a booking he made and this review of our place that he has never even seen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We arrived and there was no record of our booking. This was not the owners fault as they had tried to email us to let us know. Booking company had let us all down.

So why write a review?

If its a measure of a hotel how they handle a problem. Then this place is the pits!!!

I'd rung 5 days before arrival to confirm the booking and a cot for our little one. They missed the opportunity to inform us that we hadn't got a booking at that time despite us communicating all the relevant details.

On arrival, they told us:

We were early,
No cot available,
Our child would be fine in a bed despite never sleeping in one!
Don't like 2 children in a flat anyway!!!!!!!!!!!
and finally.................We didn't have a flat to stay in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Previous posts have talked about the owner's rude behaviour and how unwelcoming they make you feel. Well I can confirm this is the case!

I would like to add what was most noteworthy to me was the lack of insight from the owners that there was a problem. The unhelpfulness of the owners once the error had been identified was appalling. The lack of empathy for us travelling with 2 children and arriving at 5pm on a Friday staggering.

Great location, no comment on the accommodation as didn't get through the door. But do yourself a favour and go and stay at one of the 100 B&B's within 100y of this place for a cheaper, friendlier and happier stay.

PS: The owner will comment that they did "everything" to inform us that we did not have a booking with them. If "everything" includes omitting to let us know as we discussed arrival times and bedding arrangements then I would agree. Getting confused because someone else booked with a surname beginning with the same letter as yours is also a bit of a lame excuse to hear after driving 200miles to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank pieandchips2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdropper, Owner at Oakdene Apartment Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

This is the second time this review has been posted,it was previously removed and then this person posted it again,on the advise of TripAdvisers office in London I wish to repond to this review with a view to having it removed.this person never stayed even here,he sent a request for a booking and we sent back an e-mail to say we had no vacancies for the dates he required,he did not bother to read his e-mails and said as much.He just assumed that as he asked for a booking he was to get what ever he wanted without any confirmation,he turned up and demanded to be let in,demanding the accomodation he requested in April,it was now September no confirmation was given,he paid no deposit nothing,who on earth does that? you would never get away with it in Tenerife why did he think he could here? When he turned up there were no vacancies in Windermere,it was 17.00 and as the tourist information centre closed at 18.00 I advised them to go there as this was their best bet of finding alternative accomodation,far from not caring what happened to them I was very concerned and even sent them an e-mail the next day to see how they managed to get on despite him having a stand up row with me in the street in front of my other guests.I feel under the circumstances they should not be allowed to write a review as they never even set foot in the premises,how can they make an objective review of our accomodation when they never even stayed here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Kays Cottage
Kays Cottage
#56 of 107 in Windermere
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#18 of 107 in Windermere
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 107 in Windermere
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 107 in Windermere
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdene Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdene Apartment Suites

Address: 98 Oak Street | Cumbria.The Lake District., Windermere LA23 1EN, England (Formerly Oakdene Apart-Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakdene Apartment Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three modern apartment suites within 200 yards of Windermere village in a quiet side street,each has its own lounge and kitchen,Sky free-view channels,DVD etc,two have two bathrooms,all have a full size bath,this is let on a self catering basis daily or weekly.We offer Free off street parking for one car per apartment,Free Wi-Fi,Free use of Parklands Leisure Club and Swimming Pool at the Burnside Hotel Bowness.Each apartment has one double and one twin bedroom and sleeps (4)four.On request,we can accommodate five (5)persons in apartment No1 in one double bedroom and one triple bedroom(see photos),please advise if more than four persons will be coming at the time of booking as a small additional charge is payable and only this apartment,No1,will sleep five.If you don't all want to be squashed into a "family" room in a B&B this is ideal and if you need plenty of space this is for you.Ladies and Wedding parties please note; we have our own on-site Hair Salon,"Salon TK". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oakdene Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakdene Apart Hotel Windermere
Oakdene Apartment Suites Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing