We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #21 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed for only one night unfortunetly, would have stayed for a lot longer if possible. We stayed in one of the 'cheaper' rooms and this was outstanding so i would love to see the exceptional standard of the other (four poster) rooms. The room was decorated to a high standard, the en-suit was very large and the power shower was fantastic! We had a lovely view from our window. The room was warm and cosy and the bed was really big and very comfortable, the bedding was so sumptutious. The hotel owners were friendly and ready to cater to any of our needs. There was a great choice for breakfast, too much choice for me as it all sounded and looked great! Shirly gave us directions to the south lake animal park which wasn't too far away and was a great day out.
Overall a great stay and would definetly go back, even if just to have a relaxing stay in the hotel and not to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstylc4rjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2008

My wife's sister booked this for our 25th wedding anniversary. It is an absolute gem of a place. The hosts Vince and Shirley are lovely people, around if you need them but not in your face unless you want them to be. The room was immaculate and the food was fantastic. The owners have looked after the place and it is very tastefully decorated. Carmel couldn't have found a better place, Good luck to Vince and Shirley for the future. I am sure we will be staying there again given the opportunity. The Nelsons from Liverpool.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scousers110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

you couldn`t ask for a better b&b,this place would put most hotels to shame.Whilst the host and hostess are unintrusive,they are welcoming warm and extremly helpful in pointing out local sights to see and places to visit. A lovelier place to stay in England i believe would be hard to find.

Gerry,Essex

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperGChingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stay in many guest houses, and this one scores top marks in every area. The owners really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and the house itself is very impressive.
We stayed in bedroom 7 and enjoyed great space, light, bed and en-suite with the best power shower ever! The breakfast's were locally sourced and they even include an option of home made yoghurt and compote.
I can't praise this guest house enough and would recommend it to anyone.
Many thanks and recognition to Vince and Shirley for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChestertonBorrowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Storrs Gate House.

We checked out other reviews prior to choosing and agree wholeheartedly with all the positive comments about the hosts, the standard of the accommodation and the excellent home made yoghurt and breakfast.

We hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have just returned from a truly wonderful stay in the Lake District. Storrs Gate House was selected from a shortlist we had made. We were certainly not disapointed. We managed to get a look at all the rooms, and they are all wonderfully decorated and clean. The owners, Vince and Shirley are very friendly, kind and honest people, who are more than happy to offer you information and advice on the local area. We can't wait to go again, and I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stayed at Storrs Gate for our mini honeymoon and we certainly were not disappointed. Its a little gem of a place, beautiful gardens and the interior is gorgeous. We stayed in room 3 with a four poster bed, fantastic power shower ( for after the long days ) The rooms are done out to a very high quaility, the staff are all wonderful and very welcoming, Vince and Shirley cannot do enough for you, full of information and on hand if you need anything, we even got home late one night ( a little fresh I may add ) and it had been raining, Shirley even offered to dry our clothes off for us!. Its a 10 mins slow walk into bowness where they have some lovely restaurants and bars, we are not new to the lakes but if we were i am confident Vince and Shirley would have been on hand to point us in the right direction. The breakfast is out of this world and just want you to set you up for the day. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, we will certainly be returning, i wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!
Tracy and John

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
771 reviews
2 mi away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,010 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $124 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009. Five Star - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing