We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #28 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of November. As always the weather was very changeable but the accommodation was marvellous and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a highlight - lovely local produce and cooked beautifully. Our bedroom also had a separate living room area and all tastefully furnished. Top marks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review your stay with us. It was great to learn that you felt our accommodation was so good, especially when staying for five nights - sorry about the weather - but it was good to know you enjoyed your breakfast and the Jacobean king-size four poster suite. You really can't beat local produce and we always source the best available. Thanks for the top marks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
295
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I normally stay in hotels rather than B&B's but chose to stay at Storrs Gate House because of the excellent reviews on this site...and I'm glad I made the decision to!
We were made to feel very welcome from the start by Vince and Shirley. The room was spacious and clean and had all the necessary facilities inculding a DVD player and wide screen TV! (which came in handy as there is not much night life in Bowness in January...).
The breakfast was just right and there was a good selection and variety of cooked breakfast on offer.
I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends - or anyone who is just looking to enjoy a holiday in the Lake District.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It's really good to learn that you chose us on the strength of our TripAdisor reviews, and that you were glad that you had done so. The B&B experience can offer so much more than an impersonal hotel, and we hope you found that to be so when you stayed. We're glad you found your room offered all the facilities you needed and also that you enjoyed your breakfast. We're delighted you will recommend us and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Welcoming. Able to give good advice about local services. We needed to leave before breakfast was serves for an early walking trip and they kindly got up early to make us cooked breakfast. Elegent yet modern room with character. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your overnight stay with us. We're keen to ensure our guests are happy and for early departures we either offer a take-away continental, or if we can, an earlier breakfast timing. Can't let you leave hungry!!
Hope to see you again in the future - thank you for any recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent the night at Storrs Gate House and have a really lovely time. The welcome was warm and we were shown to our lovely room - which was more like a suite as we have a small seperate sitting room. After a very relaxing night we enjoyed a well presented and beautifully cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Jacobean four poster suite, so much. Our aim is to provide a relaxed atmosphere in luxurious surroundings and a great breakfast. We'd love to welcome you back - thanks for your high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Awesome stay in a great B&B.

Location is good and whilst it is a 10 - 15min walk into Bowness it is probably one of the better walks into town along the lake.

Room was very comfortable with a good set of amenities including a four poster bed.

Breakfast was amazing and really set my girlfriend and I up for the day.

A great find (by my girlfriend)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock-75London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We were delighted to read your review in which you describe Storrs Gate as "a great find", and to learn that you classed your breakfast as amazing. Hopefully this will encourage readers to make an informed choice and come and try one of our four king-size 4 poster rooms.

We often find that if the lady is happy with her choice, the weekend is invariably a success!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just stayed here for a treat for our 10th wedding anniversary - It definitely lived up to the reviews I had read. The Hotel was in a great location, with plenty parking and it was a lovely walk into Bowness. The room we stayed in (Jacobean Suite) was absolutely beautiful and everywhere was spotlessly clean and cosy. The facilities were first class, with fresh, clean towels and lovely complimentary toiletries. We could not have asked for better service from our hosts Vince and Shirley. The breakfast menu offered a delicious and varied choice and was served very efficiently. I would highly recommend Storrs Gate House - Many Thanks again.

Room Tip: The Jacobean Suite was stunning. It had a 4 poster bed and a seperate lounge area. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
It really is good to know that when we are chosen for a special occasion, that we meet and even surpass expectations. Our suites are perfect for a treat, and are spacious and well equipped for a luxury getaway.

We're delighted you found everything to be first class and that you will highly recommend us. We know there is a good deal of competition here and when guests choose to recommend and return it makes us aware that we are getting things right! Thanks again for choosing us, and also for your kind comments to us by personal email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for our anniversary -on Halloween! and while the weather outside was frightful,inside was truely delightful. Our room was cosy and spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom.Shirley and Vince were very welcoming and Shirley kindly booked both a restaurant and taxi for the evening for us. Storrs House is about a ten to fifteen minute walk into Bowness and five minutes from the little ferry to the Coniston side of the lake.When the rain eventually defeated us we were pleased to find that Vince has a good selection of wine which is available by the glass or bottle.After a good nights sleep breakfast was served in the dining room. There was plenty of choice and it was top quality. I must recommend the homemade plum jam which was so nice I had to have more toast!This may not be the cheapest place to stay but it is in my opinion excellent value because of the high standards.

Room Tip: There was a little light traffic noise in our room (4) although it didnt disturb our sleep. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancslass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay here, despite the rain - if only we could order the weather! More toast to enjoy our home-made jam! Excellent! Plums and damsons are collected from a local farm so we know it's going to be good, and we also use our local butcher and local farm eggs, to ensure the top quality you kindly mentioned. It's good to know you slept well and that you consider our standards high and because of that good value.

We hope to see you again - and thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#10 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Property: Storrs Gate House
Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing