We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storrs Gate hotel”
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #25 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Storrs Gate hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean. Good breakfast. A bit old fashioned, but none the worse for that. Expensive compared with other B&B's we have stayed in throughout the UK, but reasonable for the area in which it is situated.

A suggestion for the owners - lock the front door (all guests have keys), which will remove the necessity to be 'on guard' all day and evening.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found our B&B to be very clean.

We do hope that your description "a little old fashioned" might more reflect the fact that the house was built in 1896, and our rooms are furnished in traditional style, in particular, our four poster rooms, which you may not have seen during the course of your stay - being in the style of Tudor, Jacobean, Victorian and Queen Anne. With that in mind, our en-suites all have traditional style fixtures but all with modern power showers.

We are, when guests book directly with us, rather than through commission based booking websites, able to offer a value enhanced price for multiple night bookings, and as you say, we also feel we are competitively priced for the honeypot areas of the Lake District, being such a popular tourist destination.

Although all our guests have their own keys and are free to come and go as they please, we have never felt it necessary to lock the front door until mid/late evening, and have not considered ourselves to be on guard, just there to greet our guests and be around to offer any help, conversation or advice.

We enjoyed having the four of you as guests - apologies that we did not have had more time to discuss the tapestries and stitchings with the ladies - it was a busy few days! We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future - your loyalty vouchers will attract a discount for a two or three night stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    32
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
302
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were invited to a friends surprise 60th birthday party. After looking on line this property was within walking distance of the venue and look very promising. We booked for 2 nights in the 4 poster suite with walk through dressing room and wrap around shower. As soon as we arrived we just knew we had made the right decision. A very warm welcome from Vince and Shirley. The hotel had a friendly feel and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was pre-booked each evening, so no need to try reading the menu with bleary eyes in the morning (I'm not a morning person), served with delicious home made jams & marmalade. We could not fault anything. We have already and will definitely continue to recommend Storrs Gate House to family & friends and hopefully we will get back ourselves in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: the 4 poster suites with either walk in dressing room or sitting room are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are really pleased we came up to expectations and that you were so happy with our Victorian king-size four poster suite. Even better that we fitted the bill for your celebratory location, being just across the road. It was so nice to hear that you have recommended us so highly and will continue to do so, and we do hope you will return and we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Vince and Shirley were lovely hosts, they made us feel most welcome. We stayed one night and enjoyed every second. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, immaculately clean and warm. We booked the suite with the four poster bed and adjoining lounge which was beautifully decorated and contained everything we needed. The breakfast was beautiful, the dining room was clean and very comfortable and the service was excellent. Storrs Gate is a great place to stay, we would highly recommend it and will most definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Would recommend the room with the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We can't thank you enough for your wonderful recommendation! You have covered so much in your review, we are sure it will help other potential guests to give us a try. We are really pleased you liked our Jacobean four poster suite and that everything you needed was catered for and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed two nights in this fabulous hotel and cannot fault it at all. The sumptuous bedroom was characterful and so comfortable and luxurious bathroom the same. Everything was catered for in the minibar. The decor and furnishings are all top class. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious especially the home made jam and marmalade! The House is situated perfectly for a leisurely 10minute stroll by the Lake into Bowness. Many thanks to Vince and Shirley, hope to see you again

Room Tip: Stayed in the Victorian Room which was delightful, one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really is excellent to know that you found everything to be faultless. Good to hear you enjoyed the home made marmalade and jam - thank you!
We do hope to see you back again and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Only managed to stay for one night on our visit to Lake Windermere but it was a wonderful experience for the whole family. The owners Vince and Shirley were wonderful hosts and provided us with all the information we wanted. The bedrooms were welcoming and cozy and breakfast was plentiful. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvgiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you found us so hospitable! We do hope you might return, and possibly make the most of our beautiful area with a longer stay next time. Thanks for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Vince and Shirley are lovely, always there to help, the guest house is immaculate, rooms lovely and food excellent. We loved it there and will return again, peaceful yet great location, 10 mins walk from bowness and over the road from the boathouse harbour, a lot more welcoming and cozy than a hotel, thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evertonfc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Your description of Storrs Gate House as being a classic gem was a delight for us to read. We are so pleased that you loved your stay here - we do like to think we provide that personal touch and it is good to know that our guests do too. Hope to see you both again, and thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Could only stay one night but found the guest house amazing, booked room 2 with four poster bed, separate lounge and large shower room. The whole decor is fitting with the area and very clean, your hosts make you feel really welcome and are very helpful in pointing out local attractions. A short, scenic stroll into Bowness and a short drive into Windermere.
Breakfast was delicious and have a large choice of local produce, just order the night before.
Will certainly return and recommend to family and friends, thank you.

Room Tip: Each room is individual, so make the choice that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Rigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We were so pleased to read your kind and descriptive review and your description of Storrs Gate as being excellent in every way. We hope we might be able to welcome you back for a longer stay next time, and will be delighted if your friends and family choose to book with us!
Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing