We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hilton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton House
Ranked #77 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We only stayed one night at hilton house, we've received a very warm welcome. The room is so nicely decorated, and very clean, quiet. The bed is so comfortable, just as it's described! good location. the lake is 10 mins away on foot. We loved it, and definitely will recommend it to others !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBdnanrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hilton House and I would keep going back every time I go to windermere. The B&B is in a great location, between windermere and Bowness and its only a short walk in either direction to all the pubs/bars and restaurants. Jenny and Martin who own Hilton House are extremely friendly and always happy to answer any questions you may have when up there. The rooms are always spotless and the service in general in great. Can't recommend the Hilton house enough. Oh, and great eggs at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefighter-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The house, was easy to find, located on a quite lane, and so very close to all the attractions there. We got Room 3, which was just superb. Wish could have stayed in bed longer..but, breakfast made waking up worth while..The couple, Martin and Jenny were excellent hosts, and would most definitely go back if I am visiting Windermere again...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed for 4days at the Hilton House and couldn't have been happier with the service we received. We had a very warm welcome from the owners Jenny and Martin, our rooms were incredibly comfortable and the breakfast was exactly what we needed before a day of walking and enjoying Windermere. The ability to use the local leisure club was also a real treat with the swimming pool, sauna and snooker tables a great way to unwind at the end of the day. I would recommend this guest house to anyone, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

There's only so much one can write in this short space about how good our stay at the Hilton Hotel was.We stayed there for five beautiful days in April and couldn't have asked for more. The hotel is extremely clean and you are greeted by the superb Martin who is a great host. We were awoken every morning with the smell of bacon and eggs, the perfect way to start any day walking in the lakes, Martin would spend some time every morning giving us some tips of where to go and always asking if there was anything we needed, always willing to help us have the best time we could.

Once again thanks again for a great holiday! We will be seeing you very soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wunderlust85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I had never been to the Lakes before and chose the Hilton House after the beautiful pictures on the website. I was not disappointed upon my arrival. The beautiful rooms and fantastic staff made for a great trip.

I have been to many hotels across England but never have I been so impressed by the local knowledge and helpfulness of the staff to ensure I had a great trip.

The added bonus of the use of the local leisure centre was also a bonus.
I cannot recommend the Hilton House enough!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is marked as a 4* but I would give it a 5* as it is beautiful and in a beautiful location. We were greeted by the very friendly Jenny who made us feel instantly welcome and at home. Our room (number 4) was lovely and finished to a high standard like the rest of the guest house. It was quite compact so it may be a bit small for other guests, but we didnt have a problem with it. The bed was lovely and very comfortable. Our only gripe and it was a very small one, is the the shower could be a bit more powerful, but we only stayed for 2 nights. The room where breakfast is served is so stunning and if you get the window seat your very lucky, as it's lovely. Breakfast I thought was just enough. You get a choice of yoghurts, cereal, then toast, and a choice of full english or crossoints, etc. It was all cooked to perfection and didnt take long to come out. The location of the guest house is very good; about 5 mins walk to Windermere which is quite and 15 mins to Bowness which has much more going on and lots of places to eat. We ate at The Village Inn and Seymours, both of which were really nice and under £10 each. At Bowness we took a 45 min boat trip across the lake which is well worth the £6.45 for an adult. All-in-all this was an amazing break for us and we would definately go back - Thank you Jenny and Martin.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank charliechunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
553 reviews
0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#65 of 107 in Windermere
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House

Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Windermere
Hilton Windermere
Windermere Hilton
Hilton House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing