We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #27 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My son chose this guest house for us and we couldn't of been more pleased with it. Vince and Shirley made you feel welcome as soon as you got there. We stayed in room 2 it was perfect Very very clean The shower was lovely with clean towels and the best toiletries provided. The breakfast was first class with a wide range to choose from and eat as much as you like all from home produce. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that visits the Lake District and will definitely go back again. Thank you to Shirley and Vince.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandraclinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Very many thanks for writing a review of your bank holiday 3 night stay with us. As your stay was a gift from your son, we are especially pleased to know that his choice could not have been bettered! We're delighted you found the Jacobean suite provided everything you could want and that you found our breakfast to be first class. Thank you for any recommendations you might pass on and we look forward to welcoming you back. (Left items will be in the post this week!!)
Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
295
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We wanted a night away to relax after a traumatic few weeks and this place provided an ideal base. Vince and Shirley were the ideal hosts and, after arriving with no plans for dinner after a busy week at work, we were greeted and helped upstairs with our bags to a stunning room, spotless and beautifully decorated. As we had not eaten, Shirley very kindly booked us a place at a wonderful Italian restaurant. Vince, meanwhile, gave us a map, highlighting a relaxing walk along the lake edge and showing us where the restaurant was. Nothing was too much trouble.
The bed was so comfortable that it was a real effort to get up the following morning but we were so pleased that we did not miss the breakfast, which included the most stunning homemade jam and marmalade I have ever tasted.
needless to say, we will be returning.
Denise and Dave

Room Tip: We were in room 3, the Victorian Suite, which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
What can we say?!! Apart from the wonderful things you have said about Storrs Gate House, we were so pleased you loved Mum's homemade jam and marmalade. She is very happy about that! It was lovely too, to read that your bed was so comfortable and that we were able to help with removing the stress of finding a good restaurant over the bank holiday weekend. Do remember to use your Loyalty Voucher when you book to come back (it is only valid when booking direct with us). Autumn is stunning in the Lakes - and we hope to see you then.
Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed here before with my Sri Lankan husband while we we holidaying in UK. This time I was with my friend and recommended to her for us to stay. It is a beautiful house and all the rooms are very tastefully decorated with luxury bedding. We found it to be extremely comfortable, lovely breakfast and great hosts. My friend left before breakfast on the last day and they made her a sandwich to take with her for the early train journey which was very kind of them. My husband and I are in the same business and I appreciated both times the hard work and trouble that it takes to run such a great place. Location was perfect for me as it is a bit quieter than being in the hustle bustle of town and is such a beautiful stroll along the lake. I well definately return again next year with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettgarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
First let us thank you for coming back to us for a second time. We're so pleased you consider the house beautiful and are comfortable here with us. Knowing as you do, the work and dedication involved in running a business such as ours, it is especially nice to read your kind comments. We do hope to see you back for a third time - you never know, we might be lucky enough to get the chance to try your B&B at some time! Many thanks again for coming back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at Storrs Gate House for two nights celebrating our Silver Wedding anniversary. Vince and Shirley are wonderful hosts, extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming. The room was first class and full of character. A mix of traditional and modern. Comfy chairs, four poster bed, two TV's and a very nice bathroom with power shower. Breakfast was cooked to perfection, full English with quality produce and not a hint of grease. Try the home made yoghurt and apricots! I would put Storrs Gate at the very top of my list of Guest House stays.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cask_Ale_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views on your stay with us. It was so nice to know you would put us at the top of your list of Guest House stays and that you were really happy with choosing us for your special weekend away. (Sorry about the rain!) Next time we hope to be able to able to welcome you with a drier and sunny few days.

Contact us direct to use your Loyalty Voucher and take advantage of the discounts we can offer. Thanks again for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

" **************************************** "
My wife and i returned today from a fantastic weekend in the lakes.
This Guest house was beautifully managed by Vince and Shirley Byrne. On our arrival we could see this property was kept to a very high standard and it felt like a home from home.
My wife is very particular about cleanliness so she was very pleased all round. We stayed in the Victoria Room and it was spacious, clean and inviting. The bath room shower facility was bright and looked in pristine condition even the curved glass walls were spotless.
We had booked several restaurants in advance from the very helpful list that was emailed to us by Vince and on our arrival we were given additional great advice to finalise our choice.
Vince has a great relationship with the taxi service for he would also arrange collections if we need to get to town in the late evenings (£3.50 very good value).
The guest house is a 15-20 scenic minute walk to Bowness town and my wife and i would make it every day along the Lake. The walk takes you to a small jetty that moors several boats and along a beautiful pathway with vistas of the lake and hills beyond, until you reach town.
Breakfast was fantastic with a choice of freshly cooked options. ( the cumberland sausages were my favourite ) and the full english was the best.
We have stayed in several places here in Windemere but this is the first time we have felt the need to shout our approval and would recommend Storrs Gate House as very good value for money.
P.S. book early to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We were really delighted to read your wonderful review. It is so good to know that we rated so highly in your opinion and that you found us helpful and enjoyed your whole weekend here with us. We love the fact you were so happy with your breakfast and found your room and en-suite spotless, and thank you too, for your kind recommendations. We would love to see you back again and thank you again for making Storrs Gate House your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved the room. It was visually stunning and very cosy, but large enough to not feel cramped. The staff were lovely, arranging taxis for us etc and there was a broad range of good breakfasts. Lovely garden views when having your breakfast.

Room Tip: The Queen Anne room has a four poster bed and access to the garden. It's lovely and very romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandKeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
A big thank you for taking time to review your special stay here. It was really nice to know that everything was just right for your honeymoon and that you considered the Queen Anne king-size four poster room romantic. Perhaps we might see you again for your anniversary?
Thanks so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Storrs Gate House for 1 night on the way to Scotland. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival by Vince who recommeded several places to eat in nearby Bowness. (we tried the first place he recommended - which turned out to be excellent!)
the hotel is located near the marina - from the hotel a 15-20 minute leisurely walk by the lake gets you to centre of bowness.

We stayed in room 2 - the Jacobean suite - beautifully furnished with a four poster bed and a separate seating/ dressing area, and the room overlooks a small but beautiful garden. The room was clean and the bed and furniture very comfy. The entire hotel is lavishly decorated and well appointed.
Breakfast is served in an airy conservatory overlooking the garden. Good variety of choices for breakfast, all locally sourced and home cooked by Shirley. We chose our breakfast the previous night and my husband's request for extra bacon was catered for with no problems.

Overall, fantastic experience, a lovely little place with a very homely feel. The service is first class! Both during our stay and after- I left behind an item of clothing and I contacted Vince and Shirley, who posted it back without delay.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerathI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many, many thanks for your kind review. It's good to know our recommendations for restaurants work well and that you were so pleased with your room, breakfast and service.

Pleased to hear your parcel arrived quickly! We hope you enjoyed your time in Scotland and hope you might consider us for a longer break next time... there is so much to see in the Lakes, and so much to miss if you can't manage a few days.

Do book direct if you are coming back, and let us know you've stayed before.
Thanks again - Vince and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#10 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing