We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #29 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful little homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Storrs Gate House in June of 2013 on a 4 day trip to Windermere. The place was quite beautiful - very well furnished and decorated. We loved the room we got. Their service was great too - the owners Vince and Sheryl were very helpful and nice to talk to. They offer breakfast which is also very nicely served in their dining room. We are vegetarians so there was limited choice for us, but they did do it nicely offering cut fruits and boiled vegetables along with bread and tea/coffee.

The room was appropriately priced for the quality of stay. The location was a bit of a walk from Bowness town center - which you do have to do usually because the dinner places are all there (and car park next to restaurants is difficult to find, so you're better off walking).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us in June. It was lovely to read you found Storrs Gate House “quite beautiful”. Our rooms are mainly furnished and decorated in period style and we are very pleased you enjoyed our Tudor four poster en-suite. Thanks too for commenting on our hospitality and service – we’re always keen to be of help where we can.

We were a little puzzled to read that you found the vegetarian options limited at breakfast, and would respectfully take the opportunity to clarify for other readers, that our main course menu consists of ten choices, seven of which are suitable for the vegetarian diet, two contain fish and the other of course, is the traditional full English. We do offer a fully cooked vegetarian option with sauté potatoes, sauté mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, baked beans and egg cooked according to choice. The starter menu offers a choice of cereals, fresh fruit platter, home-made yoghurt with apricot compote, prunes in Earl Grey tea with Cointreau, and grapefruit segments. To finish - toast and home-made jam and marmalade.

Car parking next to restaurants we agree, is limited, although there are two car parks in Bowness within easy walking distance of the restaurants, and should you choose to walk in from Storrs Gate, the views are stunning if you take the lakeside path which you can reach in under 5 minutes and which then takes around 10 minutes to reach Bowness.

Should you return to the Lake District at some point, we would love to welcome you back, and if booking direct, as you did before, we are often able to offer a better rate than by booking through agency websites.

Hope to see you again - Vince and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
297
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a very relaxing weekend staying for a couple of nights at Storrs Gate House.
The service was outstanding - the helpfulness of the hosts and the quality (and quantity) of breakfast are amongst the very best; our room (room 7) was very comfortable and very well equipped; and the location is simply ideal - just a few minutes away from Lake Windermere and a short walk from the buzz of Bowness (food at Boathouse/just across the road from Storrs Gate House was excellent too).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay, it was fantastic to know that your time here was considered perfect. You were a real pleasure to look after and if we could mark you, as guests, out of 10, it would be 10! We will pass on your recommendation for the Boathouse - a new restaurant on Windermere Marina - we'll have to try it ouselves when time allows.
We'd love to see you both back again - please book direct on www.storrsgatehouse.co.uk or 015394 43272.
Many thanks - Vince and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Storrs Gate House for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - food - accommodation - hosts excellent - there was nothing we could fault - clean and tidy - an olde worlde atmosphere - help with where to go and where you were situated to make the best of
your stay - we shall def stay again and next time book a four poster room as we had chance to take a little peek while the room was being cleaned !! Gill and Ken

Room Tip: an i would imagine would have been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bromley130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are delighted your first trip to the lakes was enjoyed so much, and that you describe your stay as excellent. When you decide to come back, please do book direct, we are often able to offer discounts for short breaks, which we can't place on the commission based booking agency websites. Don't forget to use your Loyalty Voucher! Thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just spent one night in Storrs Gate House but would have happily stayed longer! Just a short (and very pleasant) walk along the lake to Bowness. The room (room 2) was lovely, really clean and very impressive with a view looking over the gardens. There was a really good power shower, amazing four poster bed and lovely little sitting area with dressing table and mirror. The breakfast was lovely as well with a good range to choose from. Overall we thought this was a great b&b and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind and descriptive review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your night in our Jacobean king-size four poster suite, and we hope we might welcome you back again, perhaps to enjoy a longer stay? Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just spent 2 night at Storrs, everything from the welcome to the weather was fantastic. Vince and Shirley were lovely hosts nothing too much trouble for them, we asked Vince advice on eating out and he gave us plenty of choice, the weather for the Lake District was something i have never experienced there before. Our room was immaculate and the bed lovely and comfy, breakfast the best ever had at a B & B or even a hotel. We will definatly be back. Thank you both so much.
Jill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
A huge thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted to learn you were so comfortable and that you considered your breakfast to be the best ever - what an accolade! If we can order the same weather for your next visit - even better! We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A stones throw from Bowness, easily walkable or a short drive away, this is a perfect location for a break in the lakes.
Great welcome from Vince and Shirley, we were lucky enough to stay in the Queen Anne suite, room 7. Absolutely fabulous. Breakfast is great with a good choice and in a room with a view of the feeding birds in the garden.
We would definitely recommend Storrs Gate House.

Room Tip: Room 7. You won't be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it's so nice to know you consider our location perfect, and that you found the Queen Anne suite fabulous and even recommend it as a "Room tip". We're glad you enjoyed everything and will recommend us and we do hope to see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for the night,the rooms are clean and comfortable couldn't fault it at all,the service is excellent and we felt at home here ,the lovely couple who run this b n b are really nice and made us feel very welcome,the breakfast was the best we had at any hotel we have stayed it,I would of happily paid for some damson jam to take home it was delious ,my hubby says the prunes where the best ever,thanks for making our little break away special,we will be back soon xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your very speedy review! We're so glad you loved our home-made jam and the prunes in Earl Grey (the touch of Cointreau makes all the difference)! We're over the moon that you described your breakfast as the best you have had at any hotel. Wow! Hopefully we will see you back here again soon! Don't forget your loyalty discount voucher!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing