We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most enjoyable place to stay on our world trip”
Review of Hilton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton House
Ranked #66 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Christchurch
1 review
“The most enjoyable place to stay on our world trip”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our week stay at Hilton House was the most comfortable and enjoyable of our world trip. The rooms were beautiful and clean and the whole house had a feel of history and warmth (difficult to explain but it was a wonderful atmosphere). The hosts, Jenny and Martin, couldn't do enough to help us and made us feel like true guests, not paying customers. They gave us great guidance so that we saw the best parts of the Lake District and Jenny's knowledge of the area and its history was fantastic (I later found out that she's also a local guide). The location was perfect as it was a short walk to the shops in Windermere and we had an enjoyable walk each day to the lake (I was told that Mere means lake so I can't say Lake Windermere!). We will return for certain.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    50
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
furness cumbria
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

been there now on numerous ocassions and will continue to do so,hilton house is very warm and relaxing place run by a very pleasent and lovely couple who could not make you more welcome,we look forward to our next visit,
andy and andrea

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmathornton2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I booked the Hilton Hotel after checking out reviews on Trip Advisor and doing some of my own research. We were only staying one night and it was my partner's birthday so I wanted something a little better than our usual cheap and cheerful!

On the day of arrival I phoned ahead to let them know we were going to be a little later arriving than previously expected. It was very alarming to find they had no record of my reservation, despite sending me a confirmation email! However, they did still have one room available for us (thankfully).

The room was on the ground floor next to the breakfast room and had the biggest fireplace surround I've ever seen! Lovely enormous room, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast the next morning was a little disappointing - coffee wasn't great and not enough of it (although I'm sure we could have asked for more) and the cooked breakfast we felt was a bit sparse - although we do have big appetites!

Overall the Hilton is a lovely place, Jenny was alway gracious and friendly. Maybe it's just us but I don't think it suited our tastes greatly and as such we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Hilton House. I went with my husband, sister and her fiance and we had a fantastic time, Hilton House is, by far, the best place we have ever stayed! I would rate it 5* not 4*! We were made welcome moment we arrived, it was like going home from home. The B&B was spotless with such lovely, comfortable rooms, you really couldn't fault anything. The breakfasts were delicious, the food was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. Having the free membership to Parklands Country Club was brilliant too, an excellent benefit!
The location of the B&B is perfect, right in between Windermere village and Bowness, two beautiful villages with lots to see and do.
We would like to say thank you to Jenny and Martin for an absolutely brilliant holiday, we will definitely be back next year without a doubt! Thank you. :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxton
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We arrived on a friday evening to be greeted by the lovely Jenny! She was nothing but welcoming and friendy, making us feel totally at home. Maps and information of the area was provided, almost like having your own tour guide! When we were shown to our room (3) we were delighted, we couldn't have asked for anything better... it really was the perfect romantic gettaway. The location is fantastic, placed between the two villages meaning there were plenty of places to wine and dine! Breakfast cooked by Martin was delicious, even accomodating for my wifes fussy eating! The rooms were serviced everyday to a high standard, thankyou girls! I would recommend this guest house to anybody. We had such a great time, we would like to thank Jenny and Martin for their hospitality and for making it an anniversary to remember. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Brilliant location between Windermere and Bowness. The owners are very welcoming without being obtrusive and extremely helpful. Would recommend strongly. Fantastic room decorated with great and stylish taste.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadstairs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We booked here for one night after a very long nights driving. They were very friendly on our arrival (a bit later than we had said) and although it was a sunday afternoon they were very hapy for us to check in. Even though we were booked for the sunday night we got in early and managed to get a very well earned sleep in the afternoon. There was no noise and the bed was one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in. The room was exceptionally clean and very well presented. It was the little touches that impressed me.
Breakfast was lovely and no a single sliver of grease in sight, very impressive. This is one of the best places i have stayed in and would recomend this to anyone, they are incredibly friendly and very easy to chat to. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiej970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#47 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Newstead Guest House
Newstead Guest House
#54 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton House

Property: Hilton House
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton House Hotel Windermere
Hilton Windermere
Windermere Hilton
Hilton House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing